Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rock Gods at Work !, 26 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Live at Wembley 1986 (Audio CD)
Live At Wembley is a showcase of Queen's eighties stadium rock at their height. Freddie Mercury is going great guns , vocals and sting at his critics in this uncensored record.
Unlike LIVE KILLERS which was bleeped at the introduction of Death On Two Legs Freedie's man in the street railings against his critics and rumour mongers went uncut in this recording.
This was recorded during the 1986 Magic tour and so the show kicked off with One Vision. Expect rocking recitals of Tie Your Mother Down, We Will Rock You, unplugged before it became an MTV trademark in Love Of My Life, sing-a-long in In The Lap Of The Gods and the audience taking over on cue in I Want To Break Free.
Who Wants To Live Forever , a new entry into the charts at that time is introduced. Freddie sings the over the top parts in a slightly lower key for a live setting. I noticed that his 'hah' at Hammer To Fall did not come off too well or as explosive on stage in a live setting compared to the original version in The Works. Space and acoustic limitations made it necessary for him to keep to 'yeah yeah' towards the end of Hammer To Fall.
Queen does some nice covers of Ricky Nelson's Hello Mary Lou(Goodbye Heart), Shirley Basseys' Hey Big Spender and Elvis' You're So Square(Baby I don't care). Spencer Davis Group's Gimme Some Loving is mainly improvised vocal gymnastics and impromptu grunts. Freddie doesn't keep to the original lyrics here but the signature thumping beat is adhered to closely.
Brian May does great guitar chops and bits of Brighton Rock in his solo spot. The Brighton Rock Solo is NOT the Brighton Rock version in Sheer Heart Attack, but delightful just the same!
LIVE MAGIC is only a sampler compared to this record!
It's interesting when you compare LIVE KILLERS, also a double record release of 1979 with this one and see how much the band had matured and note the rich baritone and full bodied resonance of Freddie's voice over a space of 7 years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Album Ever!, 19 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Live at Wembley 1986 (Audio CD)
Queen have churned out a few excellent live albums in their time but I didn't expect this box set to be so special. No matter what kind of music you like (and I'm not counting R&B or classical here) you'll find something you'll listen to again and again in this compilation. From the first juicy riff of the immaculate ONE VISION, used as asort of flamboyant intro and quite possibly the best live adaptation of a song ever to have been recorded, to the final few chords of GOD SAVE THE QUEEN, the concert is a trip through the very heart of rock n' roll and captures the spirit of Queen. The best songs by a street are ONE VISION, as mentioned above which leads into TIE YOUR MOTHER DOWN, a sort of mood-setter which gets the stadium rocking with that catchy quitar rhythm and superb vocals by Freddie, A KIND OF MAGIC featuring solos for all four members of the band in an all-out six minute wonder of a song, WHO WANTS TO LIVE FOREVER, a heartfelt ballad that somehow made it on tio the stage (where it sounds a whole lot better than on record let me tell you), BOHEMIAN RHAPSODY that needs no introduction as Queen's best-known song ever, HAMMER TO FALL where Brian excels himself in several stunning solos and where Roger Taylor cements his status as one of the world's greatest drummers, CRAZY LITTLE THING CALLED LOVE, a catchy little ditty that develops into a pedal-to-the-metal hard rock chant halfway through, RADIO GA-GA involving the ritualistic hand-clapping of all 72000 spectators, and of course WE ARE THE CHAMPIONS. Add to that the sublime rendition of ANOTHER ONE BITES THE DUST, the bone-crunching guitar solos on WE WILL ROCK YOU, the superb and all-too-short SEVEN SEAS OF RHYE, the live staple NOW I'M HERE, a few golden oldies (TUTTI FRUTTI et al), a crackling atmosphere and some hilarious and eerily prophetic comments from Freddie and you have what is surely the best live performance ever caught on tape. This is an absolute must-have for anyone remotely interested in Queen or even just rock music on the whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the best of the best at their best, 26 Feb 2002
By 
Ian Mays "ianmays" (Newport Pagnell) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at Wembley 1986 (Audio CD)
This double cd brings the best of queen's apperance at wembley stadium in 1986.
you can quite easily sit down, turn up your hi-fi and spend an afternoon lost in this concert,The sound is excellant and the performance is by one of the greatest live acts ever and you can hear why, get the video and you can see why.
If you like queen this should already be in your collection as it is far superior to the previous live killers from the 1970s,If you like the bands big songs like bohemian rhapsody, we are the champions, a kind of magic etc each are performed brilliantly but this concert does includes some of the groups older and less known songs but most are great and contrast well against the newer(!) songs.
However the only two minor let downs are that the concert is spread over two discs and the end of disk one contains over 13 minutes of soloes (but you can skip these) but do not ignore 'now i'm here' a pre-bohemian rhapsody classic.
But all in all this is a classic concert from a classic act and you WILL listen to it time and again i have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Queen's last great stand., 14 Oct 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Live at Wembley 1986 (Audio CD)
How on earth could Queen beat their legendary Live Aid display? Well, with this, actually. Same venue, almost exactly a year later. Wembley was the perfect venue for Queen: a massive British stadium for a massive British band. A Queen concert wasn't just a concert, it was also a pantomime of the highest quality and Freddie Mercury remains the greatest frontman of any band in history. The atmosphere they generated was amazing and this was Queen's last major concert. I believe they performed live at a smaller venue shortly afterwards and that was their last ever live concert. Mercury appeared to physically deteriorate very quickly after that (just look at the Barcelona video from '87). Buy this CD and you will realise that you have just purchased what must be the greatest live album of all time. Special moment? Freddie repeating his Live Aid call and respond interaction with the crowd, showcasing the man's vocal range to the full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BEST ALBUM EVER!, 31 Oct 2002
By 
Nuno Bento "innuendopt" (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Live at Wembley 1986 (Audio CD)
Yes! It's just as simple as it is! The Best Album Of All Time and, of course, the best live album of the music history! This 2-CD masterpiece has got everything for 2 hours of pure pleasure which is, in fact, what we're all looking for! It combines the perfect voice performance of the inflatable One-Man-Show Freddie at the peak of his form, with the very best of the Queen catalogue of that time! What more can I say? An absolute MUST HAVE!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just sheer class, 31 July 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Live at Wembley 1986 (Audio CD)
Listen to A Kind Of Magic, Hammer to Fall, One Vision, Who Wants to Live Forever and Under Pressure from the Greatest Hits II CD, Another One Bites the dust from Greatest Hits I, then listen to them on the Wembley CD. You'll never listen to them on the recorded albums again!
The best album I've ever bought.
It's simple. BUY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC!!, 7 Mar 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Live at Wembley 1986 (Audio CD)
This album has got to be the best album in my collection!
I wasnt even born when it was recorded, but i havent stopped playing it since!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply The Best Event of the century, 12 Nov 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Live at Wembley (Audio CD)
Wooooooooooow!!! What can i say about this one? After a 'quiet' period in the 80's Queen came back to make everyone bite the dust! by selling out a jam packed Wembley stadium breaking all previous records. 150.000 people witnessed this Queen extraviganza and weren't to be disappointed. 28 live tunes, including what i would class as the best rendision of Bohemian Rhapsody ever heard. If you like Rock, if you like Queen, even if you just like music! Buy this album believe me you wont be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Live at Wembley 1986 (Audio CD)
Queen at Wembley '86 is brilliant
All Queen's music is remarkable and live concerts are brilliant and are greatly loved so enjoy the music
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Entertaining Live Album from One of Rock's Most Iconic Bands, 5 May 2014
By 
This review is from: Live at Wembley 1986 (Audio CD)
For those that are fans of Queen, who can probably recite most of their classic songs word for word, they may want to consider, when they got most of their recorded albums, to start investing in some of their live albums. Their ‘Live at Wembley '86’ is a great place to start, especially at how celebrated this particular live performance has gone down throughout the years by fans of their work.

Disc One is the most superior disc out of the album with stunning renditions of Queen's most popular songs (One Vision, Tie Your Mother Down, A Kind of Magic) amongst some of the lesser known material that just sounds great live (In The Lap Of The Gods, Brighton Rock Solo). It delivers a great case into why Queen were so entertaining live back in their heyday.

Disc Two, whilst following from Disc One’s excellence, does lose steam, especially when the covers of Tutti Frutti and Gimme Some Lovin' come on. Whilst this might alienate a few fans that were not aware of their live repertoire, it still sounds entertaining to say the least. Also, whilst their classic line-up sounds great on paper (Bohemian Rhapsody, Hammer to Fall, Radio Ga Ga), it remains the weaker disc out of the two for loosing some of that audible magic that made Disc One a joy to listen.

As live albums go, this remains an entertaining live album from of rock's most iconic bands, and remains an enjoyable artefact one of the band's most celebrate live concerts from the 1980s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Live at Wembley 1986
Live at Wembley 1986 by Queen (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews