Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historic Americana
While the world was raving about the Beatles, their American counterpart were the Byrds. According to rock mythology, folk rock history set its very first step when Dave Crosby (later of CSN&Y), Gene Clark and Jim (later Roger) McGuinn were bitten by the bug called Bob Dylan. But Byrds were more. They were also: Roger's 12-string Rickenbacker and a propulsive 3-voice,...
Published on 29 July 2003 by chris-spriet

versus
24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but should have been better
When I bought this compilation, I was impressed, but it didn't really inspire me to want any of their studio albums. As it turned out, the studio albums are that cheap that I bought them anyway, and I now rank the Byrds as one of my favourite bands.
But the point is, a best of is supposed to be an introduction to a band. So surely their best material would be...
Published on 11 Jan 2004 by P. Egerton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but should have been better, 11 Jan 2004
By 
P. Egerton "pierre1401" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Byrds (Audio CD)
When I bought this compilation, I was impressed, but it didn't really inspire me to want any of their studio albums. As it turned out, the studio albums are that cheap that I bought them anyway, and I now rank the Byrds as one of my favourite bands.
But the point is, a best of is supposed to be an introduction to a band. So surely their best material would be included to entice people to want more. Yes, there's Mr. Tambourine Man, Turn! Turn! Turn!, 8 Miles High, and Renaissance Fair to name but a few. But so many brilliant songs have been left off that I wonder how many other people have chosen not to buy anymore Byrds albums because of it.
I can't beleive that the songs, Whats Happening?!?!, I See You, Why, Have You Seen Her Face, Everybody's Been Burned, Thoughts And Words, Artificial Energy, Natural Harmony, Change Is Now, and Tribal Gathering have not been included. All these songs showcase The Byrd's versatility and brilliance, and if just half of them were included, it would have made the compilation twice as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Historic Americana, 29 July 2003
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Byrds (Audio CD)
While the world was raving about the Beatles, their American counterpart were the Byrds. According to rock mythology, folk rock history set its very first step when Dave Crosby (later of CSN&Y), Gene Clark and Jim (later Roger) McGuinn were bitten by the bug called Bob Dylan. But Byrds were more. They were also: Roger's 12-string Rickenbacker and a propulsive 3-voice, 3-guitar aural assault. Hear for yourself on Mr Tambourine Man, Chimes of Freedom and My Back Pages.
More, the Byrds were not just a mere Dylan cover band. In an era dominated by British musical violence and innovation, the Byrds soared as high as any band could aspire to. Such later Byrds albums as Notorious Byrd Bros. and Sweetheart of the Rodeo set the scene for such bands as Flying Burrito Brothers.
Long after they were gone, such groups as Eagles , R.E.M. and Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers have, while growing into their own repertoire, made overwhelmingly clear how much in debt they are to McGuinn's Byrds.
By the way: we should advise for the true Byrds ornithologist not to buy this, but the splendid 44-track double album The ESSENTIAL BYRDS with gems galore. This deserves the above 5-star rating at least twice.
A hint for the Amazon guys?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fantastic collection of 60s summer songs, 5 April 2001
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Byrds (Audio CD)
I bought this cd for one track, "Turn Turn Turn," yet the majority of the songs here are absolutely fantastic.
The first Song, "Mr. Tamborine Man" must be one of the all time classics. As soon as I played it, I felt as if summer was already here. This cd is best described as a "feel-good" cd. Every song consists of a great tune and meaningful lyrics...which you will be humming all day long.
At 7.99, this cd is a must...it's worth the asking price just for Track numbers 1 and 5, two of my favourite 60s songs.
Buy this cd, chuck it in your car radio, and cruise down the "highway" with the windows wound down...you'll feel absolutely great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Can't Go Wrong With This CD..., 28 Oct 2010
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Byrds (Audio CD)
The Byrds have always been one of my favourite bands. And they really shine on this cd...not a bad song to be found.

Byrd fans "flock" together and buy this cd, you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent compilation taster, 25 Oct 2010
By 
Jl Adcock "John Adcock" (Ashtead UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Byrds (Audio CD)
With such a varied musical career it was never going to be easy presenting a "best of" The Byrds that would please everyone. But this CD comes close I think - and there's enough good music here to really present a snapshot of a band that was huge in its time, and went through several significant changes in terms of line up and output.

From the twangy sixties covers of Dylan material, through the more experimental pop-rock, pop-folk and then country material that wraps up the album, there is a representative sample of the lovely work that The Byrds rolled out during the various stages in their career. It's evocative, beautiful stuff for the most part: short, memorable songs that tell stories that stick in the mind, and a slice of musical history.

If nothing else, the compilation's work is done if it returns you to the original albums from which these tracks are culled. With a significant catalogue to explore, and with lots of the Byrd's albums mentioned in glowing terms in most rock retrospectives and "albums you must listen to" style books; this group is important and worthy of closer attention. This CD isn't attempting to cover everything in depth, but for under a fiver it represents great value and an ideal taster for anyone who has yet to discover the wonders of the music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Byrds '1', 22 Dec 2002
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Byrds (Audio CD)
It begins with a classic (Mr Tamborine Man) and ends with a classic (Chestnut Mare) such is the quality of this compilation. In fact virtually every song is decent, meaning there are many classics here. This is The Byrds 1 and yet although they had far fewer number ones, this is the better compilation. They were also as influential as The Beatles in the early years. And at such a low price for a best of, non-fans might just surprise themselves with how much they enjoy this. Sure it's folk/country flavoured, which might put a few people off but it shouldn't because this contains some of the best songs your ever likely to hear. Breathtaking Americana!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent introduction... but for not much more there's so much more..., 3 July 2007
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Byrds (Audio CD)
As an encapsulation of "the best of The Byrds" this is a pretty unbeatable CD... just about every track from what must be one of the most under-rated groups from the whole of the 60s features folk-rock, psychedelic-rock and country-rock at it's highest levels and, if all you know about them is a couple of their hit records, there's no better place to discover what's made them a key reference point for a huge number of groups over the past 40 years.

And then? Well the good news is that, for not a great deal more, there's so much more on offer. Ignore the boxed sets and zero in on their five key, recently expanded, mid 60s albums - "Mr Tambourine Man", "Turn, Turn, Turn", Fifth Dimension", "Younger Than Yesterday" & "The Notorious Byrd Brothers" - all of which feature superb tracks that fail to make the cut here but which would justify top billing on most of their contemporaries' "Best of" compilations, and all of which are now available for £5 or less. Music doesn't come much better and, for the price, they're absolute bargains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good, 1 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As stated, described and dispatched promptly . Am very happy with this item and service which I received. Excellent and thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice collection of classics, 29 Dec 2013
By 
Jan Patrik SahlstrÝm (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Byrds (Audio CD)
This is a nice collection of golden oldies by the Byrds. Brilliant songs, but some of their best are missing. Decent introduction to the band, leaving out some gems to be discovered by those bothering to buy the all the albums. Not a dumb move.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Very Best Of The Byrds (Audio CD)
Whilst the well known tracks are excellent, I found a number of the lesser known tracks very ordinary although well performed. I found myself not really listening as though it was just 'background music' - pleasant but not outstanding !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa587f390)

This product

The Very Best Of The Byrds
The Very Best Of The Byrds by The Byrds (Audio CD - 1997)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews