Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No exit from Brooklyn
If you're in cheerful mood do not watch this movie now! Wait untill you're sad. For this is one of the saddest films ever made. It leaves no hope at all. Beautiful score by Mark Knopfler underlines the hopelessness of being in the 50th's Brooklyn. Performances, especially the one by Jennifer Jason-Leigh, are perfect. It's not an entertaining movie but if you love cinema...
Published on 31 Oct 2000 by Vladimir Sergachev

versus
0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars what a load of rubish I only got this has I heard loads say how good it was
Let's start by saying this film won't be to everybodies taste in my view I thought the story could be better the acting was over acted and the film did not live up to the hype also the part towards the end of the film where the slutty blonde gets drunk and lies on her back most of the men lining up to have sex with I felt was in very bad taste let's face if a women I'd...
Published 8 months ago by belladonna


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars No exit from Brooklyn, 31 Oct 2000
By 
If you're in cheerful mood do not watch this movie now! Wait untill you're sad. For this is one of the saddest films ever made. It leaves no hope at all. Beautiful score by Mark Knopfler underlines the hopelessness of being in the 50th's Brooklyn. Performances, especially the one by Jennifer Jason-Leigh, are perfect. It's not an entertaining movie but if you love cinema as an art, entertainment is not the only thing you're looking for in a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Harsh gritty film of the time, superb but strong content so beware, 12 July 2010
By 
Keith White (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
When I first saw this I thought it was an amazing film, engaging, brutal in places and some will be upset by the strong content. It is a hard honest look at Brooklyn life at the time, surrounded by poverty, prostitution, survival and friendship. A cinematic great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Sleep Til Brooklyn, 10 Mar 2007
By 
Mr. B. A. D. Plowman "Brendan" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Where does one start with LAST EXIT TO BROOKLYN?

Let's start, as many do, with the book. It is without a doubt a literary masterpiece, littered with low-life characters each leading a loveless existence. When I first read it the intense, pulsing, musical style of the prose often left me breathless. The unbearably dark passages that Selby led me down quite frankly infected my psyche. It is an incredible book. "An urgent ticker tape from hell..." wrote one journalist on its release. Amen to that.

When I purchased this DVD I had not seen the movie adaptation and, to be honest, I slapped it in to my DVD player with a little trepidation. I furrowed my brow, convinced that (as with many adaptations) it would simply be a watered down version of the book.

By the end of the movie my doubts were cast aside. This film is a WONDERFUL work of art in its own right. Director Uli Edel has done a fine job in bringing the book's characters to life. Basically there are three stories running side by side :- the story of Harry Black, union leader and repressed homosexual. He is locked in a marriage with a wife and child and the situation is crushing his very soul. Secondly, we have the story of Tralala, a hooker who lures sailors in to dark alleyways where hoodlums await with blunt instruments. Thirdly, we have the story of Big Joe who refuses to acknowledge that his daughter is eight months pregnant. Each character has a destiny. I will not say here whether their individual fates are positive or negative. Let's just say during the movie I felt that I genuinely cared what happened to these characters.

This is a superb film, largely thanks to a superb cast (Burt Young and Jerry Orbach are particularly good) and excellent direction. The Brooklyn of 1952 presented here is relentlessly brutal and unforgiving, with the streets looking uninviting, dark and desolate. Steam rises off blood soaked sidewalks. Bars, dense with smoke, are riddled with drunken sailors, aggressive hoods and oppurtunistic hookers. Characters are violently attacked in lurid detail.....I suspect this all sounds RATHER BLEAK? Well...it certainly is, but I must say that within the bleak quagmire is the all important element of hope. All is not lost. Some of these people are not beyond redemption, and therein lies the power of the film. It is an extremely notable adaptation of one of my all time favourite books. If you haven't seen it...DO SO!

Disc 2 of this package offers another huge treat: "It/ll Be Better Tomorrow", a feature length documentary about the life and works of LAST EXIT author Hubert Selby Jr. This documentary is utterly fascinating, touching on Selby's turbulent life from birth to death. This is unmissable stuff for the devout Selby fan. It is crammed with interesting factoids and covers pretty much everything you need to know about Selby's literature and the man himself. Basically, watching this documentary has made me want to revisit all of Selby's books again (most of them are incredible.)

All in all, a superb 2 disc package. A remarkable movie and a superb companion piece documentary. For the current price, this package is an absolute steal. A must for Selby devotees and newcomers alike.

Also recommended: Darren Aronofsky's terrifying film version of Selby's masterpiece REQUIEM FOR A DREAM. But that's another story...............
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good - some of Mark's best work, 8 Sep 2001
By 
Paul Evans (Twickenham, London) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Last Exit To Brooklyn (Audio CD)
Many people will know Mark Knopfler from Dire Straits. Not so many know him for writing excellent film soundtracks. This is one of those. Much different from works like Money for Nothing, this soundtrack is calm and emotional, showing a different side to this musical tallent. Definately something any Dire Straits fan should listen to. Another one would be the soundtrack to The Local Hero. Or better yet, get Screenplaying - a collection of all the best from four film tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Hard hitting with great performances..., 18 Dec 2011
Movies with various characters whose stories tie in either work or they don't. Last Exit to Brooklyn, based on the book by Hubert Selby Jr., does work and on so many levels. Uli Edel has assembled a cast that put in great performances, from Jennifer Jason Leigh as a prostitute to Stephen Lang as a homosexual union leader, who work together very well from a tight and well adapted script. I have to recommend this film, but be wary if you want something that's going to make you feel good because this isn't it. 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A chilling story, 21 July 2011
By 
Mr. P. Dawson "pepemax" (Lancashire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very atmospheric account of how different people's lives were affected by a strike. J.J.Lee shines as a young girl with few morals, supported by a great cast. Many threads to this story. all riveting, often shocking. The book is also a great read, but I invariably prefer the book to the film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely well-done, 29 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very well produced film. Some lacunae in the storyline though, characters terminated abruptly or not brought to full development. Good film all the same though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, horrid DVD transfer, 23 Aug 2003
By A Customer
The title says it. The film is great, an excellent rendition of one third of Selby's book, with a strong cast throughout honestly delivering a brutal story. But the DVD transfer is quite awful, flickering, grainy, murky and dull as though someone did the transfer directly from a VHS tape, and not a particularly good one at that. Which does the film an enormous disservice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome film!!, 10 Jun 2014
A very compelling and moving film of life in Brooklyn. Definitely deserves a 5 star rating. I would if given it more if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute classic, 26 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
With Violence, Sex all focusing around a Trade Union strike in 1950's America what more would you expect!!. Classic movie well worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Exit To Brooklyn
Last Exit To Brooklyn by Mark Knopfler (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews