Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gary Glitter 20 greatest hits
A great era of music. Great songs that only he could perform with such vigour. A pity about his private life , but this is about the music not 'his off stage life'
Published on 22 Jun 2012 by rennie 42

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars V POPULAR UK ACT IN EARLY 70S
MY SISTER WAS A BIG FAN OF GARY IN SAY CIRCA 72.HE DRANK OUT OF A GLASS AND SHE KEPT IT.SHE CAME HOME DRUNK AND LEFT IT IN KITCHEN.MY MOTHER WASHED IT AND MY SISTER WAS HEARTBROKEN.SHE WAS 12YRS OLD AND I KNOW WOULD OF HAD SEX WITH HIM IF SHE HAD THE CHANCE .THE DEVOTION WAS SO GREAT.MANY GIRLS HAD THIS HERO WORSHIP OF GARY AND THE SEX ABUSE CASE AGAINST HIM MUST BE PUT...
Published 29 days ago by CENTRAL LONDON MAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gary Glitter 20 greatest hits, 22 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
A great era of music. Great songs that only he could perform with such vigour. A pity about his private life , but this is about the music not 'his off stage life'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Leader: A Key Retrospective, 5 May 2011
By 
Stephen E. Andrews "Writer" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
In this review, I'm going to focus solely on the music and ignore the controversy, because the fact is that Glitter's reputation was untarnished by any questionable behaviour during the period the music on this album was recorded. However, Operation Yewtree did see Glitter arrested in late 2012 and bailed again twice (as of February 2013 according to wikipedia) so this view may be challenged - but let's not forget that in the UK, someone is innocent until proven guilty. Of course, I abhor the crimes he has been found guilty of and it is morally difficult for anyone wanting to purchase and enjoy his music from this period, as of course he will still get songwriting and mechanical royalties from any copies sold, though I have heard that he sold the rights some time ago. so aside from the distasteful and disturbing nature of Glitter's crimes, the music is still out there and to deny its commercial - and possibly artistic - success would be to rewrite history, something a lot of us are uncomfortable with. With this disclaimer on the table and out of the way, we can now get down to silver tacks.

These days, anyone wishing to revisit the original albums Glitter recorded with musical partner Mike Leander will soon be in financial trouble, as recent re-releases on CD were only issued in Japan. The Nipponese CDs are prohibitively expensive and in most cases, deleted too at the time I write. There are of course a number of compilations available, mostly with sub-par artwork and design, so selecting the right one is a bit of a minefield, but I hit Glam Pop paydirt with this selection, which to my way of thinking comes the closest to being a key retrospective of the period 72-76.

First of all, the CD insert reproduces the original sleeve design of Gary's debut waxing, entitled 'Glitter' (yes, I know he made records before taking on the GG moniker). Secondly, it includes all the hit singles from Glitter's super-smash glory days (12 top forty hits, most of these top ten, including 3 chart-toppers) and a selection of album cuts from the first two albums. If you haven't heard these tracks since they were in the charts (and if you are a certain age), you will instantly be transported back to the days when all the most interesting pop stars looked like extraterrestrials (Punk, New Romantic, Lady Gaga and her copyists are nothing compared to the original showbiz outrages from the twin barrel shotgun that was Glam Rock/Glitter Pop). Great days - when in the playground and on the streets we boys may have worn flares while the girls made do with American Tan tights, all of us in sweaters with cherry motifs and patches on our denims, but the music scene was vibrant and fun, despite the massive cheese quotient we had to wade through to get to Bowie, Alice Cooper, Roxy, Bolan, Hawkwind and so on. Glitter's hits remain somehow timeless and incredibly infectious - simple, urgent, yet somehow without the lumpen idiocy of other "artists" from the period I won't dignify by mentioning in the same breath as Glitter.

But enough nostalgia, what is the music actually like? Well, when Adam & The Ants broke through into massive commercial success after 'Dog Eat Dog' charted, I was fond of saying that Adam was the new Gary Glitter. Of course, I was right, as so many of the best-known tracks by Glitter are drum-dominated, spacious tribal thumping, where less guitar is more. In fact, listening now to 'Rock and Roll' (either part) I'm reminded of nothing so much as those meisters of minimalism, Kraftwerk. Imagine 'Rock and Roll' played on synths and drum machine when you give it a listen (The Human League gave the number this kind of makeover on one of their early albums) and you'll hear what I mean - the drums in particular sound more like a basic electronic rhythm box - no fills, expressive rolls or any of that jazzy stuff, just beat....and the guitars just fizz a bit then drop out. Perfect! Listening again to these songs after such a long hiatus has also reminded me of how much The Runaways were influenced by Glitter and Leander -remember the big spaces in the tracks on the first LP by Joan, Lita and the other girls? It's a shame that the full recording of 'Rock and Roll' has never been officially released, as I understand from a friend who has a copy on tape that it is some 10-15 minutes long.

Yes, some of the songs are very silly, but this IS mostly pop music. But 'Rock and Roll' remains a work of genius and a pure expression of rock and roll itself with its superb, evocative fifties-mythology lyrics, brooding melody and junk-shop faux-blues yelling, while 'I Didn't Know I Loved You Till I Saw You Rock 'n' Roll' is almost as good (I mean, I've even seen the Sisters of Mercy cover it live). ...and few things are as catchy as 'I'm The leader of the Gang' , 'Hello, Hello, I'm Back Again', while the lurching, scarf-waving teenbeat of 'I Love You Love' is impassioned adolescent rebellion of the most enjoyable kind (i.e. adult-excluding). Great fun, and pretty cool, for the reality is that these songs influenced everyone from Joey Ramone to...well, you'd be hard pushed to find a Punk, New Waver or New Romantic who didn't own at least one single by Glitter when they were a kid. Play these cuts at a party amongst records considered to be 'cooler' from the same era, and they'll still stand up well.

One beef: the tracklisting on the cover is incorrect. Track one is listed as 'Rock and Roll Part 2' (it's actually part 1), while track twenty is listed as 'rock and Roll Part 1', when it's actually part 2.

So, for a taste of the high watermark of Glitter Pop (as opposed to True Glam Rock, which is a very different animal - see my upcoming review of `Oh Yes We Can Love', the 2013 Glam Rock Box Set), a vision of strutting minimalism and absurd dandyism before Adam Ant, just buy this generally well-presented and immaculately selected compilation. You'll enjoy every gloriously over-the-top minute.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good listen, 30 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Was pleased to be able to get this at a reasonable price. I love the music of Gary Glitter and enjoy listening to it while doing the housework
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GARY GLITTER IS BACK WITH A BANG!!, 17 Aug 2011
By 
T. Alston (Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I GREW UP IN THE 70'S AND I LOVED WATCHIN GARY GLITTER ON TV ,I BOUGHT HIS SINGLES AS THEY CAME OUT ,JUST LIKE EVERONE DID , SO EVERY SINGLE I BOUGHT BACK THEN ARE ON THIS CD BUT WITH AMAZING CLEAR SOUND UNLIKE THE 70'S WERE MOST SINGLES HISSED , ANYWAY I LOVE THIS CD , STICK IN YOUR PLAYER AND GO BACK TO THE 70'S WHEN LIFE REALLY WAS SIMPLE ......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lost in music, 15 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Have been looking for this cd to replace my vinyl copy as this is a fun recording & the track Baby, Please Don't Go is very good and is the track that stands out for me, although the others are also good. OK we know of his mishaps but this album was out years before anything was known and it is the music that stays with you as well as other things. Not recommending this to anyone as you will make up your own mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why i bought this CD, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
It was a trip back in time to my teenage years despite what has happened to him since - Gary and the Glitter Band were rocking back then so this CD was perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 70s music, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
As a teenager in the 70s the 70s music was the best and this album is full of classic hits from the 70s
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent music, 8 Oct 2011
This review is from: Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Whatever you believe of G.G, justifiably disgraced or perhaps the majority of his 'crimes' were set up by the very respectable News of the World, you can't fault his music or the impact it had on the lives of his fans, this is a great compilation but I wonder why the powers to be never put songs in chronological order, to me it would make much more sense as it shows how the artists develop over their career, anyway, buy this and lets get back to playing Gary Glitter music again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Hits., 5 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This album has the cover of Glitters album Glitter .However this contains all his important hit singles and so as it says is a best of or greatest hits package. The important thing here for anyone interested is that they are all the original hit recordings from the 1970s .When buying best of albums of 60s or 70s artists that is something one should be extremely carefull of as there is so much re recorded rubbish on the market and it can be very difficult to tell if you are getting the original recordings untill you buy or even play it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gary Glitter - The ( flawed ) Leader, 27 Nov 2011
By 
W. E. Withill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I am so upset for this guy - yes I know he has gone to places people don't wish to speak of - I grew up in the Seventies and I thought him the Sweet , Mud , Slade , T rex - Suza Q , Showaddywaddy , etc were great send up fun . Do you remember when it was the thing to go to Glasgow and watch the New year GG show ? well I do and went a few times too ..... a great night out - what a deep shame ... coz it was very very good ,

John ( 50 ) leeds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits
Gary Glitter - 20 Greatest Hits by Gary Glitter (Audio CD - 2011)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews