Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blonde on Blonde
This is a review for the 2013 expanded edition of Velveteen.
First the extra tracks:

Baby I don't care - Abigail's party mix
The only one - Extended mix
Landslide of love - Extended mix

These versions of the songs are fine, but for myself I would have much preferred an extra demo or live track, than remixed or extended editions of the...
Published 21 months ago by Jimi Jac

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good in their day.......
I heard this first time round, in the late 1980's, and really liked it then (the vinyl got a lot of play). Unfortunately now, older and wiser, it sounds a very weak album. Wendy James looked good, but her singing is very weak, although has a certain charm to it, and the tracks are pretty formulaic. 'Baby I Don't care', and 'The Only One' are the pick of the bunch...
Published on 7 Sept. 2006 by FloridaDino


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blonde on Blonde, 30 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velveteen (Re-Presents) (Audio CD)
This is a review for the 2013 expanded edition of Velveteen.
First the extra tracks:

Baby I don't care - Abigail's party mix
The only one - Extended mix
Landslide of love - Extended mix

These versions of the songs are fine, but for myself I would have much preferred an extra demo or live track, than remixed or extended editions of the songs,

Sex Kick - Demo (B-side of Baby I don't care)
Saturn 5 - Demo (Baby I don't care CD single)

The demo of Sex Kick is pretty close to the version that appears on Pop Art, but Saturn 5 is as far as I can tell a pervious unreleased track, an up tempo indie punk song, similar to Revolution Baby, good stuff.

Down on you - Live version (B-side of Born to be sold)
Last time - Live version (B-side of Born to be sold)
Recorded live at Glasgow, Barrowlands by Radio Cylde Mobile, 21st June 1989

Demonstrating that the band could cut it on the live circuit, it's the Stones version of "The Last Time" but with a nice punky guitar riff, if you going to do a cover of a famous song you should try and mix it up a bit, instead of a Karaoke-cover, which TV achieve.

Time for change (B-side of Baby I don't care)
Strings of my heart (B-side of Baby I don't care)
The Mystery song (B-side of The only one)
Love me (B-side of The only one)
W11 Blues (B-side of Landslide of love)
Hardtime (B-side of Landslide of love)
He's the only one for me (B-side of Landslide of love)
Kiss me (B-side of Born to be sold)

Excellent selection of non-album songs, with a lot of them having a more stripped down feel, which gives a nice balance to the big production sound of the album tracks. It's interesting that "The Mystery song" & "He's the only one for me" were written by Dave Parsons (he also wrote a couple of B-sides for "little Magnet..) & if he'd had written with Sayer, could have brought an extra dimension to TV's music, which could have been the way forward for the band, but guess we'll never no.

Whenever a band or singer release a great record, as a fan, on one hand your want them to evolve & take some risks, but on the other hand, you want your favourite act to record exactly the same record again. Thankfully TV chose the forma, recording a more mature, well-crafted record, more commercial than Pop Art, & the final epic track Velveteen does cast a long shadow over the rest of the record.
But I think all bands that want to create a successful second album, should use Velveteen as a template.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favorite albums of all time., 2 Mar. 2002
By 
This review is from: Velveteen (Audio CD)
This album is easily in my top ten albums of all time. It is surprisingly varied and represents Transvision Vamp at their peak. I'll try and give you a brief track by track precis of this brilliant album;
Baby I don't care - A great barn stormer of a track. Lyrics that really cut through a wonderfully heavy guitar riff.
The only one - another brilliant tune that has a great tune. Full of the classic TV raunchiness.
Landslide of love - A medium paced song with Wendys voice cutting through with that delightful clarity.
Falling for a goldmine - A slow moving song with lots of breathy lyrics and a wonderful chorus.
Down on you - a heavy guitar and synth song with piercing lyrics. Superb.
Song to the stars - a delightfully silly piece thats nice and slow!
Kiss their sons - a really heavy track with guitars and synths and those cutting lyrics. Brilliant.
Born to be sold - quiet (compared to the rest of the album) ditty with superb lyrics and good tune with a good twangy guitar in the chorus.
Pay the ghosts - Good heavy drums with a lighter guitar on top - pure joy.
Bad valentine - a slower ditty with the wonderful breathy voice of Wendy - oooh sexy!
Velveteen - All I can say about the title track (which is the last track on this album) is that it is 9 min 51 seconds of pure genius. Velveteen is a surprisingly complex song comprising of quiet parts and the bit about 2:49 into the track is absolute magic. Its worth buying this album for the title track alone. Exquisite - the best track of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seminal, 4 Oct. 2002
This review is from: Velveteen (Audio CD)
For a period in the late '80s, Transvision Vamp seemed to be everywhere in the U.K. Mainly, it was lead singer Wendy James and her sex kitten image on the magazine covers. Velveteen was the band's second release of their Blondie-like bubblegum rock. It will never go down as a great album, but Velveteen has its own definite charms. James' vocals are hardly impressive, but they are endearing in a childlike manner. It's a style that fits the simple fun of the lyrics on the stomping "Baby I Don't Care" and the new wave rocker "Kiss Their Sons." It's hard not to want to scream along with the choruses. "The Only One" is hyperkinetic with a slight disco touch. The lack of ideas catches up to them as the second half starts to sound familiar, but they close things strongly with the epic-length title track. Strings lend a bit of drama to a song that shifts from pummeling, tribal rock to dreamy pop to garage band rock to quasi-lounge music with James giving one of her better vocal performances. Velveteen is an enjoyable and effortless listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wendy's cool!, 16 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Velveteen (Audio CD)
An absolute class act, in their time. This is not a cheesy rock album in fact it is a lot more I really think that the title song on here 'Velveteen' has as much construction and originality as a lot of the great songs of our time. They have pretty much been forgotten about today however this album is definitely a favourite of mine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pure 80's, 9 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velveteen (Audio CD)
had this album for christmas 1989! on tape liked it then 21 years on got it on cd now i love it sent me back to my childhood days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velveteen (Re-Presents) (Audio CD)
absolutly brilliant this is the best album transvision vamp released.wendy james has a very powerful voice and she was also a very sexy singer.recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic album, 2 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velveteen (Audio CD)
Excellent album a classic in fact from one of the most under rated bands of the 80s, Wendys lush seductive tones sound amazing especially on the standout track for me Landslide of love, buy it you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transvision Vamp....oh yeah, 13 Sept. 2011
By 
A. Bragazza - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Velveteen (Audio CD)
Wendy James was every young mans' dream girl in the early/mid-eighties, even better than Debbie Harry! This album is great and has to be played loud, especially the opening 2 tracks. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TVs music is just as great as I remember it and the bonus CD is ..., 18 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velveteen (Re-Presents) (Audio CD)
I bought this for trip down memory lane and the mad crush I had on Wendy James back then. TVs music is just as great as I remember it and the bonus CD is worth the extra money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Takes me back, 15 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Velveteen (Audio CD)
I really like this album it takes me straight back to the late 80s as soon as I hear any song from it. Its always nice to feel19 or 20 again when you are in your 40s !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Velveteen
Velveteen by Transvision Vamp (Audio CD - 1991)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews