Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rebirth of a Dissaffected Generation
A previous reveiwer asked if KoRn will ever make an album as good again. Well, I have the answer - NO. This album is so aggressive, so devoid of the mainstream and ultimately so early 90's KoRn that this is a musical feat that can never be re-ccomplished - and personally I don't want it to, becuase if they were to reach these worryingly brilliant heights again,...
Published on 4 Mar 2006 by are you

versus
2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for pop metal....
Korn; probably the most influencial of the 90's metal bands, whether you like it or not.
Korns influence factor comes from toning down death metal, stipping it of it's musicianship, speed, solo's and aggressiveness until all your left with is a bass track that sounds like a distorted fart at the pace of a slowly decaying turtle. Oh yes, and a bloke shouting. Despite...
Published on 29 May 2001 by The Holy Ferret


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rebirth of a Dissaffected Generation, 4 Mar 2006
By 
This review is from: Korn (Audio CD)
A previous reveiwer asked if KoRn will ever make an album as good again. Well, I have the answer - NO. This album is so aggressive, so devoid of the mainstream and ultimately so early 90's KoRn that this is a musical feat that can never be re-ccomplished - and personally I don't want it to, becuase if they were to reach these worryingly brilliant heights again, it would certainly take the shine off of this eponymous debut, the most important rock album of the last 25 years . This album has it all for the "alt. metal" fan, from the bruising welcome of 'Blind', the moody monotne of 'Faget' or the album's distressing conclusion, 'Daddy.' Basically, this album contains one classic song after another, it has no weaknesses and it is the album from which all other metal albums are judged - if you never buy another album, make sure this one is in the collection. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unforgettable,classic and still pumping with life, 27 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Korn (Audio CD)
This is a emotionally scarring record with more brains that are hidden by the screaming vocals and the back breaking guitars.KoRn are a band that incorporates physical and mental assaults,if you don't believe me listen to "DADDY".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please STOP calling this rap/hip-hop coz IT ISN'T !!!!!!!!!!, 4 Sep 2001
By 
This review is from: Korn (Audio CD)
After hearing the excellent 'Issues' I immediately bought their debut. Initially, I was slightly dissapointed because it's very raw, but now I've come to realise that it is its SHEER RAWNESS that makes this album what it is - EMOTIVE, BRILLIANT and POWERFUL, and it really has got some of the most emotive lyrics and moments I've EVER heard in grunge-metal or any other genre. I'm namely referring to 'DADDY', which is one of the most painful/heavy and shocking songs I've heard. The lyrics really rip at your heart like knives. This is much better than any of their following commercial-sounding albums - there's no fancy studio work to gain an atmosphere, it's all done with guitars, drums and, of course, the excellent vocals which Davies varies throughout to maintain interest. Unlike their now verse-chorus-verse technique, this album tends to EXPLORE more places and there are more changes and surprises in the songs, even though some should've been slightly longer. But one thing that annoys me is that people call this rap/hip-hop. There is NO RAP or HIP-HOP whatsoever !!!!! It is a hardcore grunge album with loud guitars and holds you at gunpoint throughout. You NEED this really, although don't expect any technological usage like that of later albums. BUY IT, keep an hour free so you can listen to the original talent all the way through, and wait for the brilliant finale 'Daddy', which comes in my top five favourite songs of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...remember this in 10 years, 9 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Korn (Audio CD)
As KoRn fly onto the music scene they produce one of the most emotional, heavy and amazing album for a debut. As soon as you hear 'Blind' you know they are going to be big, with the long wait until Jon screams down 'are you ready!!?!?' These ae a bunch of folk from So-cal who have redefined the theory, with a different tune and style unlike no other at that time, alas making waves for new bands to come along with the same yet not fulfilling sound. You can almost hear the potential and also dedication in every note and word, there are the ripping 'fake' and 'lies' but also a good contrast of 'shoots and ladders' which has a great and steady 'grunt' tone to it. You'll love every song on this album and it sounds so different to thier newest album 'issues' which was a huge let down to such previous albums like this. i seriously recommend this to anyone who wants to listen to KoRn and not putting them next to the word 'grunger'. This album is class....get it fool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best album from the best band in the world, 6 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Korn (Audio CD)
This album not only set a new genre in Metal, it introduced us to KoRn, a five-piece band from Bakersfield, California. It is on the first track, "BLIND" a grinding legend, where KoRn show exactly what they are about. Brian "Head" Welch, and James "Munky" Shaffer's guitars explode along with Reggie "Fieldy" Arvizu's unique percussion bass. David Silveria's drums along with Jonathan Davis's unqiue and sensational talent make not only Blind, but the other 11 tracks pure Metal bliss. Davis is a genius; a man fuellled by pure emotion and hate, telling a tale of his childhood lost. He is like a man possessed behind the microphone, seething and crying out pain and anger from his dark past. The lyrical talent of Davis is highlighted on "FAGET", a twisting yet grinding Metal anthem, and although "CLOWN" is similar, it too portrays the scary amount of Talent, emotion and sheer brilliance of Jonathan Davis. The album's pace only slows briefly on "SHOOTS AND LADDERS", yet this rest is brief as the track explodes with Davis's rip-roaring vocals and Head's undoubted talent. Korn are what Music should be all about - Where everything seems to go perfectly right, the music, percussion, and vocals connect on a level never before, and still never heard in Metal. On the last track on this revolutionary album, "DADDY", Davis builds his emotion throughout, eventually screaming and crying, tearing himself to pieces mentally with the darkest and most atmospheric lyrics ever written. All of KoRn's stuff is sensational, if you're a new fan then Issues would be the place to start, but KoRn - KoRn is an album ALL rock fans must own, introducing us to the greatest band of all time..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 20 years on..., 30 Oct 2014
By 
David W. Stevens "bigbaddav" (Grantham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Korn (Audio CD)
Anyone who discusses music at any length will, at one time or another, have the conversation about how albums will be thought of in 5, 10 or 20 years time. Some age well musically and others don't, some lose there meaning and others seem less important as you grown to understand what went before. Its now 20 years since I first loved this album and as a well rounded 34 year old man and not an angry 14 year old I thought it would be good to review it.

First off, it sounds good (it doesn't suffer the same production issue that Adrenline does). Secondly it hangs together as a collection and thirdly it deserves its place for one of the most important records in rock. It seems to looking back the that Korn were lucky idiots, they didn't know what they were doing. They seemed to pour everything out and just by the grace of a good producer and fate it ended with this. Nothing they have done since matched this, and i suspect this is because they were trying too hard.

Brutal, compelling and truly important. in 94 Grunge was dominating and indie in had its place in the UK. Korn pretty much re-invented what Metal was and what it could be and there first album should be celebrated as a watershed in all of music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars old style korn, is the best korn!, 13 Jan 2003
This review is from: Korn (Audio CD)
i know this is really late to be reviewing a cd bought out in 1995 but i needed to say this. i know so many people who say they like korn. i say cool. but when i ask them the albums they have they almost nether own korn, korn. Its probaly one of the most influencial nu-metal cd of all time. its fantastic would be an under statment. with the amazing 7 stringed guitaring of munky and head on the start of Blind and then jonathans dark and evil (are you ready) the blood pumps straight through your veins and you just want to go crazy. im getting exited just reviewing it. And thats the opening minute of the cd. you then have clown which is just great, faget, daddy are also amazing. you then have a nervous breakdown from jon at the end. the whole cd creates a buzz of tension that makes you want to get up and mosh like a crazy mad man. if you dont own it bye it right this vry second on amazon the delivery is quick and just play it over and over and rip your self apart listening to it. i hope this has inspired and taught a lot of slacker korn fans a lesson. if you dont own this cd please do not say you are a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A review and a For your information, 13 Dec 2009
This review is from: Korn (Audio CD)
Firstly Cubby wants to point out that this is the Original Korn album as in the dEBUT which means there first album they released so why do the 1 tar reviews sound like they think this album is Korns newestest album.

now on to the review
this is by far the best korn album out there because when it was released it was heavy and also Not just heavy but different there was things on it that had never really been done before and that alone makes it a five star album for being brave and creative. with original bassing and wierd guitar noises which I think I reckon probably inspired tom Morello sometimeI think this but I DOUBT it is true. erm good drumming and vocals that not only are singing vocals but loud angry vocals and also Wierd noise vocals which just adds to the idea that I think the band were trying to make an image of insanity or something like insanity in the mind and those wierd noises help to convay the insanity they were trying to show or create. its a furry good album some very very furry furry good guut riffs and stuff too Get it its essential Korn
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Revival!, 6 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Korn (Audio CD)
Having heard this AFTER Issues, I was actually quite surprised. Most things tend to get way better as they progress. But in comparison, Issues was a step back for KoRn. This, their debut album is still their best. Some of the drumming is quite simply amazing, and you can definitely see where Slipknot get their style from. This album really revived Heavy Metal in the sense that it detracted from the stereotypical image of blond sweet looking rockers in spandex panties, going instead for a more dark even deeply emotional take on things. Jonathan's voice is extremely well suited to conveying the bitter angry nature of the lyrics, which do actually have some meaning as opposed to being a bunch of screaming and stuff. As I mentioned in my summary of Issues, first timers should really go for Follow the Leader, which will probably appeal to a wider fan base. KoRn ,(I mean the album) is way more bottom heavy and dark than all the rest, but once you hear it, you'll be hooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars a real classic, 24 Feb 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Korn (Audio CD)
this is korns debut and it is a classic, a real icon of the time,it wasnt straightforward metal or rock,it was weird,it was new,it was very different ,even now some 10 years after its release it still sounds fresh and not dated,im sure most metal fans have it,not all korns albums are essential,this one is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Korn
Korn by Korn (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews