Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars33
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.12+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2000
The only downfall in this collection is that the full length version of the evergreen classic "Always and forever" is not included, therefore we settle for the 7" version. The Best songs here are the Rod Temperton penned "Boogie nights" "Too hot to handle", the previously mentioned track, and johnny wilders "mind blowing decisions" Overall this is a great introduction to one of the great British soul groups to emerge from the late seventies. As mentioned before, only the fact that the omited full length version of Always & Forever has prevented me from giving this 5 stars.
0Comment|25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2004
The british ground breaking band that wowed us in the discos with "The groove line" and charted with "mind blowing decisions"
and hit the floor and the charts with "boogie nights"
This is a best of album and has many more club tracks that remained album tracks only, nevertheless still have that rod temperton Quality about them, Who went on to be one of the most prolific writers of all time for michael Jackson.
Lend an ear to the last track "big guns" an infectious piece of jazz-funk that I cant stop playing!!
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 13 February 2004
This album aptly summarises the best hits of the early British funk band, Heatwave. There is something fresh, light, happy, naive even in the way the band play, in the orchestrations and in Wilder's unique vocal range which means that many of the tracks have outlived the post-disco era and can lay claim to being classic funk tunes. Rod Temperton's peerless songwriting skills are in evidence on the biggest hits, Boogie Nights probably being the biggest of all.
The album contains all the best songs, although I share the previous reviewer's frustrations that extended versions were not included, specifically of Always and Forever and Gangsters of the Groove.
Only four stars because there is unfortunately a bit of padding with some truly poor efforts, notably track 9, which show up the fact that Heatwave were not a band "built to last". There's also some fairly shameless copying of the Earth, Wind & Fire style on one or two of the tracks, showing that the band quickly ran out of ideas.
Nevertheless, Heatwave were pioneers of the Britfunk scene and helped lay the path for bands like Level 42, Incongnito, Light of the World, Central Line et al. The album is good value and, with use of the skip track button, gives you half an hour or so of great music.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2012
excellent album, well worth buying .***** heatwaves best album ever, a blast from the past, happy memories. great sound track, great quality in the sound recording.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2012
As soon as i received this disc it got played and has been played every day since!The sound quality is good and i had forgotten just how good Heatwave were.If you were into the disco scene or just want to reminisce then i recommend this disc.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2013
Great album that brought back many memories of a distant time when the music was soulful, funky and cool. The 70s music era is tough to beat.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2016
An excellent collection of oldies from a great seventies disco group who had some classic hits like Boogie Nights, while also being sufficiently diverse to write beautiful ballads like Always and Forever. A joy to listen to again for anyone like me who live through the period as well as younger listeners unaware of such treasures.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2012
Heatwave heatwave hot hot , they the busness in there days boggie night, always and for ever, great man great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
great music brings back a lot of memories takes me back to pipers and lord toms when dancing was dancing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
Classic heatwave cd to supplement my vinyl records - nearly all the tracks I wanted.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)