Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars speaking as a child of the 90's.....
Apart from 'Ten' this is maybe their best record. (Ten isn't 'dated' - its an album of music.) No Code is like the healing process after all the rage and torment of Vitalogy (yet still has a lot in common with that record.) Like Vitalogy, it is innovative + diverse + uncompromising + above all (as ever with PJ) comes straight from the heart. Although No Code is...
Published on 30 Mar 2000

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Works best as a whole
It's amazing how much abuse people are willing to hurl at Pearl Jam's fourth album. I don't think it's that bad. In fact, I quite like it. It's not my favourite album or anything, but it's still pretty good. The mistake that most people make, I feel, is that they are - and this is true of every Pearl Jam release - expecting another Ten. And, granted, Ten was...
Published on 30 Nov 1999


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars speaking as a child of the 90's....., 30 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: No Code (Audio CD)
Apart from 'Ten' this is maybe their best record. (Ten isn't 'dated' - its an album of music.) No Code is like the healing process after all the rage and torment of Vitalogy (yet still has a lot in common with that record.) Like Vitalogy, it is innovative + diverse + uncompromising + above all (as ever with PJ) comes straight from the heart. Although No Code is their most meditative/expansive and mellow record, it also contains their 3 heaviest songs: Hail Hail, Habit, and Lukin. Still, the fact that this album alienated most of the conservative kerrang-type fans Pearl Jam somehow managed to pick up, is surely a bonus point. In summary, this album will expand your mind + soul (and is a whole lot less pretentious than this review.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected, underrated - a high quality musical experiment, 2 Oct 2003
This review is from: No Code (Audio CD)
Pearl Jam's second foray into alternative styles is an even more successful experiment than the punk-ish Vitalogy. Proving the band is versatile enough to try its hand at just about any type of rock, No Code refuses to adhere to the grunge foundations Pearl Jam helped to lay. Collaborating with Neil Young on Mirrorball clearly extended their musical confidence and, as evident in the delicate guitar harmonies and wistful ramblings of 'off he goes', added a touch of country and western to their musical repertoire. There's also a bit of The Who in the superb 'in my tree', and healthy dose of The Ramones in 'Mankind', during which Vedder's vocals rather refreshingly take a back seat to rhythm guitarist Stone Gossard‘s - again exuding the impression of a band at the height of their confidence. The sublime Dylan-esque finale, ‘around the bend’ (a nod towards Creedence Cleerwater Revival perhaps, who recorded another track titled ‘Green river’?) finishes the album on the same high point it sustains throughout the hour. Whatever your opinions regarding the direction Pearl Jam took with their music post-Vs, this is worth the asking price for the last two minutes of ’habit’ alone, which contains some of the most assured bass playing Jeff Ament has ever recorded. It is fairly obvious that the hybrid-rock niche the band continued to carve itself was detrimental to their mainstream success, but No Code will always be my favourite ‘mistake‘. Anyway, if seven equally fantastic and diverse studio albums come hand in hand with chart anonymity, here’s to the second half of Pearl Jam’s career. Smile!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Jam's most complete and balanced album by far, 17 Mar 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: No Code (Audio CD)
'Ten' was epic but seems a bit dated and old school grunge nowadays, 'Vs' was too energetic for it's own good (although fantastic) and then 'Vitalogy' came along suggesting a new direction for the band with its dark and intriguing, messy 'experimental grunge' using bizarre chords and guitar sounds - but it worked beautifully. 'No Code' is the perfect blend of the heartfelt, simple acoustic sounds of 'Vs' and the intriguing complexity of 'Vitalogy'. Stand out songs include 'Sometimes', 'Hail Hail', 'Off He Goes', 'Present Tense' and 'Around The Bend'. I really don't understand why this album was so poorly received, even by fans of the band, I think 'No Code' is their most accomplished album yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 23 Mar 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: No Code (Audio CD)
I was a bit weary about buying this album as it didn't sell a lot of copies compared to the bands other albums and all the reviews i'd read of it weren't very good. However once i'd got it home and listened to it i was amazed! This is one of thier best albums and very under rated. It is quite mellow and shows a very artistic and creative band. Although in saying that there are also some very heavy songs on it such as Lukin and Habit. Stone also sings lead vocals on one song- Mankind. Although his voice isn't as powerful as Eddies, he is a good singer and Mankind is very catchy and upbeat. The lyrics on most of the songs are very meaningful and intruging and leaves it up to you to find your own meaning to the song. This album proves that Pearl Jam are a band who will experiment and risk putting out an album even if they think it may lose some of their existing fans, rather than making a half-hearted album that they know will be a commercial sucess. If you are a music lover then buy this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Start of the 2nd Pearl Jam!, 19 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: No Code (Audio CD)
For me Pearl Jam moved on leaps and bounds on this record. Gone were the punky, angst-ridden songs of the previous three records. Now it seemed Vedder had discovered pot and was writing more philosophically! This is ofcourse vital so the band can mature and grow. "Off He Goes" is a work of genius, a poignant lyric and fantastic accoustic backing make it the stand out track. "Hail,Hail" is a great rocker, "Smile" is an atmospheric bluesy thing with a great chrous. I'm not sure Stone Gossard should of had the chance to singon "Mankind"! He's a great guitarist but how can you compete with Eddie Vedder at vocals? Stick to the guitar Stone! I don't understand people who slate this album. I think it's much better than Vitalogy. No Code paved the way for Yield and Binaural.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars somethng different again, 11 April 2006
By 
K. Allen (Edgbaston, Birmingham United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Code (Audio CD)
I love this album. Up until I heard it I mainly listened to Ten and RVM although I had also heard Vs, Vitalogy and Binaural. As soon as I heard No Code it became a firm favourite as I feel once again Pearl Jam experimented with many different musical styles and influences. Ed Vedder's exceptional voice is showcased on such beautiful tracks as Off He Goes and the almost calypso style lullaby Around the Bend which has become one of my favourite ever Pearl Jam tracks. But there is also plenty there for lovers of the louder pacier songs where Ed has a good scream! Not every song works perfectly, but none the less, any Pearl Jam fan would find this a valuable addition to their collection - and if you don't know their music, its well worth a listen too as it encapsulates so much of what they are about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pearl Jam's underated best, 2 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: No Code (Audio CD)
Many people criticise this album but on repeated listenings it is excellent. When I first bought this album I wasn't very sure. The first song 'Sometimes' is different and it takes a few listens to appreciate. That said, its a great mellow song. The second song 'hail hail' is a more typical PJ rock song. It is a live favourite and is one of many highlights on no code. 'Who you are' is another non-typical PJ song but is great. The percussion is particularly good and it is even better in the next song 'in my tree'. 'Smile' is probably the most accessible song. There is a harmonica in there. It is reminiscent of Neil Young. 'Off he goes' is arguably PJ's finest acoustic balad to date. It is a lovely song. 'Habit' is probably the heaviest song. Not the best on the album but it is still very good. 'Red Mosquito' is another brilliant song. Mike's guitar kinda sounds like a mosquito. 'Lukin' is another heavy song. It is really good but bizarely only lasts for just over a minute. 'Present Tense' is the best song on the album. The instrumental bit is pure genius. 'Mankind' features lead vocals from Stone Gossard! Its a cheery song that reminds me of Foo Fighters. 'I'm Open' is more experimental with a spoken intro.-I find this quite powerful-another highlight! 'Around the Bend' is a great acoustic ballad. So there you go. This is a great album. If you have Ten and have been put off this album by bad reviews, i am telling you this is great. Buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars dont it make me smile..., 25 Oct 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: No Code (Audio CD)
Pearl Jam are my fav band.The music they make can cater for diffrent moods.Some more quiet and relaxed.Others loud and jumpy.Its a great mix.The album 'No Code' may not be Pearl Jams best, but it is still a great album.Like the underated Vitalogy.Some songs on it are just pure brilliance.Others I sometimes skip when im not in the mood.But buy it!The good songs are alot more plentyful than the not so good ones.Although Yield,ten,binaural and vs out shine it it is still a very good album.Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Listen to it - no really listen to it !, 12 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: No Code (Audio CD)
Pearl Jam's first two albums were very easy to get into. No Code really is an excellent album but you have to listen to it a few times, maybe forget about it for a while and then try again. It worked for me. This album is probably the most diverse sounding of Pearl Jam's, with the peculiar-but-brilliant 'Sometimes' through to the blasting 'Lukin'. There's more great guitar on Red Mosquito and the drums on 'Who You Are' and 'In My Tree' are fantastic. The more I listen to this, the better it gets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent listening, 13 Mar 2011
By 
S. Finch "FIN" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Code (Audio CD)
Bought this with some worry, as not everyone was not that keen.All this was ill founded as it hides some real gems.smile , in my tree and red mosquito stand out. Taking a different direction to proceeding work, where people were expecting more of the same. This turned out to be one of my favourites now. So if you are unsure take a punt you will not be disapointed. I wasnt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Code
No Code by Pearl Jam (Audio CD - 2000)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews