Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of the best of Nicks' early solo albums
If you want a collection of the best songs of Stevie Nicks from both solo career and her glory days with Fleetwood Mac, then you will have to put it together yourself (which, of course, is not that much of a problem in these modern times). If you are looking for the best songs of her solo career then you might as well save yourself the effort and just pick up "Timespace:...
Published on 6 Dec 2004 by Lawrance M. Bernabo

versus
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TIMESPACE..MY REVIEW.
When I first bought this CD, it began my interest and race to complete all the solo-albums of Stevie Nicks.There is a surprise lurking here, though. If you loved the song "Seven Wonders," and you've heard it from the Greatest Hits package from F.MAC, Stevie's solo music is a little bit different.
The versions of the songs you hear on "Timespace: the...
Published on 5 Dec 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of the best of Nicks' early solo albums, 6 Dec 2004
By 
Lawrance M. Bernabo (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Best Of Stevie Nicks: TIMESPACE (Audio CD)
If you want a collection of the best songs of Stevie Nicks from both solo career and her glory days with Fleetwood Mac, then you will have to put it together yourself (which, of course, is not that much of a problem in these modern times). If you are looking for the best songs of her solo career then you might as well save yourself the effort and just pick up "Timespace: The best of Stevie Nicks." These fourteen tracks provide ample proof that when she is good, Stevie Nicks is very good.
When Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham joined Fleetwood Mac in 1974 they made the new and improve group the most popular band on the planet. Hit singles like "Rhiannon" and "Dreams" made Nicks stand out from the rest and in 1981 she recorded her solo debut album, "Bella Donna," which hit #1 on the Billboard album chart or the strength of duets with Tom Petty ("Stop Draggin' My Heart Around" #3) and Don Henley ("Leather and Lace") as well as her hard rocker "Edge of Seventeen (Just Like the White Winged Dove)." Three other solo efforts followed: 1983's "The Wild Heart," 1985's "Rock a Little," and 1989's "The Other Side of the Mirror." Those four albums make up the source material for "Timespace."
Nicks had almost a dozen Top 40 singles from those four albums, all of which feature her distinctive voice (I want to describe it as almost a Janis Joplin type of voice without the hard edge, but that seems so woefully inadequate and I cannot come up with anything better). Not all of her singles are here, with both "After the Glitter Fades" and "Needles and Pins," the other duet with Tom Petty, from her debut album missing. But of course you have her highest charting single, "Stop Draggin' My Heart Around," and the gorgeous "Beauty and the Beast," with the wonderful piano bridge by Roy Brittan. "Stand Back," "Edge of Seventeen" and "Rooms of Fire," represent her hard rock side while "Has Anyone Ever Written Anything for You" offers another look at the softer side. There is also a "new" track to start off the album with "Sometimes It's a Bitch," co-written by Jon Bon Jovi.
While there is room to debate a few of the songs (I can replace both "Love's A Hard Came to Play" and "Desert Angel" with better tracks), I think there is agreement that the very best of the best of Stevie Nicks is here. If you do not have a Stevie Nicks album in your music collection, then this would definitely be the single CD to pick up to rectify that error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timespace, 29 Dec 2007
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Best Of Stevie Nicks: TIMESPACE (Audio CD)
Timespace is a spellbinding collection of tracks from the career of Stevie Nicks. The later 'best of' album 'Crystal Visions' has songs from Shangri-La, but I tend to feel that this compilation represents a more coherent selection of her music. Some of her music, which at times can be synthesizer heavy (and I don't mean that in any derogatory way), can be very potent. The power of 'Stand Back', 'Edge of Seventeen' and 'If Anyone Falls' still hit me full force even after repeated listening. On the flip side tracks such as 'Leather and Lace' and 'Has Anyone Ever Written Anything For You' are so beautifully sung they almost make your heart ache. This collection has an excellent booklet that has an explanation of the inspiration behind each song and I've always felt that having this insight adds to the potency of the music. Overall, this is moving and powerful collection of songs that shows just how stirring Stevie's voice can be and what a good songwriter she actually is.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best of the best of Nicks' early solo albums, 6 Dec 2004
By A Customer
If you want a collection of the best songs of Stevie Nicks from both solo career and her glory days with Fleetwood Mac, then you will have to put it together yourself (which, of course, is not that much of a problem in these modern times). If you are looking for the best songs of her solo career then you might as well save yourself the effort and just pick up "Timespace: The best of Stevie Nicks." These fourteen tracks provide ample proof that when she is good, Stevie Nicks is very good.
When Nicks and Lindsey Buckingham joined Fleetwood Mac in 1974 they made the new and improve group the most popular band on the planet. Hit singles like "Rhiannon" and "Dreams" made Nicks stand out from the rest and in 1981 she recorded her solo debut album, "Bella Donna," which hit #1 on the Billboard album chart or the strength of duets with Tom Petty ("Stop Draggin' My Heart Around" #3) and Don Henley ("Leather and Lace") as well as her hard rocker "Edge of Seventeen (Just Like the White Winged Dove)." Three other solo efforts followed: 1983's "The Wild Heart," 1985's "Rock a Little," and 1989's "The Other Side of the Mirror." Those four albums make up the source material for "Timespace."
Nicks had almost a dozen Top 40 singles from those four albums, all of which feature her distinctive voice (I want to describe it as almost a Janis Joplin type of voice without the hard edge, but that seems so woefully inadequate and I cannot come up with anything better). Not all of her singles are here, with both "After the Glitter Fades" and "Needles and Pins," the other duet with Tom Petty, from her debut album missing. But of course you have her highest charting single, "Stop Draggin' My Heart Around," and the gorgeous "Beauty and the Beast," with the wonderful piano bridge by Roy Brittan. "Stand Back," "Edge of Seventeen" and "Rooms of Fire," represent her hard rock side while "Has Anyone Ever Written Anything for You" offers another look at the softer side. There is also a "new" track to start off the album with "Sometimes It's a Bitch," co-written by Jon Bon Jovi.
While there is room to debate a few of the songs (I can replace both "Love's A Hard Came to Play" and "Desert Angel" with better tracks), I think there is agreement that the very best of the best of Stevie Nicks is here. If you do not have a Stevie Nicks album in your music collection, then this would definitely be the single CD to pick up to rectify that error.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential Addition to a Mature, Well-Rounded musical collection, 15 Oct 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Stevie Nicks: TIMESPACE (Audio CD)
Music from a distinctly different era by a songstress with one of those most distinctive of female voices.

Yes ...someone who can actually SING!

This Album demonstrates Stevie Nicks deserves to be rated 'up there' along with, say, Kate Bush or Dusty Springfield in that respect.

At a pinch, in a different genre, Streisand, or Bette Middler ...or from previous generations then the technically superb Peggy Lee and emotive Judy Garland.

Merely speaking of Stevie Nicks in this context is a compliment-and-a-half, by my standards, so if this review otherwise seems incomplete, because I have chosen not to discuss individual tracks, well, THAT is a quite conscious & deliberate decision!

Just access the Album ...and make up your own mind ...and if you are not familiar with the other singers mentioned ...just consider that to be your 'listening project' in the run-up to Xmas: you may then find you have more items on your 'Xmas List' 'Wanted Items' than normal!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars TIMESPACE..MY REVIEW., 5 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Best Of Stevie Nicks: TIMESPACE (Audio CD)
When I first bought this CD, it began my interest and race to complete all the solo-albums of Stevie Nicks.There is a surprise lurking here, though. If you loved the song "Seven Wonders," and you've heard it from the Greatest Hits package from F.MAC, Stevie's solo music is a little bit different.
The versions of the songs you hear on "Timespace: the Best Of Stevie Nicks" have all been re-mastered and digitilised. You can hear the difference most prominently when you play the original "Stand Back" from the second Nicks solo album, "The Wild Heart" and compare that to new version on "Timespace." These affects are used on most of the solo singles Nicks released during her time as a prolific Rcok writer during the eighties.
Although Stevie Nicks has not done so well on this side of the channel in terms of her solo output, Timespace reflects the good and not so good times of a rock and roll lady. "Sometimes Its A Bitch" isnt a terribly memorable song. But then, its a song which was written by Jon Bon Jovi. When it was released as a single in the U.K, all the radio stations played the song to death continuously for its expletive comment about falling in love!
Desert Angel (also the b-side to "Sometimes Its A Bitch") is a passionate cry for help during the Desert Storm Gulf War dispute during 1991. Its obviously something which affected Stevie's heart when she wrote this song.
If you can put up between the uses of bare electric synth and crisp guitars, then you will like the eccentricity of this album. Its really one of the best albums on the market which shows a facet of Ms Nicks's life. Downsides? Well she may be the American vocalist from Fleetwood Mac, but her solo works have made little impact here save the famous duet with Tom Petty "Stop Dragging My Heart Around." Some people may even remember the beautifully written "Has Anyone Ever Written Anything For You?" written by Nicks.
For most people however, its important to remember that Miss Nicks devotes most of her time to her family and fans in the U.S This assumption stems from the stories and synopsis of songs she has written about. They are interesting..but not THAT interesting. Its a good album to buy if you are beginning to fall for the mysticism behind Stevie Nicks. And if you don't like the reasons she gives for her songs, make up your own dreams and visions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great voice, 3 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timespace: Best Of (Audio CD)
Great voice, some great songs but some not so great songs too.. I don't think the best of Stevie Nicks is a very appropriate title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars a good listen, 16 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timespace: Best Of (Audio CD)
We bought this to replace an aging cassette. Its is good for a long drive. I would recommend it for this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 Nov 2013
By 
brent cole (forsbrook stoke on trent england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Timespace: Best Of (Audio CD)
very good cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stevie Nicks, 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Stevie Nicks: TIMESPACE (Audio CD)
Arrived very quickly but not what I thought it was going to be and thought the music would have been better. Not to mind. My mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mint, 1 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Stevie Nicks: TIMESPACE (Audio CD)
c v b n m , . m n b v cx c v b n m , m n b bv v
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Stevie Nicks: TIMESPACE
The Best Of Stevie Nicks: TIMESPACE by Stevie Nicks (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews