Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless
this album will never age, it has always been and always will be Mariah Careys best work to date. The Roof, Honey, My All, Close My Eyes are highlights on this amazing rnb/pop/soul album.

Well Done Mariah. Very impressive.
Published on 26 April 2008 by Mr. W. E. Squire

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Overall, nothing special
I have to say, I was very disappointed with this cd. On this Mariah seems to have some fantastic tracks which show off her voice really well and then other average boring tracks. And she says the lyrics so unclearly you have to look at the booklet to understand what she's singing.
1) Honey 3/10 - Boring song, not brilliantly sung.
2) Butterfly 6/10 - A bit...
Published on 25 Aug 2010 by P. Donatantonio


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars timeless, 26 April 2008
By 
Mr. W. E. Squire (UK.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
this album will never age, it has always been and always will be Mariah Careys best work to date. The Roof, Honey, My All, Close My Eyes are highlights on this amazing rnb/pop/soul album.

Well Done Mariah. Very impressive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars sophisticated and beautiful sound, 26 Mar 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
Having listened to this cd on dozens of occasions,I've concluded it's one of my all time favourites.The subtlety,beauty and technical mastery of Mariah's voice (the variety of notes she sings,her ability to switch quickly from a very high pitch to a very low pitch,her ability to hold a note for a long period of time or move up and down through a scale seemingly without effort)is of such a consistently high standard.And her backing singers are great too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mariah's Best album, 16 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
When i first got this in 1997 when it came out i brought it for the ballads, 'My all' and 'Butterfly' but ever since i love it for all the other tracks that wern't released as singles such as 'Close my eyes' and the supercool 'babydoll' which should have been a single and i think is one of Mariah's favourites off the album. It also has great r'n'b tracks like 'the roof' and 'breakdown' and Honey is also a funky tune to dance to. This album gets better with repeated listening as it has alot of surprises and is not another Mariah ballad album. Mariah's albums get better each time but this i think supasses 'rainbow'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Her best album to date...., 12 Oct 2001
By 
Ms. Lauren E. Lewis "Laurenlewis7" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
This really is an OUTSTANDING ALBUM and her best effort to date.Through wonderfully written power ballads like "Outside" and "Whenever you call" to the better known "My All" and "Butterfly" this really is a collection of her best sounding songs to date.The album tends to be slow tempo throughout with exceptions like the infectious R&B tune "Honey".Highlights include the introspective "Close My Eyes" and the slick "BabyDoll" amazing production(of which she is responsible), fantastic vocals and heartfelt songs throughtout make this one of the best albums from a female artist- EVER.And the standout album from the already great Mariah Carey Catalogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A seamless emergence from balladier to butterfly., 22 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
Butterfly communicates the technical refinement of 1995's Daydream, and the true, undisguised soul of Mariah to deliver a masterclass in writing/composition and production. Her passion for hip hop, first shown in her remixes, is let loose on the mezmorising "Breakdown", which for the first time is allowed to socialize with the ballad perfection of "My All", and heartfelt expressionate insight in "Outside". The track which introduced the Butterfly to the world, "Honey", explores the 7 octave range indicative of the greatest voice to have graced the earth. Sacrificing commercial acception and success for the chance to produce music she loves and lives for, is what fuels the passion for this mastery of musical and autobiographical fusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An *A* Class R'n'B album from one hell of a vocalist!, 13 Jan 2002
By 
pwill21240@aol.com (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
This CD is where Mariah Carey lost a lot of her fans! The dreaded music faux pas; the transition from Pop/Mainstream to Hip-Hop/R'n'B! Most artists when attempting this will fall flat bang on their mainstream face, but, Mariah Carey has surpassed herself, presenting almost a cracking debut in itself, a new album in a new style from a happy and sexy, recently divorced woman!
Expecting a full blown heart touching ballad to begin the album would leave you shocked when a banging Hip-Hop tune thumps into play. "Honey" the first single taken from this album went straight to number one as most of hers had done in previous years. It's slick, with a classy array of artists, including P. Diddy, Bone Thug's and Harmony, Da Brat and Jermaine Dupri. Other guests who contributed to the album non-vocally include Prince and Missy Elliot. My own love of R'n'B came from this album because it showcases so many different musical influences that she had suppressed because of Sony Music and it's heavy hand.
For those who picked Mariah up at this stage in her career, will love the tracks on this album, aswell as those on the two following albums Rainbow and Glitter.
For those expecting the ballads, there are plenty here for them to feast on, and some special little surprises along the way including a certain diamond of a track called "The Beautiful One's". Those who love Mariah simply for the Ferrari of a voice she has boxed up in her throat will find her vocals impressively strong on many of the tracks, along with her angelic and heart felt empathy that go together with these beautiful songs just as Adam and Eve went together.
I could rave about this album for ever, because it simply is pure gold (or platinum, if you care to keep with the hip-hop times)! If you're on the market for a credible R'n'B album then you should snap this one up right away and forget the emotional troubles frenzy that have surrounded Mariah Carey of late and let this album that oozes a sumptuous quality I haven't been able to find since, sweep you away on a stream of "Honey"!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most accomplished albums ever!, 5 Oct 2006
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
Butterfly was and is the pinnacle moment of Mariah Carey's career. Despite returning in 2005 with the hugely successful and brilliant 'The Emancipation of Mimi' it is highly unlikely that she will ever produce an album of this standard again. The most important thing with this collection is that it works so much better collectively than as singles. The album flows seemlessly from track with lyrics that are her most personal and poignant. This album was written after she divorced with Tommy Motola which has resulted in music directly effected by her pain. The top 5 tracks are:

1. Breakdown: this is my favourite Mariah Carey track ever with brilliant lyrics, arrangements and singing. This song will never age.

2. Whenever You Call: this a very strong ballad with some of her best vocal performance ever.

3. The Beautiful Ones: singing by both Mariah and Dru Hill is incredible. Arguably the best cover of her career.

4. Butterfly: soaring, uplifting and a classic track.

5. Outside: over looked on initial hearing but is stronger each listen with lyrics likely to speak to many.

This album is brilliant despite being a decade old now demonstrating the huge achievement. An essential buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting voice and brilliant vocals, 11 Nov 1999
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
Her voice is used immensly to reach the highest and lowest notes, 'Butterfly' and 'The Roof' are my favourites. This album is of her leaving her husband and a butterfly (herself) emerging and flying off and finding a new life! The words are heart warming and i can easily get lost in the album. I have been listening to this album at night, during the day and i will never tire from this album. Well done on a great album!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars '90s classic, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
Mariah's best album. Next to Madonna's Ray of Light and Janet Jackson's The Velvet Rope it's the best pop record of '90s. End of discussion. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brillant album,still sounds great in 2008, 31 May 2008
By 
C. Cox "Rachel" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Butterfly (Audio CD)
This album is one of my favourite mariah carey albums,it is up there with E=mc2,charmbracelet,music box,emicaption of mimi,rainbow.
My favourite tracks are:
The roof
fourth of july
breakdown
babydoll-love this song so much its a timeless classic
the beautiful ones featuring dru hill,did u know this song was actually done in 1984 (look at the bottom of the songwords),but is still great.
whenever you call- this one is better with brian mcknight-if you want the remix cop the #1's album.
butterfly is great, i also love my all, her voice is brillant, and for the person on her emotions review album who said she has the voice of a strangled chicken,you voice sounds like a cat in pain.

YOU NEED THIS ALBUM IN YOUR COLLECTION NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Butterfly
Butterfly by Mariah Carey (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews