Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remastering, is it worth it?
Such a shame that when you look at the customer reviews of this product they almost all relate to the earlier CD release of Queen's second greatest hits package and not the 2011 remastered versions. After all, how are potential purchasers of this product really meant to know what they are paying for when the reviews do not fit the product?

Hopefully, this...
Published on 12 Jan 2011 by G. Noble

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A bit dissappointing
Would have preferred the original. Timings and notes a little different from how I remember it. Good background for car though.
Published 17 months ago by Mrs. Susan T. Lilly


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Remastering, is it worth it?, 12 Jan 2011
By 
G. Noble (Long Away) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Such a shame that when you look at the customer reviews of this product they almost all relate to the earlier CD release of Queen's second greatest hits package and not the 2011 remastered versions. After all, how are potential purchasers of this product really meant to know what they are paying for when the reviews do not fit the product?

Hopefully, this review will re-dress the balance slightly. After receiving my copies of Greatest Hits I and II earlier this week I can safely say that whatever you may think of the songs on the CD, and let's be fair there is a bit of mixture ranging from the outstanding (The Show Must Go On, I Want It All, Innuendo and Who Wants To Live Forever) to the somewhat more pedestrian (The Invisible Man, Friends Will Be Friends, The Miracle and Breakthru'), the sound quality of these re-masters more than make the money paid for these CD's worth it.

Never before has the band's music sounded so clear and be of such high quality that you really feel you were there in the studio as the band were recording them (if only!). Of course, these releases mark the first of a whole year of re-releases to mark Queen's 40th anniversary and their move to Island Records and all I can say is that if the rest of the year's releases sound as good as this then the money being spent by Queen fans on re-buying their albums will be more than worth it. Add into the mix many of the albums are likely to feature never before released tracks and rare single b-sides 2011 is going to be a good year for Queen fans to say the least.

However, back to Greatest Hits II...and the music. Whatever anyone thinks of Queen's 80's and 90's albums really depends on when they got into the band. As a relative latecomer to the band's fan ranks (1986 - after the Live Magic album was brought home by my brother) I enjoyed the singles brought out by the band during this period of their career (on the whole). It was Innuendo (album and single) in 1991 that really marked the high point of Queen's studio output for me - Freddie sounded better than he ever had despite his frailty and Brian May excelled on every track of that album and four of the five singles released from that album feature on this collection (Days of Our Lives not making it onto a greatest hits package until volume III!). I found The Works, A Kind of Magic and The Miracle singles hit and miss - with one of my favourites, Scandal, not even making it onto any of the G.Hits packages - slap your hands mssrs Mercury, May, Taylor and Deacon John. It was this period where Queen's popularity was really at its highest in the UK, so though the 70's and early 1980's are considered by many older fans to be the best musically I find this second package of singles more varied in style and therefore a more interesting listen.

The re-mastering of each track only adds to this enjoyment and the revised sleeve notes (more on Greatest Hits I than on II I have to say) make them both essential purchases.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional remaster, 7 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not much new that one can add about Queen and their enduring music. I probably prefer the Volume 1 to this one, simply because their music became a bit too poppy and commercial during this stage of their career. That being said, most of these are classics in their own right. The sound from the latest 2011 remaster is what sets this collection (and Vol.1) apart from any previous editions, including the DTS96/24 & LPCM DVD version of the early 2,000's. The sound has depth, warmth and clarity and covers a wide frequency range which is so different to both the original transfers and the terribly sounding high flat frequency CD's & DVD's issued at the turn of the millennia. This is as close to the ol' vinyl sound that you will get (for now). Play it on a proper hi-fi with proper speakers though. A MP3 player just won't do it justice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen's best C.D, 10 Aug 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits II (Audio CD)
Wow, what can I say, five stars isn't enough. This compilation proves that Queen were one of the best rock bands ever to grace this planet. From the disco sound of 'A kind of magic' to the pulsating hard rock force of 'one vision': from the silly foolishness of 'I'm going slightly mad' to the deep phylisophical lyrics of 'Who wants to live forever', there is a song for everyone on this album.
Queen ventured through so many musical styles throughout their career it's hard to believe they got away with it. But then again, that's what I like about Queen, they didn't care whether their songs were commercially successful or not. They wrote their own style of music and just hoped that it pleased their fans. Although songs like 'Who wants to live forver' and 'The show must go on' didn't get much chart sucess for their times, they are now more well known than most number ones from a few years ago! This alone proves what a great band they were, and they won't be forgotten for a long time yet.
To people who are starting out with Queen and are not sure which album to buy, all can say is that if you are looking for the more famous Queen songs with a typical Queen sound, then get Greatset Hits 1. To those who want to jump ahead to the more evolved side of Queen, get this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Queen compilation, 17 Dec 2004
By 
Mr. Nc Shackley "NatShack" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits II (Audio CD)
Released shortly before Freddie's death in 1991, Greatest Hits 2 is a fitting tribute to one of (if not THE) greatest bands of all time. The album covers queen's highlights from the early 80's to the early 90's, and arguably surpasses the first Greatest Hits collection. Whilst none of the tracks here may not match the likes of 'Bohemian Rhapsody' or 'We Are The Champions', we are left with a much more consistent compilation.

The album kicks off with 'A Kind Of Magic', a soaring pop hit. The other more mainstream hits include 'Radio Ga Ga' and 'I Want To Break Free'. 'Who Wants To Live Forever' and 'The Show Must Go On' are two of the most moving ballads Queen ever produced.

What sets this compilation apart from the first though, are the harder, rockier songs. Queen's stadium rock songs seemed to rock harder than ever before. This may explain why this album isn't as universally appreciated as the first. 'I Want It All', 'Breakthrough', 'Hammer To Fall' and 'One Vision' still get my adrenaline rushing every time I hear them. And 'The Miracle' and 'Innuendo' proves that Queen still had that 'Bohemian Rhapsody' style in them.

This is an album no Queen fan should be without, even if you are not as familiar with these hits than those of the first collection, please take the risk and get this album - you won't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably the best out of the three greatest hits albums!, 21 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits II (Audio CD)
It is rare that I like every piece on an album, but in the case of Greatest Hits II, I have to say that I do. As Queen often do, they have included a variety of styles in their performances, and the best examples of this are included on this album: Innuendo - the great epic anthem for Live Aid includes variuos styles that only Queen could piece together! It also features the famous "Under Pressure" by Queen and David Bowie, with that unforgettable bass line.
There are many other pieces on the album - some strange; some melancholy and others that make you want sing along as loud as you can! However, no piece on this album will disappoint you if like upbeat rock music.
Get it. Get it now while stocks last...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE REAL MAJESTIES OF ROCK, 23 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits II (Audio CD)
This just proves Queen are great. This was the last album to be released while Freddie was still alive. There is great rock songs like One Vision, Hammer To Fall and I Want It All. Tongue in Cheek songs like The Invisible Man and I'm Going Slightly Mad. There are two Queen number one's in Under Pressure (with David Bowie) and Innuendo. There is the tuneful pop beat of A Kind Of Magic, Radio Ga Ga and I Want To Break Free. There is the last Queen single to be released while Freddie was alive, The Show Must Go On. There are cool piano songs like It's A Hard Life and The Miracle. It also includes Who Wants To Live Forever, Breakthru, Friends Will Be Friends and Headlong. This is a great album with a lot of good songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BETTER THAN THE FIRST ONE, 20 Jan 2011
By 
David P. Weber (North Fremantle) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yes, the sound of this remaster is better than the sound of the Greatest Hits remaster, which I bagged elsewhere on Amazon (I stand by that assessment after sifting through a series of gushing reviews to find someone had compared the wave files).

Perhaps it's because a lot of the music on this disc was originally recorded digitally?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits II (Audio CD)
fantastic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Hit After Hit Queen Rocks!!, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Best Version Out there i Have This On Vinyl Cassette, Cd 1991 Version And now 2011 Version And They All Are Great But This 2011 Sounds To Be One Of The Best And If You Want Quality Go For This One !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars briliant, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits II (Audio CD)
as always queen at thiar brilint best for me there is nobody better every song as good as the one before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits II
Greatest Hits II by Queen (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews