Customer Reviews


123 Reviews
5 star:
 (85)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection, lets have a second best of!
This is about as good a selection as you are likely to see on a best of, especially considering the number of albums Springsteen has made. Choosing tracks from his colllection must have been an unenviable task. The first two albums are ignored, but at least that means the cd starts with the terrific Born to Run. Thunder Road is done better on Sprinsteen's live...
Published on 11 May 2001

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss
This album does a good job compiling almost all of Bruce Springsteen's best-known songs, and if that's what you're looking for, "Greatest Hits" is for you.
The only thing is that Bruce Springsteen's first seven albums all contained so many great album tracks that you're really going to miss out on something if this is the only Springsteen-album you ever get...
Published on 27 Jun 2003 by Docendo Discimus


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

44 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great selection, lets have a second best of!, 11 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is about as good a selection as you are likely to see on a best of, especially considering the number of albums Springsteen has made. Choosing tracks from his colllection must have been an unenviable task. The first two albums are ignored, but at least that means the cd starts with the terrific Born to Run. Thunder Road is done better on Sprinsteen's live collections, but still deserves inclusion. New fans will be drawn to Born in the USA and Dancing in the Dark, but keep listening and there are other great songs here, such as the more moody Atlantic City and film theme Streets of Philadelphia. The four new tracks are ok, and shows Bruce is not being lazy, but perhaps the space could have been used for some of the classics that didn't make the collection. Its disappointing songs like Jungleland, Racing in the Street, One Step Up and Two Hearts miss out, but perhaps they might appear on a Best of the Rest in the future, that would be great. However, you simply can't give this cd less than 5/5, its one of the few best ofs around that is listenable from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 11 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This has all the favourites on it from 'Born In The USA' to 'Dancing In The Dark' and is an album that anyone who appreciates quality music should buy. The real evidence that proves what a genius Springsteen is, is the material that did not make this album... songs like 'I'm On Fire', 'No Surrender' and 'One Step Up'. All in all though, a very worthy Greatest Hits collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No disputing it...Bruce is the boss!, 27 Aug 2003
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I got this album for christmas last year and since then it's been my most listened-to album. I'd heard a few Springsteen songs in my time before then but this collection is totally classic and just great fun.
'Born To Run' is emotional and charged and you can see why it made Bruce a star. 'Thunder Road', after several listens, became one of my utmost favourite Bruce songs. It's actually a lot better live (try the Live In New York DVD) but still great on the album. Track 3, 'Badlands' is probably my favourite. It's pure singalong rock and like most of Bruce's music, it does actually mean something. 'The River' is a slow-moving and hearty track and a nice listen.
'Hungry Heart' is one of the only two tracks I usually skip, because it is just irritating, and the singer doesn't sound like Bruce.
We then have 'Atlantic City', which is rather chilling in terms of the lyrics. 'Dancing In The Dark' is another of my favourites, energetic and just so much fun. Then comes Bruce's major hit 'Born In The USA', which is hard-hitting and powerful.
Next up is the other track I don't really like, 'My Hometown'. Granted it's not a bad song but it's rather boring.
'Glory Days' is an old-fashioned rocker that's quite fun, and after that we have 'Brilliant Disguise' which is laid back but very, very good, as is 'Human Touch' (even more laid back to begin with). 'Better Days' is uplifting and dramatic rock with a gospel choir and quite nice too.
'Streets Of Philadelphia' from the film Philadelphia is very slow but a rewarding listen. 'Secret Garden', featured in Jerry Maguire, is slow again but still a nice song.
The next track is my favourite of Bruce's harder rocking songs. 'Murder Incorporated' was actually an outtake from the Born In The USA album, one that fans loved hearing live, and so it was put on this disc. This song is nothing short of brilliant.
The last two tracks, 'Blood Brothers' and 'This Hard Land' are both very good, the former being a softish song while the latter is more outward. They both finish with a large amount of harmonica, which is welcome.
Overall the album is top quality, one of the best greatest hits compilations I've seen. I do think there are many songs that should be on there that aren't, and so it's not perfect but I think you can get a very clear picture of the Springsteen repertoire from this album and would recommend it very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit and miss, 27 Jun 2003
By 
Docendo Discimus (Vita scholae) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This album does a good job compiling almost all of Bruce Springsteen's best-known songs, and if that's what you're looking for, "Greatest Hits" is for you.
The only thing is that Bruce Springsteen's first seven albums all contained so many great album tracks that you're really going to miss out on something if this is the only Springsteen-album you ever get.
Besides, "Greatest Hits" contains not a single track from Springsteen's first two albums. That's fair enough, considering that those two didn't produce any significant hits, but the compilers at Columbia Records would have done a much better job if they had made a "best of" and chosen Springsteen's best album tracks as well, instead of merely going for the chart successes.
And don't you just hate it when they put out a compilation with a few new songs on it, just to make people buy it even though they already have all the hits?
(The only really great song among those four, by the way, is the excellent, slightly folkish rocker "This Hard Land". Bruce Springsteen meets Bob Dylan. The electric Bob Dylan, that is.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Value, 25 Feb 2005
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
For a mere £10.99 at the moment, this cd contains 16 absolutely fantastic songs. Every single one is fabulous, the only short falling is that it doesn't have many from darkness on the edge of town - it is sadly missing both "racing in the street" and "darkness on the edge of town" itself. Despite this it is hard to find fault with the compilation - perhaps they could have included a couple of tracks from before born to run - but it has all of his greatest hits on there.
Best song: Streets of Philadelphia (though with very stiff competition from the river and atlantic city)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best of The Boss, 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bruce Springsteen is undoubtedly one of the all-time greatest. It took years for him to fight his way to the top and be recognized as the master he is. But once there, he firmly wedged himself in the highest ranks of rock's finest. Once I saw him in concert in 1988, there was no looking back. "Born To Run", "Dancing In The Dark" and "Born In the USA" are outstanding rock anthems in the classic sense, while "My Hometown" and "Streets of Philadelphia" are of the tamer breed of rock, but no less stirring or effective. This album lives up to all expectations of greatness!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'AMERICAN ROCK-LEGEND', 10 Mar 2014
By 
richard bygrave (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
'Bruce(The Boss)Springsteen' 'Rock-Star' 'Song Writer' 'Musician'
Probably considered somewhere between 'Rock' and 'Country'
He first entered the U.S. top 30 way back in 1975 with 'Born to Run' which
also made the lower end of the U.K hit parade.
His highest placing in the U.K chart was number '2' with 'Streets of Philadelphia'
in 1994, must admit the song I always remember him by is 'Born in the U.S.A'
which reached number '9' in the billboard Top 100, number '5' here in the U.K.
Of course the 'Boss' still tours today pleasing his audiences wherever he performs.
This album has many of his hits and best known numbers on board including
tracks such as....'Dancing in the Dark'....'Glory Days'....'My Hometown'....'Human
Touch'....'Better Days'....and ....'Secret Garden' ....as well of course with tracks
mentioned earlier in the review.....these being among the best known numbers
on board this album, there are of course several of his U.K chart successes missing.
(which of course is why we often need more than one album to have all the hits)
Overall this of course is a splendid reflection of 'The Boss's' music'
Keep on Rockin'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not a greatest HITS album, 1 Sep 2011
By 
A. Owen "anthonymowen" (Orpington, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Bruce Springsteen has had 22 UK top 40 hits (counting double A sides) It shouldn't therefore be too difficult to compile an 18 track 'Greatest Hits' album running to a generous 1 hour and 17 minutes (as this album does). Which 4 tracks do you leave out? Santa Claus is Coming to Town perhaps. People are unlikely to want that all year round. Hits that didn't make the top 30? - Spare Parts, 57 Channels and Nothing on, Lonesome Day. These four are indeed all missing. Unfortunately so are Cover Me, I'm on Fire, The Ghost of Tom Joad, Tougher Than the Rest and War.

If you really are looking for Bruce Springsteen's 'greatest hits' on a single CD this is the nearest you will get even with 9 UK hits out of 22 missing. In their place you can listen to Atlantic City, Badlands, Blood Brothers, Murder Incorporated and Thunder Road. Good tracks all, but not hit singles.

As a retrospective of Bruce's work between 1974 and 1995 this is a good album. Tracks are in chronological order of recording - bar Murder Incorporated and This Hard Land - and offer an interesting insight into the progression of his work. If you are looking to have just one Bruce Springsteen album in your collection this is probably the best choice particularly at the 'give away' price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cool rocking daddy indeed, 8 Oct 2006
By 
John Tansey (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
There are some artists in this world who's reputation is so great and their status so legendary that, upon the mere mention of their name, you know they are someone worth listening to. Bob Dylan is one, David Bowie is certainly another and as for Bruce Springsteen, well, upon my hearing of this album just a couple of weeks ago I would not hesitate to add his name to that prestigious list.

His songs are quite simply breathtaking. The stadium fillers such as Badlands, Dancing In The Dark and any track begining with the word Born, manage to incite impromptu lighter waving and/or punching the air, without treading the cheesier, much more cliche littered road of artists like Bon Jovi or Meat Loaf (as much as I love that big fat Texan!) As the balladeer, on tracks like The River, My Hometown and the brilliant Atlantic City, Springsteen really shows himself to be an acute songwriter and tender performer; not befitting the vest and jeans image of Born In The USA (the image I had of him before I actually listened to him).

To those who have yet to hear any of what this man has to offer, buy this compilation now! It has got me addicted and already I'm eyeing up that 30th Anniversary Edition Born To Run...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thoroughbred Collection of Bruce's Finest Moments, 29 July 2014
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
This is exceedingly good value for money. Most of Mr Springsteen's best known tracks are on here. I find that you have to be in a certain mood to listen to this fellow's somewhat gnarled ponderings on life, a lot of it is energetic and spirited, but some is a little too pained and maudlin. It is a pity he hasn't put out more duets with female vocalists, I think that his guitar led music and vocals are particularly well suited to female accompaniment. I have this album on an ipod playlist combined with Tom Petty's Greatest Hits and Little Feat's Greatest Hits, and these three artists in conjunction are the perfect soundtrack to a driving holiday somewhere in the USA, or even over here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Bruce Springsteen (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews