Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
34
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 July 2000
A New Flame by Simply Red is probably my second favourite release by the ginger soul-master of Manchetser, the first being the incredible Stars. The reason why i believe this album is underrated is simply because there is so much exellent music on here which is overlooked. The main few songs that are associated with A New Flame (Its Only Love, If You Don't Know Me By Now and A New Flame) are used to judge the album, while the real, solid tracks are simply overlooked. Songs like Enough and Love Lays Its Tune display the genius talents of Hucknall and Simply Red. A New Flame may be Hucknalls most varied work to date, dabbling in reggae beats in More, going all out pop in Its Only Love, and telling very accurate tales of life in Love Lays Its Tune and Enough. This may not of appealed to the mainstream young generation, but it can be accessed by everyone who enjoys well written pop played by a well crafted band.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2016
Bought to replace an old cassette. I've always loved this album, and along with the later 'Stars' consider it to be Simply Red's best. With the original line-up and better written songs than the later ones that Mick Hucknall singularly wrote, this is a class selection of work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2013
Love this CD and all it's tracks. Not a huge fan when they were more currant and didn't realise Simpy Red sung some of them! But, love this music, the words, the beat, some to relax to and others to just brighten your day, fab.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 8 April 2010
This was one of my favourite Albums from 'Simply Red'. It features one of my fav. Singles (the title Track) plus two other hits - including their second Number Two with: 'If You Don't Know Me By Now'. It was their first Number One Album - their second being their following release: 'Stars' which really marked their territory as 'here to stay'.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2014
This product arrived a day ahead of predicted delivery which was great. I've bought other CDs from Amazon and had access to the MP3 version but unfortunately that isn't the case with A New Flame. My oversight in that I didn't notice this so will be more vigilant in future.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 September 2001
Of all the Simply Red albums, this is the one that gels the best as a whole. Often overlooked in place of "Stars", I found that album slightly laboured and over-polished. "A New Flame" is superb from start to finish. Well played and produced and there is no weak song to be found. Even the "lesser" tracks, such as "To Be With You" stand tall. There are so many lush moments to found, it's hard to pick highlights. A joy from start to finish, it's hard to imagine him topping this overlooked Great Soul Album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
By the mid 1980’s, mainstream music had drifted into a banal and turgid cul-de-sac. The scene was set for someone with talent and a spark of originality to step forward. Mick Hucknall had the voice, the songs, the band and he was more than ready to grab the opportunity. In 1985 Picture Book went into the stratosphere and Simply Red became virtual mega-stars. Forward to 1989 and the band release their third album A New Flame. Inexplicably, this album did not receive quite the same level of attention or acclaim that was afforded to Picture Book and Stars. I don’t understand why because it’s a fine record.

The album opens with It’s only Love. The languid grove of the original tune (sung by Barry White) is replaced by a harder funk edge with more urgency and a fantastic vocal performance by Mick. A New Flame ups the tempo and there is an element of theatricality in the structure and delivery of the track. You’ve Got It is the first of two collaborations on the album between Mick and Lamont Dozier. It’s a nice, subtle tune beautifully delivered by Mick in his own inimitable (blue-eyed soul) style. Turn It Up is the second song on the album co-written by Mick and Lamont Dozier. Music history and jazz in particular, is littered with examples of artistic collaborations which produced unmemorable results. Happily this is an exception. Turn it Up is a great song. The lyrics may be forgettable, but when a song’s this good it doesn’t matter. The musicians are on top form and the grove is irresistible. Again Mick shows us the full range of his vocal talents - a Rolls Royce with Sinatra timing.

Love Lays It’s Tune is another gorgeous song in much the same vein as Track 2. If You don’t Know Me By Now couldn’t possibly fail with Mick at the helm. A faultless performance and a huge hit, but I don’t feel that this version adds anything to the original Harold Melvin and The Blue Notes classic. Track 10: Enough. Superlatives can’t really do this one justice. It’s one of the best breakup songs ever written. You’re immediately pulled into the vortex of a relationship in the final throes. You can feel the emotions swirling around – love, pain and regret. Is this Mick we’re talking about? Surely you could not write this song unless you’d been there yourself. Not only is the song a lyrical tour-de-force, it’s a musical one too. The track has a gorgeous spacey feel, reminiscent of Marvin Gaye’s What’s Going On. A jazz grove is in place from the beginning and there’s some really good guitar, keyboard and percussion as the track moves into a stunning instrumental finale.

Mick must surely rank alongside Daryl Hall as one the great white male soul singers. He’s also a very good song writer and A New Flame finds him at the peak of his powers.

RH
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 June 2000
This is my first Simply Red album and I'm so impressed I'll buy the others! Each track digs in deep, creating feelings of joy, positivity and sadness. Mick's voice is one of the best male singing voices in along time, his voice emotionally driven and his style similar to that of Boy George in Culture Club's recent comeback album "Don't mind if I Do!". An all time great! Buy it- you won't regret it!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2012
Once again another good album from Simply Red, After watching Mick Hucknall on Sky Arts had to go and buy them all,and glad I did,
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Historically the oppression of any population, as tragic and unjust as it is, has always been a fertile ground for art to flourish. Just look at the blues for example with classic acts such as Blueshammer, and Mick Hucknall's 'Simply Red' is no exception. His entire oeuvre is seeped in a soulful reflection on the persecution of his people and the discrimination he has suffered. The playfully titled 'New Flame', encapsulating this unique social and cultural backdrop is the quintessential 'Simply Red' LP that belongs in any music lovers collection.

The titular track on this LP is Mick at his most soulful and lyrical. It's a beautiful loving ode to the sprouting of his third or fourth ginger pube, thinly veiled as a song about the arrival of a new love. Mick's smooth satin voice wrought with the torment concerning the colour of his pubes vis-à-vis the intolerant cultural trappings for gingers in Manchester in the 70s opens this masterpiece, with the lines 'I was bowled out, sold down the river'. Mick's pain is tangible and deeply effecting yet somewhere he finds strength and beauty in the new pube that has sprouted from his scrotum, therefore himself. This achingly beautiful epiphany rolls out from his soulful voice, as if it glides along the satin sheets that must adorn this ginger lothario's boudoir, with the simple 'a new flame has come, and nothing she can do, can do we wrong'. Indeed Mick, there is nothing that single red hair or flame, as you so lyrically put it, on your sack can do, to do you wrong. It's not going to call you 'fire crotch', or 'carrot top', it's simply who you are.

The rest of the album is as sublime as the piece I focus on but this song speaks to me as fellow ginger who also found the first three ginger hairs on my balls troubling when I was just a teenager in the 70s. I never had the brains or souls to create art like Mick did, I joined the Ginger Panther's and took up arms against the snake that feeds of the blood of the ginger people, that is the gingerist British establishment. I saw political violence as the answer and not love until I heard this record in 1989. Thank you Mick, you saved me.
55 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.94

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)