Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Perfection
I am always searching for the perfect album, the album which is totally faultless, which can be listened to over and over again, where there is not a single track you would even consider skipping, not a moment which drags a little, not one second which it could have done without. Finally, I have found one of these albums. Pink Moon is beautiful, bleak, uplifting,...
Published on 20 Jan 2005

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappearing moon
I would have liked to have been able to listen to Nick Drake, a considerable talent, however the CD I received was faulty - from the thirrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrddddddddddddddddddd trackkkkkkkkkkkkk onwards. Sad moon sinking.
Published 7 months ago by Jim Peploe


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless Perfection, 20 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Pink Moon (Audio CD)
I am always searching for the perfect album, the album which is totally faultless, which can be listened to over and over again, where there is not a single track you would even consider skipping, not a moment which drags a little, not one second which it could have done without. Finally, I have found one of these albums. Pink Moon is beautiful, bleak, uplifting, haunting, playful, atmospheric all at the same time. It's short at just under 30 minutes, but that seems just the right length for this album. Nick Drake is one of the most skilled virtuoso guitar players I have ever heard, at times its difficult to believe that there isn't a whole band playing, let alone just one man and his guitar. And not only that, his voice is just about the most perfect I have heard - delicate, honest and up front - almost sounds as if he's singing in your room. The lyrics are fascinating and, if you take the effort, add an extra dimension to the album. He sounds like a man who has finally found an inner piece after much turmoil. He sings of innocence, choice, identity, nature, suicude but the overriding feeling I get from this album is certainly not of a man crying out for help, but a very sensitive man who has finally accepted a few truths about life (read the superb lyrics to 'Road'). He seems tired and almost numb after the years of depression. "know that I love you, know that I don't care".
The most brilliant aspect of Nick Drake's music though is of course the songwriting - often relatively simple, often totally unique, always brilliant. Dont expect his music to come immediately - it takes a few listens to appreciate the melodies.
A perfect album. Not just 5/5 but 100/100.
Get this one first, then get Five Leaves Left and Bryter Layter, which are both near perfection too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The discovery of a true musical genius., 16 Sep 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pink Moon (Audio CD)
The year was 1989. I was in the house of a friend who said "have a listen to this". The next twenty nine minutes we sat in total silence listening to a an absolute musical masterpiece. The music is so deep and yet so beautiful. His voice and guitar playing will hold you spellbound and mesmerised. You will want to hear this again and again and again. The world is a sadder place without one Nick Drake. Buy it . It will be the best cash you've ever spent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 30 Jan 2001
By 
J. Tuffin "jontytuffin" (north yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pink Moon (Audio CD)
I suppose it's easy to get all reverential about Nick Drake what with his archetypal early demise etc etc. I don't really believe in all that after the event myth-making. Whatever happened was a private tragedy suffered by the individual, their family, and their friends, and should be left as such. What we are left with, though, is the music. Pink Moon is a brilliant album. I didn't think I'd be as into it as Bryter Layter and Five Leaves Left, because one of the things I loved about those albums was their orchestration. But you get the feeling after listening to Pink Moon that its a kind of masterpiece. The songs are so strong and distinctive, and so expressive, which I didn't expect. I thought they'd just be too paired down for me. They're not because they're the work of a hugely talented songwriter. This is a beautifull album. One of the best I've ever heard. The last song is maybe the most beautiful and positive songs I ever heard. You should think about definately buying this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 28 minutes of breathtaking beauty, 28 May 2000
By 
C. J. Tupper "Hagriid" (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pink Moon (Audio CD)
Stripped bare of slushy strings and any other instrumentation other than a guitar and two or three chords of piano, this is music so intimate that it chokes your breath away. Nick Drake's husk of a voice so ethereal it seeps into every level of your consciousness, you cannot escape. Recorded in the space of a two-night session with producer John Wood in 1972 at a time when Nick's mental state was making it ever more difficult for him to cope with life and it's drudgeries. Music made almost 30 years ago has survived shifts in styles, Nick's time has come, albeit too late, it cannot be categorised, it's timeless. If the etheralness doesn't grab you then other things at other levels will, just listen to Nick Drake's guitar playing ! A veritable salad of open tunings, clusters, complex chord changes - Nick will get you in the end, at any level. "Pink Moon gonna get ye all". The Pink Moon - (which has lead to - he ironically never sold in his lifetime- an incredible revival of his music in the US due to a VW ad) is actually about impending doom and looming catastrophe - an idea found in Eastern mythology. But listen Nick is not all gloom and doom. My own favourite Nick Drake song is "From the Morning" - a song of such excruciating beauty that it makes me, and who knows, the angels weep with joy, it's so positive. That's probably because it's about a renaissance to a better world and a higher level of spirituality an escape that maybe Nick wished for. Nick Drake's legacy is, thanks to Joe Boyd's efforts (he made sure that when he sold his Witchseason record label to Island that Nick's records should never be deleted), secure. "Pink Moon", now tweaked in this remastered edition, has no clutter- just you and Nick. Laid bare. "Bryter Layter" and "Five Leaves" are musically richer and diverse what with Robert Kirby's superb and appropriate orchestrtal arrangements but we somehow need more of Nick. I prefer "Pink" because Nick can get to us more. Buy his music, enjoy his unique and profound legacy - rejoice in our rediscovery of one of the greatest troubadours and guitar players ever - you'll never be the same again. Promise !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 13 Feb 2007
This review is from: Pink Moon (Audio CD)
I have bought this album a year ago, i keep on listening to it not so often but everytime i do it, it sounds better and better to me. I like it because it is simple. Magic music, wonderful and romantic guitar, poetic lyrics travelling me thought the time and places.

I recommend it whenever you feel like want to relax and escape from this demanding world. Leave the music and Nick Drake's voice to travel you. Just close the lights, stay with some candles on, feel comfortable in your armchair and enjoy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A raw and haunting beauty, 18 Oct 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Pink Moon (Audio CD)
This was Drake's third and last album and sees him at his most raw. At the time of recording it, he was going through the severe depression which would eventually lead to his tragic demise. During his recording sessions for Pink Moon he simply sat facing the wall with his back to everyone else, concentrating on his wondrous guitar playing and singing.
Drake used lots of different tunings for his acoustic guitar, which lends his songs a darker vibe than more conventional tunings. His voice croons over the guitar in a gentle, soft whisper which is tremendously comforting rather than depressing.
The guitar playing is awesome, and so raw - you can actually hear the sound his fingers make as they dance over the strings. There is no orchestration to speak of, which may disappoint fans of Drake's previous albums, but in my opinion this is the way Nick intended it - a glimpse of his soul, uncovered.
For anyone who has not yet heard Nick Drake, I would recommend Five Leaves Left as the best place to start, as it has a small amount of orchestration to complement the guitar picking and vocals. Bryter Layter, for me, is a little too layered, lush and upbeat, taking on a more country-esque feel. Five Leaves Left and Pink Moon are more folky and dark.
All in all, anyone who has ever loved masterful acoustic guitar playing and deeply sensitive songwriting would be mad to miss out on any of Nick's work, but Pink Moon is perhaps the best bet for fans of contemporary singer songwriters as it sounds so incredibly timeless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfection, 7 Jan 2003
This review is from: Pink Moon (Audio CD)
If there was truly a thing of complete perfection in the world of music, it would not surprise me one bit if it turned out to be PINK MOON. The final album in a marvellous trilogy from the astounding NICK DRAKE. The simplicity of songwriting and arragements cannot take away the power of these performances. Intimate vocals whisper closely in your ear, as a gentle guitar slides in the tunes. Poetry, beauty and wonderment perfectly set to music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Less is more, 15 Oct 2007
This review is from: Pink Moon (Audio CD)
This is Nick's last stand under the spotlight before his tragic death...the last of the triumvirate of his canon. Of all the albums, it is the most pared down and simple...but also the most exposed emotionally, and because of that, perhaps the most beautiful and compelling of all.

This may not be the most immediate of Drake's albums...newcomers would be advised to try Five Leaves Left, which is superlative. Once you 'get' where he is coming from, Pink Moon would be my next recommendation. Many commentators have lauded Bryter Layter as his best work, but I find it a bit overblown, the orchestration is almost florid in parts...still better than 99.9 percent of what's out there, but not my favourite.

Drake brings a strange calm to the songs here, as if sung from another plane, but there are hints at his turmoil...the lyrics on Road say it all 'you can take the road that takes you to the stars, I can take the road that will see me through'.

The acoustic guitar work is impeccable and delicate, as it should be, because there is virtually no accompaniment, no lush orchestration, no percussion, just Drake's soft crooning, his guitar and the listener...admirably restrained. These are quiet, intimate, confessional songs that just grow and grow. When someone this talented gives this much of themselves in their art, you can't help but feel close to them, he feels like a lost friend. Who knows what he might have produced had he lived...but I'm just glad he lives on in these wonderful albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is THE next album you should buy...., 21 Sep 2006
By 
D. Jacobs - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pink Moon (Audio CD)
....infact buy two copies, so you can wear one around your neck.

I dont usually write reviews for things, but this album DEFINITELY deserves it. I have both of Nicks earlier works also, and i have to say, however good they are, this tops them. no contest. half an hour of nick and his guitar, which does seem to go too quickly, a shame for sure, but i once heard that a poem with only 3 good lines, should only be 3 lines long. and this album IS perfect.

The tracks all seem as though they could melt into one, and the simplest riffs on here make for the most interesting songs, thanks to nicks ability to create the perfect melody. Whereas before he would do this with orchestral arrangements, on this album the melody is of his voice, and the continual drone of his 6 strings .

Please buy this album, more people should be aware of how good the guy really was, the music and melody within need to be shared with the world, they truely are amazing.

A definite good place to start for people unaware of nicks music and style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This guy is amazing!, 11 Aug 2002
This review is from: Pink Moon (Audio CD)
I was looking for a deep relaxing guitar and voice artist, after much wasted money, a friend told me to try Nick's music. I bought Pink Moon first, immediately I was astounded! His sensitive and perplexing style is so intimate and wonderful, I love it! I'd put Five Leaves as an equal to Pink Moon, however Bryter Layter is a class down but still very good. I just wish he was still here!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pink Moon
Pink Moon by Nick Drake (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews