Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars22
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2011
Consider the young Bernstein's compositional oeuvre, his brilliance as a conductor, and the fact of a student-days acquaintanceship with Copland, and you won't be surprised to find that these interpretations are just about spot-on. The orchestra responds superbly, and this delicious music is so well recorded that I found the 1960 sound almost as impressive as the excellent new RLPO Rachmaninov disc that had just come out of my player.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2009
I initially bought this cd for appalachian spring which is a fantastic piece i heard randomly, it's relaxing and then uplifting in a way that makes you want to listen again.
I thought from the titles that rodeo and billy the kid would be western style and not in keeping with the rest of the cd. while fun pieces they're not too jovial and fit quite well.

i've tried to write this review as best i can, but it's the first classical cd i've bought. so buy this if you want someone with a large punk/metal/ska collection to open their ears
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
This recording is from 1960 and not DDD as indicated but ADD. The recording and musicality is otherwise very good. The Fanfare is not the original brass and percussion version, but an orchestral version.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2012
I bought this item for Bernsteín's performance of Billy the Kid, an exellent and monumental performance over all others I have heart.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
fab, quite nice recording, although i'm not an expert, can't stop listening to it. great value for money. definitively recommend
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 September 2015
The Bernstein's version is not the fanfare as Copland originally wrote it--it's the version he adapted for use in the Third Symphony, and Sony just pulled it out of Bernstein complete recording.

I like Louis Lane on Telarc because it's so loud, but just about anyone will do--except Dorati's Decca version, which is dull and heavy. Otherwise, take your pick.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2014
This is exactly what I wanted - a compilation of my favorite Copland compositions, with excellent sound quality. I greatly enjoy listening to it on long car journeys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2012
The service from ordering the CD to receiving it was first class.
The music is just wonderful.Bernstein and Copland what a team.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2014
Excellent CD if you like Copland. Comprises his most well known works with lively performances and ear catching vibrant rhythms.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2016
Great price, very good condition. Great supplier
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)