Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars28
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2007
In my opinion, this is the best Whitesnake album! It has my fav ever whitesnake song 'The Deeper the love' on it and the ever so catchy 'Kittens got claws'! Not to mention the 2nd time round for 'Fool for your loving' Its just a well put together album full of great songs!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2006
After the multi-platinum smash that was `1987', the pressure was on David Coverdale to produce a follow-up with sufficient bite to keep hungry `snake fans happy. With `Slip of the Tongue' he and his band delivered. Although not as critically revered as `1987', and lacking in the commercially all important stand-out single hits, this is every bit as technically excellent and enjoyable and arguably a more `complete' record than its predecessor. With the tracks completed but for guitar, Steve Vai was hired to add the guitar parts. This could have been a disaster. Vai's `seven-string sorcery' could have suffocated the life from these songs. Giving Vai carte blanche to `colour-in' an all-but-completed album is not what many A&R guys would've advised at the time - that's for sure. As it turned out, Coverdale made the right call and this album is made by some `out of this universe' guitar playing from Vai. There isn't perhaps one lick or riff worthy of special mention - they're all consistently excellent. The album follows a similar formula to '1987': there's a re-make of an old Whitesnake song (Fool for Your Loving - immeasurably better than the original), a bit of balladry (the heartbreaking Now You're Gone and The Deeper the Love) - and of course the heavy rock staples you'd expect from an album from this era (a bit heavier than `1987' too: Wings of The Storm; Judgement Day). With Coverdale on vocals, Vai on guitar, Rudy Sarzo on bass and Tommy Aldridge on drums, technically this is flawless. Couple this with the narcissistic, pouting, self-conscious image (captured brilliantly in the video for The Deeper the Love) and you have a great band and a great album. If you liked `1987', get this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 25 October 2002
I know not every Whitesnake fan liked this release (I gather Bernie Marsden had hysterics watching Steve Vai perform "Fool For Your Lovin'" on TV), but I think it's fantastic.
I've always been a fan of Steve Vai's playing, and to hear him in a band context is a real treat.
The overall songwriting is strong, although apparently Coverdale now hates Kitten Got Claws, in particular Sailing Ships, which is one of the best rock ballads ever written, the rhythm section tight, and Steve just hs a ball, playing his heart out (overplaying? who cares!) on every track. I also love Wings of the Storm - what a riff! And the SOLO!
At least as good as 1987.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2000
A superb collection of songs from Coverdale and Vandenburg. With no poor songs on the album, the duo are obviously a great team.
Even though Vandenburg was unable to perform on any of the tracks, Steve Vai fills the gap most adequately. Sarzo and Aldridge are reliabely excellent throughout.
The greatest tracks are 'Fool for your Loving', 'Now you're Gone', 'Wings of the Storm', the beautiful 'Deeper the Love', and the outstanding 'Sailing Ships'.
Coverdale's vocals are amazing, skilfully varied between low and high. He expertly captures the mood of every song, whether it is heavy & wild or deeply emotional love songs. Only one complaint - the screech at the end of 'Sailing Ships', which could have been so much better had it been executed in a more tender fashion.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2009
Some people might make you believe that this Whitesnake album is not all that good.....but it really is, just give it a shot! It is definately one of their heavier albums. The blues element of early albums, is really gone but Steve Vai's distinctive quitar work gives the songs...that extra vibe and energy!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
Had it in my teens and I still love it now. Don't over analyse it and it's highly enjoyable music.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2011
This is an album that me and my husband use to listen to when we were young. Bought it for my husband for Valentine's Day for the last track - Sailing Ships! A very hauting and life change track.
A must for any Whitesnake fan!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2006
Starting off with a keyboard-synthesised fanfare intro the album kicks off in explosive, energetic style with the title track Slip of the Tongue. Steve Vai doing the honours on guitar, and over-playing as expected, but not to an extent that it ruins the feel of the songs. David Coverdale's vocals and song writing are on top-form as usual. The whole band performs as a tight unit and creates a very big sound.
The weakest track is probably Kitten's Got Claws but it doesn't stand out bad enough for me to reach for the "skip track" button whenever I hear it. Almost all tracks are solid with Fool For Your Loving standing out as the best song, and better than the original recording done years previous to it. Whatever you do, don't miss out the Coverdale quips during the instrumental sections of Cheap And Nasty. ("Don't talk with your mouthful..." Think about it.)
If you like Sailing Ships then I'd highly recommend the "purer" version on Starkers in Tokyo which is in vocal/acoustic guitar form by Coverdale/Vandenberg. If you like Judgement Day or Whitesnake full-stop then I'd recommend the DVD/CD pack Whitesnake Live: In The Still Of The Night.
As Whitesnake albums go I believe this is second only to 1987 but this still has enough class to earn 5 stars.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
Great!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 May 2007
So Mr Steve Vai is the axeman of choice for recording duties on this album. The songs are weaker than those on "1987" but surely Vai's guitar rescues the whole thing, right? No! There is little here of melody from Vai, no glorious solos to tug at the heart strings. Just a succession of technical, competent but ultimately dull guitar work. John Sykes, in my opinion, is a MUCH better composer of both riffs and solos. Vai is an astonishing technician but that's as far as it goes. Brilliant player but he's nowhere near as good as Sykes in a band setting. We all knew that Sykes' guitar work on "1987" was phenomenal and that's why Coverdale felt it necessary to get someone of Vai's stature in to record the follow-up. Ultimately though, Coverdale doesn't bring the songs and Vai just doesn't bring the chops. That isn't to say that this is a bad album, it's not. There are a couple of good songs on here, it's not all bad. I'm just criticising Coverdale for ditching the best guitarist and songwriting partner he ever had (Sykes)! Who knows how many more gems we could have had after the "1987" album?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)