Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only a marvellous intro to jazz... A milestone in recorded music
Like my fellow reviewer, I first heard this album in the 60s and was immediately blown away!
Time Out (Further Out's predecessor by a few years) is good, but not in the same class. Here, Brubeck explores all the weird and wonderful time signatures fro which he has become famous. The whole album shows the listener how wonderfully integrated and yet individual jazz can...
Published on 7 Jun 2009 by Peter Brown

versus
16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I bought this as a companion to the Dave Brubeck Three Classic Albums which included a remastered Time Out and I wanted to have the follow-up to this. This album however, unlike the Three Classic Albums CD, is described as an original recording. What is not made clear is that it is a mono recording(although it does not say this on the packaging or the CD itself). The...
Published 23 months ago by Lincsman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not only a marvellous intro to jazz... A milestone in recorded music, 7 Jun 2009
This review is from: Time Further Out (Audio CD)
Like my fellow reviewer, I first heard this album in the 60s and was immediately blown away!
Time Out (Further Out's predecessor by a few years) is good, but not in the same class. Here, Brubeck explores all the weird and wonderful time signatures fro which he has become famous. The whole album shows the listener how wonderfully integrated and yet individual jazz can be. All the compositions are Brubeck's own and are a delight from the sombre, reflective 'Blue Shadows in the Street'(9/8), to the exciting 'Far More Drums'(5/4) with a solo from Joe Morello that is quite breathtaking....surely one of the longest drum breaks in 5/4 in jazz history!
Everyone will know the famous 7/8 tune, 'Unsquare Dance' complete with Brubeck's(?) little chuckle at the end....relief that they all finished together, maybe!
All this and the sweet, sweet alto of Mr. Desmond and the punchy, percussive piano of Brubeck himself....divine!
Anyway, this is an album not to be missed. For the young musician who is looking for an introduction to great jazz. For the old crustie's like me who thought that this amazing album had disappeared without trace.
Not only has it returned to the catalogue, but you get bonus tracks too, not on the original vinyl. ENJOY!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Further Out (Audio CD)
I bought this as a companion to the Dave Brubeck Three Classic Albums which included a remastered Time Out and I wanted to have the follow-up to this. This album however, unlike the Three Classic Albums CD, is described as an original recording. What is not made clear is that it is a mono recording(although it does not say this on the packaging or the CD itself). The overall sound is very disappointing and seems muffled (albeit to my elderly ears). The actual content is excellent but is spoilt by the poor quality of the recording. The CD is on the Hallmark budget label but I do have other Hallmark recordings which are a great deal superior to this one. It is the quality of the recording that has caused me to downgrade the star rating as otherwise I would have given this 5 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brubeck's best, 8 Jan 2013
By 
S J Buck (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Time Further Out (Audio CD)
I've just starting playing this album again recently and had forgotten how good it was. In fact like nearly all the other reviews here I'd say its not just good, its brilliant, and probably one of my favourite Jazz albums.

All the compositions are by Dave Brubeck and they a form a blues suite, that was inspired by the Jean Miro painting on the album cover. Some of these are amongst his finest compositions, and I think its a stronger album than its predecessor. From the lovely 'Far More Blue' to the incredibly catchy 'It's a Raggy Waltz' and 'Unsquare Dance' you get a range of strong material, which vary in time signature and style. On 'Bru's Boogie Woogie' we find out that Dave Brubeck can play straight ahead 8 to the bar feel; shouldn't be a surprise really. It certainly adds some variety to the album. The playing is impeccable from all 4 musicians, as you'd expect

The two extra tracks compliment the album well, and It's a Raggy Waltz live ably demonstrates the Jazz musicians art as both Dave Brubeck and Paul Desmond play solos that are markedly different from the original version.

I also highly recommend reading the original sleeve notes and Dave Brubeck's written reminiscence 35 years later.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely stunning - jaw on the table, 14 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Time Further Out (Audio CD)
Dave Brubeck and co. are simply awesome. The musicality and intelligence demonstrated is mind-boggling at times. Particularly look out for Dave's solo improvisation on the live version of It's a Raggy's Waltz (the last track). Seriousy - how could you not be amazed by that level of musicianship??
Should be bought just for that if not the whole record.
Legendary stuff here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't believe I didn't get this album before, 1 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Further Out (Audio CD)
Everyone knows about Time Out of course, but how did I not know about this album before?
Fantastic playing, fantastic tunes, great recording quality, this is really top drawer stuff. Loving it! Any fan of Brubeck, or jazz at large, should buy this, immediately!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor sound., 27 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Further Out (Audio CD)
This cd was very cheap - and when I listened to it I realised why. There must be a good quality remastered version version out there somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Tempus Fugit further..., 15 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Further Out (Audio CD)
Keep on Jazzing those times! Uniquely recognisable as Brubeck Sound! You'll still twitch the night away with nostalgia! Believe me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars first class......, 17 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Further Out (Audio CD)
first class product from a first class trader. highly recommended.
modern jazz from my younger days at the clubs in my home town
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Further Out (Audio CD)
I'm am slowly replacing my old vinyl collection and have forgotten how good Brubeck's music is. Just sit back and let these marvelous rhythms role over you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good Music., 22 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Time Further Out (Audio CD)
Not as good as Time Out but worth getting for the Unsquare Dance. I'm not a great jazz lover but I do like most of Dave Brubeck's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Time Further Out
Time Further Out by Dave Brubeck (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews