Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stood the test of time better than many would of thought
One thing i would like to make clear from the outset. This album is from the tail end of the baggy era. Four years before the Britpop explosion some reviewers have lumped it in. Containing three great baggy anthems and some great shoe-gazed tinged pop Blur seemed to be in the right place at the right time with this album. The album also shows glimpses of their darker...
Published on 22 May 2007 by P. Loraine

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One of Britain's best bands start with rather inconsistent debut
Alongside Oasis, Blur are one of the most popular bands of the last 20 years but despite the albums that followed like Parklife and their self titled 1997 effort, this album is probably their weakest effort, Damon Albarn sounds frustrated and despite the obvious classics on this album it really isn't the best way to start your musical career. It isn't a bad effort infact...
Published on 29 Jun 2009 by T.K


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Stood the test of time better than many would of thought, 22 May 2007
By 
P. Loraine "LFEE" (Gateshead-UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Leisure (Audio CD)
One thing i would like to make clear from the outset. This album is from the tail end of the baggy era. Four years before the Britpop explosion some reviewers have lumped it in. Containing three great baggy anthems and some great shoe-gazed tinged pop Blur seemed to be in the right place at the right time with this album. The album also shows glimpses of their darker songwriting style that would return with more prominence several albums down the line. This is a stronger album than many people credit it for. No classic...but good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Are you actually listening to the same album?, 6 April 2005
This review is from: Leisure (Audio CD)
While it may be fashionable to dismiss this album, and the band themselves may wish to distance themselves from it somewhat due to their circumstance at the time, the music on Leisure is still (to my ears) quite good. Should we disparage that there are the marks of the alleged "shoegazer" sound and Stone Roses, My Bloody Valentine influences? I have no idea why. While some tracks, like Fool, are not all that good... there is nothing bad here. And Bang is still an entirely catchy song... intelligent or mature lyrically? No. but it's not dumb, either...
While I do view Modern Life is Rubbish as a wonderful expansion of Blur's style, Leisure is a major accomplishment. And may I dare say that I'm happy to have "I Know" (which suits the album much better) on my U.S. version instead of "Sing" (though I'd like to have had both)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 7 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Leisure (Audio CD)
It's Blur, captain, but not as we know it. It's lucky that Damon's voice is so distinctive, otherwise you would have thought this was a completely different band. Despite the rather dull and uninspiring lyrics, this is still a hell of a lot of fun to listen to, with some great tunes and though quite a lot of the songs are fairly similar and unremarkable, their are exceptions (The beautiful, dreamlike 'Sing', 'Bang', an energetic and exciting song (and probably Leisure's only song that sounds like it could have come from a later album) and the frantic, era-defining 'There's no other way'). It isn't really the Blur we know, but it's definitely a hell of a lot of fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blur's Debut Album = Forgotten 90's Gem, 18 Jan 2011
By 
Matthew Stoneman "90's Guy" (North Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leisure (MP3 Download)
Before I begin this review, I do have a few questions regarding the front cover of this album. Why is it a picture of a weird looking woman from the 1950's? Why is she wearing a swimcap decorated with flowers? Why are her eyebrows so huge? Why is her face caked in makeup? And what does the cover have anything to do with the music on this album? (sighs) I just don't understand this world sometimes.

Moving on, this is 1991's "Leisure," the debut album from the popular Brit Rock band, and arch rivals of Oasis, Blur. Things get off to a good start with SHE'S SO HIGH. The medium pace of the song, echoed lyrics, and the strong drumbeat ooze of 90's quality. For some reason the first 30 seconds of the song reminded me of the Town Square level in the Spyro The Dragon video game for the PSone. Don't know why, though. But after listening to it you'll be as high as the girl in the song...high with excitement over how good it is. To me this is the best track on the album.

BANG, which appears to be about how time flies, is as close to a dancebeat tune as you're gonna get without actually being a dancebeat tune. Not that I'm complaining because it's another good song. SLOW DOWN is OK, but is nothing spectacular, not even with the change of pace halfway through. REPETITION does exactly what it says on the tin. It repeats the word "try" over and over again, and at 5:25 it's just too much of a drag. Clearly not one of Blur's finest hours.

BAD DAY is a good tune to listen to. It's bright, chipper, and the use of the harmonica and accordion (I'm pretty sure both are being used) at the beginning of the track actually work. Not bad considering the latter instrument is usually associated with Morris dancing. SING is by far one of the worst songs on the album. It's far too long, it sounds very depressing, and the lyrics are so badly slurred it makes you wonder if Damon Albarn was having a stroke when the band recorded this song.

The drums and the electric guitar are put to good use in THERE'S NO OTHER WAY. It makes me wanna put on a leather jacket and walk down a city street saying "Look how cool I am." That's how cool it is. FOOL maybe about being confused, but there's nothing confusing about the quality of this tune. It's very good, and so is COME TOGETHER which has a hint of heavy metal in it. I'm not a big fan of heavy metal but it works this time.

HIGH COOL is not too shabby, although the bass and drums make it feel a tad too hippy 70's for my liking. The next song might be called BIRTHDAY, but I wouldn't advise you to sing this to the US President. Its slow pace is more suited to marriage breakups, and not even a sudden burst of drumming two thirds of the way in can save it from being dull. Fortunately the album ends on a positive note with WEAR ME DOWN. But for the softly sung lyrics this tune could actually be used as entrance music for a WWE wrestler, thanks to its strong guitar sounds.

Overall "Leisure" is a very good album. It does contain a couple of duds, but it's mainly good. Anyone with an interest in Blur or Brit Rock music should take a look at this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still sounds fresh today, 13 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Leisure (Audio CD)
Ignore the bad dress sense and style of Dameon and friends on the cover, this record although 8 years old still sounds great, and shows what an amazing span of styles this world class band can produce. One of my favourite albums ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underated but flawed album for indie kids., 28 Oct 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Leisure (Audio CD)
This is an often overlooked indie album. For sure it's incoherent at times, but having 4 separate producers didn't help. It also sounds dated at times - listen to the baggy drums of Bang, or the pointless noise outbreak of Slowdown. Some songs sound like homages to My Bloody Valentine, the Smiths or other indie bands. It's a floppy-fringed indie album unafraid to show it's influences and not add anything new. There's some great songs here - She is so High, the haunting Sing. But there's also some poor indie-by-numbers songs (Bang, Repetition). It's a good fun party album, but there's none of the emotional songs you associate with later Blur. The lyrics are often very simple with terrible rhymes or simply inaudable under feedback. I still like this album better than most of the others Blur did, the production is nice and crisp and there's some classic songs here. As I say it's a good album to get drunk and dance to, it's probably the Blur album I've listened to most. Just don't expect anything like the Universal.
The Bsides from around this period are far superior to the album tracks. If Luminous and Inertia (and others) were included it would be far better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars One of Britain's best bands start with rather inconsistent debut, 29 Jun 2009
By 
T.K "Tom" (Stoke,England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Leisure (Audio CD)
Alongside Oasis, Blur are one of the most popular bands of the last 20 years but despite the albums that followed like Parklife and their self titled 1997 effort, this album is probably their weakest effort, Damon Albarn sounds frustrated and despite the obvious classics on this album it really isn't the best way to start your musical career. It isn't a bad effort infact its actually stood the test of time suprisingly well but even the most diehard Blur fan can say that this probably is their weakest effort, yet after all this, after hearing the first 2 singles off the album, She's so High and Theres no other way, when you release 2 singles like that before the albu is released it really does sound like a possible classic, shame that so many of the songs are lyrically weak and to be honest the album sounds like a band that are frustrated. They would go on to release far better albums than this one and despite being a decent if unspectacular album it has actually aged well.

Key Tracks:She's so High,Sing,There's no Other Way,Wear me Down

Also Buy: 'Storm in Heaven' by The Verve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all for a debut!, 10 Nov 2013
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Leisure (Audio CD)
Very few bands can claim to have a debut that was in fact their best album, and Blur are no exception. Having said that, it isn't bad at all. There is nothing particularly outstanding to be found, especially if you compare it to their masterpieces from the heyday of Britpop, but I've always liked it.

The best songs are the singles: 'She's So High', 'There's No Other Way' and 'Bang', which are in fact very good, it was pretty obvious with hindsight that Blur would become big. There are other tracks which aren't as good (I'm talking about 'Sing' in particular, which a lot of other fans seem to quite like), they do sound very different to the band that went onto become so popular, but it's distinctive vocals of Damon Albarn which make you instantly realise that you are listening to Blur.

My advice is not to dismiss 'Leisure', there are some catchy tunes to be found, and it was an album full of promise, a real taster of what was to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 20 Jan 2001
This review is from: Leisure (Audio CD)
Blur's debut album is one of their best. It has loads of good songs, like there's no other way, birthday, bang and bad day. hmm, you know what, i think all the songs are great.i think this album is not as good as Blur or 13, but better than Modern Life is Rubbish and The Great Escape. go buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Blurs best., 13 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Leisure (MP3 Download)
This has got to be blur's best album, takes me back but still sounds superb, buy this album and you won't be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Leisure
Leisure by Blur (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews