Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric - and the piping shines
Really atmospheric record that just manages to fall short of the 'New Age' pit. Telling vocal contribution from Steve Winwood gives it a kick when it seems to be turning a little sleepy and Mr Spillane's piping shines through as the most thrilling and tingling part of the arrangements and melodies. Listening to it in hot or urban places evokes the wide-open skies and...
Published on 17 Sept. 2004 by Gareth Smyth

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Place Among The Stars
To be honest, i only bought this cd because it had Starry Night on it,but i do like Davy Spillane.Dissapointed that there was more pipe playing.
Published on 29 Nov. 2012 by sid russell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Atmospheric - and the piping shines, 17 Sept. 2004
By 
Gareth Smyth "Enjilos" (County Mayo, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Place Among the Stones (Audio CD)
Really atmospheric record that just manages to fall short of the 'New Age' pit. Telling vocal contribution from Steve Winwood gives it a kick when it seems to be turning a little sleepy and Mr Spillane's piping shines through as the most thrilling and tingling part of the arrangements and melodies. Listening to it in hot or urban places evokes the wide-open skies and lands of western Ireland and the spirit they imparted to us on our way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Davy Spillane, 5 Feb. 2011
This review is from: A Place Among The Stones (Audio CD)
I first heard this on the radio while driving over the hills from Kenmare to Killarney and when I got to the latter, finding and buying it was my first priority. For the creation of sheer musical atmosphere, Davy Spillane must be the best Irish piper on the planet. He's a pretty good D whistle player too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 5 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place Among The Stones (Audio CD)
Wonderful music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Place Among The Stars, 29 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place Among The Stones (Audio CD)
To be honest, i only bought this cd because it had Starry Night on it,but i do like Davy Spillane.Dissapointed that there was more pipe playing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the dogs nuts, 8 Jan. 2014
This review is from: A Place Among The Stones (Audio CD)
this cd is very good have it on tape but had to buy it on cd when i saw amazon had it :0)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 to 4 stars, 25 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Place Among The Stones (Audio CD)
little bit too much flute and not enough haunting pipes for our taste. I listened to bits on u tube, loved the Stevie Winwood track and bought it used via Zoverstocks for very little money. so no complaints but not worth full price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Place Among The Stones
A Place Among The Stones by Davy Spillane (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews