Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boys get funky
The Scream's 1994 album is underrated by fans who were disappointed by its departure from ecstatic grooves towards a more soul and funk-influenced sound. But judged on its own merits it's a brilliant piece of work, retaining the lightness of touch of Screamadelica and with some particularly good ballads. The sheer range of styles might tell against it to some, but that...
Published on 10 Mar 2000 by mrstreet

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Proves what an eclectic band Primal Scream are
If you've recently got into Primal Scream (recent relative to the length of their career) like I have, then you need this album. I started off with 2000's XTRMNTR, which blew my mind with its revolutionary anger and massive sound (and excellent songwriting). Then I heard this. It surprised me that a band that had produced an unfeasibly angry album had, earlier in their...
Published on 3 Oct 2002


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Proves what an eclectic band Primal Scream are, 3 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Out But Don't Give Up (Audio CD)
If you've recently got into Primal Scream (recent relative to the length of their career) like I have, then you need this album. I started off with 2000's XTRMNTR, which blew my mind with its revolutionary anger and massive sound (and excellent songwriting). Then I heard this. It surprised me that a band that had produced an unfeasibly angry album had, earlier in their career, produced the most 'pop rock' album imaginable. The only hint of the Primals that I knew was on Struttin'. Initially, overall I didn't like it. I only really listened to Jailbird, Rocks, Funky Jam and Struttin'. But give it a chance, ladies and gentlemen, listen to it over and over again, and you will appreciate the whole different Primals sound. With this album in the collection, Primal Scream have almost done it all: trance, hip hop, jazz, folk and rock. Not many bands can say that. All they need now is an orchestra.
In conclusion, I'd say that this was an important album for Primal Scream to make, I'm glad they made it, it's well worth owning, but I'm glad they didn't stay in this vein.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boys get funky, 10 Mar 2000
The Scream's 1994 album is underrated by fans who were disappointed by its departure from ecstatic grooves towards a more soul and funk-influenced sound. But judged on its own merits it's a brilliant piece of work, retaining the lightness of touch of Screamadelica and with some particularly good ballads. The sheer range of styles might tell against it to some, but that gets top marks from me - the groovy rock of Jailbird, the soul of Cry Myself Blind, Free and others, the bluesy Sad and Blue, and the George Clinton funky collaborations. If anyone knows the title of the hidden 12th track - one of the best ballads - I'd be grateful if they'd post it here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Complete Scream, 19 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Give Out But Don't Give Up (Audio CD)
This album is remarkable in that it has tracks that appeal to virtually all musical tastes and all moods. It is the quintessential desert island disc, in that you could bung it on anytime and be refreshed/consoled/cheered up/made to cry and you could strut around the palm tree hollering Jailbird to your heart's content.

I fail to see how anybody interested enough in the Scream's sort of sound could get as far as reading a review of this and not be repaid a thousandfold by buying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The scream get soul!, 27 Sep 2000
By 
This review is from: Give Out But Don't Give Up (Audio CD)
after the critical acclaimed kalidoscope of styles that was Screamadelica. It was the time for Bobby and the boys to soak up some rock and roll heritage. Mixing the sound of prime Rolling Stones and the menace of the Stooges and acoustic balladry of Neil Young, with a bit of Funkadelic thrown in. Primal scream proved that could write straight forward uncluttered songs at a time before Britpop had taken hold. Gillespie sings better and with more soul than ever before, and convinces the listener he can be a good time rocker and crooning blues boy. Rocks, Jailbird and Cry Myself Blind are instant classics, but there is enough depth on this album for repeated listens. The Scream might have moved to more exciting sonic experiments. But this stands out as good honest songwriting ability well worth checking out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Primals forgotten masterpiece, 8 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Out But Don't Give Up (Audio CD)
This is an album you really should have in your record collection, there some great pieces of work here. Bobby Gillespie is on top form on this album as well as the rest of the band. It contains raw power and is a treat to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not bad but not good, 17 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Give Out But Don't Give Up (Audio CD)
Made in the midst of the Primals' comedown from Screamadelica. Full of Stones-esque good-time rock 'n' roll, Give Out.. seems rushed and uninspiring compared to the brilliance of Screamadelica, Vanishing Point, Echo Dek and Xtrmntr. Aside "Jailbird", "Rocks" and "(I'm Gonna) Cry Myself Blind" there are very few highlights to experience. By no means is this a terrible album, it's an album which doesn't display the true potential splendour of Primal Scream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great sounding album, 6 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Out But Don't Give Up (Audio CD)
Not as good as the previous Screamadelica album but still sounds great , this band certainly give out and don't give up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Primal brilliance, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Out But Don't Give Up (Audio CD)
Another brilliant album well worth buying again if your not a fan u certainly will b after listening 2 this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Partially excellent, but some songs flag..., 20 July 2013
By 
Andy Sweeney "music was my first love" (Brighton, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Give Out But Don't Give Up (Audio CD)
"Give Out But Don't Give Up" was a bit of a shock to many people when it was released. Following the massively successful "Screamadelica", this return to classic rock and blues with a little bit of added funk divided opinion, with many disappointed that they hadn't continued right where "Screamadelica" left off. As their 1991 breakthrough album wasn't exactly my cup of tea in terms of genre, I was a lot more receptive to "Give Out But Don't Give Up" when it was released and, as I worked in a record store at the time, I heard the singles and a few album tracks plenty of times. At the time, I didn't love it enough to buy it, seeing as my paltry wages would probably fund the purchase or one or two albums a month, but I finally got round to buying it from Amazon for a nice low price in 2009. I guess I like it now just as much as I did when I first heard it nearly twenty years ago; it's a good album with a handful of excellent songs, but certainly not one of my favourites.

Opener, "Jailbird", has a nice loose beat, a great riff and a good vocal hook and is a very strong way to kick off the album. "Rocks" is one of Primal Scream's more famous songs and is probably the best Rolling Stones song The Rolling Stones never wrote, but is immensely catchy and likeable, so you can forgive the derivative feel of the track. "(I'm Gonna) Cry Myself Blind" is a very pleasant ballad, if a little repetitive, but it's certainly one that you remember once you've heard it. Sadly, after the initial trio of songs, the quality is a little patchy thereafter. "Funky Jam" isn't bad, but it sounds like the Primals are doing a bit of a Prince impression, "Big Jet Plane" is a nice, laid-back ballad, but it struggles to get out of first gear, melodically, "Free" attempts to revisit where "Screamadelica" was so successful, but without such good results and "Call On Me" is a decent, if unspectacular, rocker. "Struttin'" is eight-and-a-half long minutes of a spaced-out southern rock/indie hybrid which doesn't quite have enough ideas to sustain the track length, but "Sad and Blue" is a genuinely gorgeous soul-enriched acoustic ballad with some lovely blues harmonica. Yes, it sounds like The Stones, but it's that good, it really doesn't matter.

The title track, featuring George Clinton, isn't anything special, unfortunately, and I'm always glad when that one is over. The final (listed) track, "I'll Be There For You" is a rather beautiful, soulful piece and Gillespie is in fine voice for this one. "Everybody Needs Somebody", the twelfth (unlisted) track is also a lovely, gentle ballad and brings the album to a close on a positive note. On the whole, this is a bit of an inconsistent album that struggles to get into any kind of coherent groove, but there are plenty of highlights and at least half of the album is as good as anything else the band have ever produced. I'm never going to be the world's biggest Primal Scream fan, but you have to admire their versatility and just how eclectic their back catalogue is. Whilst this isn't their best album and you will find few fans of the band who will talk about this album in glowing terms, this is one of their more accessible and instantly likeable efforts. What they lack in originality on this album, they make up for with passion and swagger. It could have been so much better, but it's pretty good as it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant, 4 July 2001
By 
S. A. Mancell (Stoke, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Give Out But Don't Give Up (Audio CD)
I bought this album after first buying xtrmntr, vanishing point and screamadelica, and its easily as good as any of them. Mixing soul/funk and rock guitar riffs, this album is genius. Standout tracks are rock, funky jam, free and jailbird.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Give Out But Don't Give Up
Give Out But Don't Give Up by Primal Scream (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews