Customer Reviews
X


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for those who like long guitar rifts
Best songs on here are Stairs, Suicide Blonde, Dissapear & Who Pays The Price. Just underneath Kick in my opinion, An excellent album BUY IT! I have only been a fan for 2 weeks & I've got 4 albums! Live Baby Live, X, Greatest Hits & Kick!
Published on 13 Sep 2001 by Col

versus
3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MTV fluff
Whilst this isn't a bad album, for me it shows just how INXS lost their way. After the huge success of the excellent "Kick", the quadary the band then faced on this album is obvious: how to maintain the success and keep MTV happy, but also try and move on artistically?
As with so many bands, they did neither. "X" has some good moments, such as the wonderful...
Published on 3 Sep 2003 by themattmoore


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for those who like long guitar rifts, 13 Sep 2001
By 
Col (Preston, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
Best songs on here are Stairs, Suicide Blonde, Dissapear & Who Pays The Price. Just underneath Kick in my opinion, An excellent album BUY IT! I have only been a fan for 2 weeks & I've got 4 albums! Live Baby Live, X, Greatest Hits & Kick!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Records., 22 Dec 1999
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
Great songs on here include the hits Suicide Blonde and Disappear but there are other great tracks on here as well such as Who Pays The Price and By My Side,not as good as Kick but not far off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic INXS, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
If you like INXS you will have bought this long ago... if you have never heard of them ..listen to Suicide Blond very loud & you will then go out & buy this ...Kick was the best thing they did but this comes a close second. RiP ..Michael..such a great loss..at least he left his music behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars inxs, 1 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
great music and it is nice to have this cd at home, I do recommend it. You must have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
As always simply fantsatic songs from the boys from Oz
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars INXS� second-best album, 6 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
»X« was the natural follow-up to the outstanding breakthrough album of INXS, »Kick«.
»X« is more polished, less spontaneous. As if the sextet is really wanting to do "the right thing". But this may exactly be the weakness of this album! 'Cause the refreshingly youthful spontanity of the songs on »Kick« is missing here.
Still, there are a number of really great rock compositions on this one. Like the powerful hit and opener »Suicide Blonde« with the crispy harmonica, the nearly symphonic semi-ballad »By My Side«, or the album's best track »The Stairs« where Michael Hutchences great way of singing comes through even more catching than on the other songs.
»X« is one of the two INXS albums you MUST own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A newer copy, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: X (1990) (Audio CD)
I bought this because another copy that I have makes ticking noises because it has starches. This is a great album and a perfect recommendation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars MTV fluff, 3 Sep 2003
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
Whilst this isn't a bad album, for me it shows just how INXS lost their way. After the huge success of the excellent "Kick", the quadary the band then faced on this album is obvious: how to maintain the success and keep MTV happy, but also try and move on artistically?
As with so many bands, they did neither. "X" has some good moments, such as the wonderful "Disappear", and at the time was quite palatable. But listening back to it now, it has dated badly. The production is fussy and over-bearing, and the song-writing a poor attempt to duplicate the pop-rock-funk that had served them well on "Kick". There's little evidence of the R'n'B roots that were such an important basis for their best work.
To their credit, the band bounced back with their next couple of albums: the woefully under-appreciated classic "Welcome to Wherever You Are" and the superb "Full Moon Dirty Hearts".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Evasive Action, 27 Nov 2013
This review is from: X (Audio CD)
Big fan at the time and I looked forward to this release, though I should have known better following the single of Suicide Blonde, which wasn't the best. They were always going to struggle to live up to KICK and having milked that disc for six singles and worldwide tours along comes 'X'. This album was a huge disappointment after loving their previous works. If you have the six studio albums up to this point then I'd recommend stopping there. It doesn't get any better for the band after this I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X
X by INXS (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews