Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love is all around these wild things, 19 Oct. 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hit Single Anthology (Audio CD)
The success of Wet wet wet's cover of Love is all around, featured in the soundtrack of Four weddings and a funeral and which spent many weeks at number one in the UK charts, sparked interest in the original sixties version by the Troggs, whose style was raw rock'n'roll. Their lead singer, Reg Presley, had a distinctive, suggestive style.
The Troggs began their run of chart hits with Wild thing, a novelty song that reached number two in the UK but topped the charts for six weeks in America. By the time it peaked in America, the Troggs were on their second UK single - With a girl like you, which went all the way to number one. Thus, they occupied the number one positions in Britain and America simultaneously, but with different songs, but they never reached number one again in either country. Nevertheless, they had several other major UK hits including Love is all around, I can't control myself and Anyway that you want me, all of which made the UK top ten, together with the top twenty UK hits Give it to me and Night of the long grass.
This collection includes all the essentials. The Troggs were a somewhat odd sixties group but that's why they are worth listening to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real best of the Troggs, 2 Aug. 2009
By 
This review is from: Hit Single Anthology (Audio CD)
If you've heard a Troggs single and want to hear more..or like sixties music and are collecting cds by the top groups of the time..or want to upgrade your vinyl Troggs collection, then this cd is for you...all the tracks are originals and you really do get all their sixties single hits on this inexpensive cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of collections of this group., 4 Dec. 2013
This review is from: Hit Single Anthology (Audio CD)
Best of collections of this group. At first sight there isn't a lot of songs. But selection of tracks the magnificent. These are original records. I have this collection of songs many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars CD Hit, 8 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Single Anthology (Audio CD)
I bought this for one of my sons as a replacement for one that he left in his car when it was sold. Although the disc itself is perfectly OK and he's very happy with it, the plastic case was damaged - cracked - but he didn't mind. It arrived quickly, as do most of Amazon's products and my son listens to it a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia!!, 28 Mar. 2014
By 
Helena Gray "fun lady" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Single Anthology (Audio CD)
This takes me back to my teenage years in the sixties when the music was able to be heard and you could understand all of the lyrics which always had a story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars wild thangs!, 25 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Single Anthology (Audio CD)
a run down of the andover bands sixties hits. a great collection which would be a five star album had it included the classic 'evil woman' and some of their last sixties album 'mixed bag',but neither of the afformentioned were hits,hence their ommision. of all the sixties bands,none sounded like the thumping,pounding troggs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Single Anthology (Audio CD)
good price good CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hit Single Anthology, 21 Mar. 2012
By 
Boris Cherniak "Boris" (rossia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hit Single Anthology (Audio CD)
Very much I love this disk. Magnificent quality and good compilation do it desired. Here not all singles, but it doesn't do a disk poor. The disk was made by big experts on this group. Still to be pleasant to me the selection on EP collection. These disks please soul.Boris
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Single Anthology (Audio CD)
Great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hit Single Anthology (Audio CD)
Great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hit Single Anthology
Hit Single Anthology by Troggs (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews