Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly best of but still enjoyable
This collection contains a few of Tammy's own songs, together with a selection of covers of other people's songs, all delivered in Tammy's distinctive style.
So here you get some of the classic songs that Tammy recorded in the sixties -Apartment number nine, Your good girl's gonna go bad, D-I-V-O-R-C-E, I don't wanna play house, Stand by your man and The ways to love...
Published on 3 Mar 2005 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad a bit sugary
I chose this rating because I was a little disappointed in the content of the album.
I wouldn't recommend it to a friend.
Published 19 months ago by THE BISHOP


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not exactly best of but still enjoyable, 3 Mar 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Best Of Tammy Wynette (Audio CD)
This collection contains a few of Tammy's own songs, together with a selection of covers of other people's songs, all delivered in Tammy's distinctive style.
So here you get some of the classic songs that Tammy recorded in the sixties -Apartment number nine, Your good girl's gonna go bad, D-I-V-O-R-C-E, I don't wanna play house, Stand by your man and The ways to love a man. These were among the songs that made Tammy a major country star in America in the late sixties, though it was not until 1975 that Tammy had a UK hit. Somewhat belatedly, Stand by your man became a number one UK pop hit and was followed up the charts by D-I-V-O-R-C-E (number twelve), I don't wanna play house (a minor hit).
Of the other songs here, Another lonely song is one of Tammy's country hits from the seventies but all the remaining songs are covers. Sometimes when we touch, a duet with Mark Gray, became a country hit for Tammy and Mark in the mid-eighties. The original version (by Dan Hill) had been an international hit in 1978.
The covers include There goes my everything, Ode to Billy Joe, No charge, Honey, Crying in the chapel, Help me make it through the night, Hey good looking and Crying in the rain, all of which are well-known to Brits via other versions. Country fans will also recognize Funny face (Donna Fargo) and maybe also Please come to Boston (Dave Loggins).
This is a nice collection, but if you want to hear Tammy singing her own classics, you will get many more of them on other compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Tammy Wynette., 14 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tammy Wynette (Audio CD)
Most of her best songs were on here though one or two I remember from an album my mum had when I was kid were not on there so I was only a taj disappointed but generally good album, worth buying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nearly the very best of, 19 Oct 2010
By 
Mrs. M. Walsh "Maw." (Glasgow Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tammy Wynette (Audio CD)
Apart from the definative collection, this is the best Tammy Wynette cd about today. It has nearly all of her greatest hits, apart from the KLF collaboration on "Justified & Ancient" and it really is an excellent cd. It has "Apartment No. 9" "Stand by your man" "I don't want to play house" "No charge" "Your good girl is gonna go bad" "Help me make it through the night" and unfortunately "Divorce" It has a number of other well known covers but all of which are superior to "Divorce" the only real dud in an otherwise very good cd. If you like Tammy's voice, then this is a very solid cd of very good songs, performed by a great country singer, and with an eighteen track song list at the prices it is available on Amazon, you would be hard beat to better this item. I have no hesitation in recommending this cd, and if your a "Tammy" fan this cd is probably in your collection. Yours, Mrs. M Walsh. "Maw".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars taamy wynette greatest, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tammy Wynette (Audio CD)
this is a first class album of tammy wynette at her best she still is the queen
of all country and western would recomment to all fans
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tammy Wynette (Audio CD)
Tammy Wynette has a wonderful voice and all the songs on this CD are excellent. The price is so much cheaper than in the shops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of Tammy Wynette, 15 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tammy Wynette (Audio CD)
choice of songs on the CD and the sound was so good, what I expected and more, I am so glad I purchased it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth a listen, 2 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tammy Wynette (Audio CD)
Would recommend this CD to fans of Tammy Wynette, what a loss she was to the world of country music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Tammy Wynette's best albums., 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tammy Wynette (Audio CD)
A wonderful album with all the old favourites. Very pleased and can't stop playing it. A really good buy. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad a bit sugary, 9 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tammy Wynette (Audio CD)
I chose this rating because I was a little disappointed in the content of the album.
I wouldn't recommend it to a friend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I love Country Music!, 21 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Best Of Tammy Wynette (Audio CD)
I choose this one because I do love Country music but I had never bought any before. Oddly one day I just decided to order some and this was one of them. Its a great CD and I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Best Of Tammy Wynette
The Best Of Tammy Wynette by Tammy Wynette (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews