Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PARADISE FOUND
'Holidays In Eden' is probably the most maligned of all Marillion albums, yet I've never been able to understand why.
This was singer Steve Hogarths second album with the band, the first being the well received 'Seasons End', and he gives a vocal performance that knocks spots of anything that Fish sang with the band, and that is no easy task.
The production is...
Published on 5 Aug 2005 by sarajohnstott

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Another good album by Marillion.
Holidays in Eden is the second Marillion album with Steve Hogarth on vocals. They had dropped the old logo that evoked memories of the cult progressive rock band of the early years, and the songs are very different from that era. HIE is the most obvious attempt by Marillion to court the mainstream pop audience. With that intent in mind, it is a very well constructed...
Published on 10 Nov 2000 by graeme.d@virgin.net


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PARADISE FOUND, 5 Aug 2005
This review is from: Holidays in Eden (Audio CD)
'Holidays In Eden' is probably the most maligned of all Marillion albums, yet I've never been able to understand why.
This was singer Steve Hogarths second album with the band, the first being the well received 'Seasons End', and he gives a vocal performance that knocks spots of anything that Fish sang with the band, and that is no easy task.
The production is crisp and the band manage to achieve a neat mix of more accessible material and traditional Marillion moments. The only problem that Marillion fans have with this record are the three singles that were taken from it, but for me, the only stinker out of those tracks is the over slushy 'No One Can'.'Cover My Eyes' and 'Dry Land', for all their chart appeal, are good guitar based pop numbers, no different to the kind of radio friendly efforts the band did with Fish at the helm towards the end of his tenure with the band.
How tracks like 'Splintering Heart', with its time changes, moods and atmospheres, plus a stonking guitar solo from Steve Rothery can be construed as 'selling out' beggars belief. Also, check out the instrumental section of 'The Party', it's vintage Marillion. The 'This Town/Rakes Progress/100 nights' opus which closes the album wouldn't sound out of place on the 'Clutching At Straws' album and 'Waiting To Happen' is an acoustic guitar based masterpiece.
The only grumble with 'Holidays In Eden' in my opinion is the artwork. The change in the Marillion logo and the lack of any continuity in the cover painting to previous albums broke my heart when 'Holidays In Eden' first came out in 1991. Having no reference to jesters, chameleons and magpies on the cover, was like seeing an Iron Maiden album without 'Eddie' on the front. However, musically, this album is a lost classic and needs to be rediscovered. I've been a Marillion fan for 20 years and no one is telling me that 'Radiation' and 'Marillion.com' are superior records to 'Holidays...'.
Go on, treat yourself to a slice of classic rock from a classic band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Misunderstood Marillion, 6 Nov 2007
This review is from: Holidays in Eden (Audio CD)
I vividly recall the hatred directed at this album by many Marillion fans when it came out. People said that Marillion has let there fans down and had turned into a pop group. I disagree. "Holidays in Eden" is simply a mature Marillion album, with songs about real life, real love and real emotions. BUT. And it is a big BUT. It also contains some amazing and very typical Marillion musicianship, especially from Mark Kelly. I have always believed that if Fish had stayed with Marillion he would have made an album like "Holidays in Eden", with songs about romance and real feelings. The best tracks are The Party and No One Can. If you have avoided this album then don't anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expectations from the fanbase ignore the actual quality on show..., 30 July 2011
By 
PD Flood (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holidays in Eden (Audio CD)
This album always gets short shrift from the band and fans alike but the criticism is way over the top. If you are not a Marillion fan already then this is a fine example of an early 90s pop/rock album with well crafted songs with hooklines and catchy choruses. In fact, if you're not a Marillion fan then this album could be the one that you like! The album is bookended with 2 lengthier pieces which fans regard as worthy material. But this is unfair on well crafted songs such as Cover My Eyes, No One Can, Waiting To Happen and Dryland. The title track gets dismissed by the band for being something that later Genesis would come up with. Well so what? Late Genesis came up with great songs too! In fact this album was produced by Mike + The Mechanics producer Christopher Neil so that may give you an idea of what the sonic palette is on this album.

The problem was Marillion fans didn't like 4 minute pop/rock songs. And non-Marillion fans didn't care one way or another so in that respect, it was a bit of a flop. But the truth is this a fine album that never reached the ears of a market that would truly appreciate it. (Out of all of my many non-Marillion fan friends, this is the only album that a few have actually asked to borrow from me! Mainly because of Cover My Eyes and No One Can.)

So if you're looking for Prog...forget it. If you're open minded enough to listen to a band without any expectations other than hearing well written pop/rock songs, performed and sung beautifully from the early 90s, then look no further.

Paradoxically, on the bonus disc you also get the rip-roaring How Does It Hurt, easily the heaviest thing the band have ever recorded. And the spookily gorgeous acoustic vignette 'A Collection'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Moving on, 7 Dec 2006
By 
C. Porter (Worcester, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holidays in Eden (Audio CD)
So, Fish was gone, and in came Steve Hogarth.

He's got a good voice, has Steve. Sounds a bit like he's got something stuck in his nose and/or throat, but it's not unappealing.

Gone too, though, were the sprawling arrangements and ouright instrumental virtuosity that were Marillion's stock-in-trade. So, the old fans were a bit hacked off, it seems.

But it was brave of them to change direction, to be fair. These are largely pop arrangements, and if they'd tried to replace Fish with a Fish-a-like, they'd have been shot down for cowardice - even if it had worked. Which it wouldn't. The major visionary and lyricist was gone.

So, we had a new band essentially, and this album has some of the teething problems that new bands have. I personally don't like songs with a lyric like "The Party", which is a bit too contemporary for its own good: "She bought a bottle of cider, From the shop on the corner".

But singles like "Cover My Eyes" and "No One Can" showed off Hogarth's pipes, whether you thought they weere a success or a sellout.

This album lays out the band's new wares. I really don't feel they are the emperor's new clothes, because when all is said and done, these boys can PLAY.

Whenever the guitars kick in, there is no question what band you're listening to - even the shiny new production on this album doesn't water down those chops.

So, good for them. It may not be a purist-Marillion album, but it's solid, and never less than intriguing and tuneful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Rakes Progressed, 1 Mar 2013
By 
Mrs. P. BROOKSBANK (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Holidays In Eden (MP3 Download)
I was a big Marillion fan by the time Holidays in Eden came out. The first time I heard them was on TV, I can't remember the program but I was blown away. I thought good interesting music was almost dead and here was this band singing about garden parties and forgotten son's. Even better than this they could play and the sound that they where making was quintessentially British in the old prog rock mode.

Since then I have seen them twice, nowhere near enough and I believe I have all of their CD's.

I was as disappointed as the next person when Fish left but when Seasons end came out I knew that they would go on as strong as ever, albeit in a different direction. I also liked the old symbolism but like all things in life change is inevitable.

I feel now as I did then, that Holidays in Eden is a great album. I don't think there is a duff track in there. Powerful, sometimes personal and it builds to a great end.

Let me say right know that before Marillion I was into Genesis, Pink Floyd, Steely Dan, Yes, Frank Zappa, Return to Forever, Miles Davis, Santana the classics and very big into King Crimson.

I still am and much more but this may go someway to explaining why I get so much out of Marillion and their changing moods.

Dry Land is a stand out track for me; Hogarth's voice rises to the occasion of expressing his admiration for someone who is a cold fish, perhaps introverted and the difficulties he has of dealing with this.

I'm not going to review every track and would add I like instrumental albums also so the lyric isn't necessarily all for me. As with the title track This Town, the Rakes Progress (which I love) and 100 Nights are about change, frustration at the negative effect you circumstances or environment can have on you, self examination and progression. All backed up with powerful playing that is a roller coaster of an emotional ride.

There is no such thing as a bad Marillion album, just different and you can't really go wrong with any of them. Yes I do have my favourites but for musical satisfaction these guys are up there with the best. Long may they continue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Progressive, Most Impressive (or...Holidays from Fish), 10 Jun 2010
This review is from: Holidays in Eden (Audio CD)
Six of one, half a dozen of the other; so it would seem. This is not for un-changing Marillion purists.
It is however in my consideration one of their finest albums, in close consideration to Brave; and is an excellent departure from the Fish-era of Marillion and a good starting point for anyone new to this band.
Quite simply everything it stands for says so. The beautifully modern album artwork, sweeping guitars from Steve Rothery and Steve Hogarth's outstanding vocals. Their wonderful old sound combined with the re-birth of a newly maturing re-vitalized band; evolving into something some have come to cherish to this day. Steve Hogarth has settled into the band and gives us a proper taste of what he and his fellow band-mates under his influence can truly achieve together.
Whatever genre you choose to label this, it is a subtle and diverse musical treat and the power to which this album will eventually unfold before you and hold your imagination; or at least to me is phenomenal.
Even after 19 years, this album holds my enthusiasm and has a huge place in my heart and my life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Another good album by Marillion., 10 Nov 2000
By 
This review is from: Holidays in Eden (Audio CD)
Holidays in Eden is the second Marillion album with Steve Hogarth on vocals. They had dropped the old logo that evoked memories of the cult progressive rock band of the early years, and the songs are very different from that era. HIE is the most obvious attempt by Marillion to court the mainstream pop audience. With that intent in mind, it is a very well constructed album. It was not to prove to be the success it could have been (the songs were ignored by mainstream radio) but they are all reasonable, populist songs. Songwriters Hogarth and Helmer had already proved on Seasons End that they could avoid the pretentious, self-orientated lyrics that had been typical of Fish. Holidays in Eden was a further example of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not that good, 16 July 2003
By 
Amazon Customer (Chester, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Holidays in Eden (Audio CD)
This was Marillions real good go at having some hit singles and it didn't work. Not that, that should be a surprise because we all know the charts are full of rubbish. This album is full of 3-4 minute pop songs, well crafted and performed with some great melodies, but is really lacking the depth of previous and later work. I like it though, so if you're a Marillion fan you don't want to be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good pop-rock album., 24 Oct 2000
This review is from: Holidays in Eden (Audio CD)
Marillion get a really hard time from people and I have yet to hear a reasoned argument against them that doesn't include the Genesis tag (a criticism that quite frankly belongs back in the early eighties). One thing that certainly can be said is that Marillion have never been at the cutting edge of music. Holidays in Eden is a perfect example. While U2 were breaking new ground with Achtung Baby, Marillion were producing this, an album that is perhaps best described as Marillion's only foray into Bryan Adams-style pop-rock. Steve Hogarth (a far better singer than Fish) introduced a more catchy, melodic feel to Marillion as soon as he arrived (check out Seasons End) and Holidays in Eden exemplifies where this could take the band. You get the feeling that most of the tracks on here could have been top ten singles but Radio 1 would never touch Marillion's music. Outstanding tracks for me are Splintering Heart, No One Can, Dry Land and Waiting to Happen. It's not particularly thought-provoking stuff, but it retains the distinctive Hogarth vocals and Steve Rothery guitar style that have become so central to Marillion's sound. If you're a fan of commercial style rock, you will probably regard this as the definitive Hogarth era Marillion album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, 24 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Holidays in Eden (Audio CD)
Love it. Arrived very quickly. It's as good as I remember it to have been way back when. And a double CD too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Holidays in Eden
Holidays in Eden by Marillion (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews