Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic lukather and gang fest, 8 Jan. 2007
This review is from: Kingdom of Desire (Audio CD)
brilliant album where the late great jeff porcaro left us.what a brilliant drummer.toto kick serious butt on opening track gypsy train.possibly totos heaviest song ever!!!.guitar god steve lukather takes on main vocal duties,some great up tempo rockers and classic ballads.instrumental last song jake to the bone is incredible.add this great album to your toto collection now!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Toto return with a new sound, 23 July 2006
By 
John Mackie (Hook, Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom of Desire (Audio CD)
After the disappointing track listing and poor additional tracks on their compilation 'Past to Present' in 1990 with Jean-Michel Byron enjoying a short-lived stay in the band on lead vocals in place of Joseph Williams, his departure meant that Steve Lukather took up the role of main lead singer and the band wrote most of the tracks collectively. The result was a generally very different sounding Toto to the one of the 70s and 80s with a much heavier feel. Highlights here are 'How many times' and the title track, the latter a stunning slow building rock track complemented brilliantly by Lukather's vocals. 'Wings of Time' is a slower tempo track along the same lines, with room for some more ballads amongst the heavy rock too ('The Other Side', 'Only You') and another instrumental (the catchy 'Jake to the Bone'). The only criticism I would have of this album is that it is a bit too similar throughout and if you are not a big fan particularly of Steve Lukather and the heavier Toto sound, it is probably not the album for you. However, there are several good tracks and like other reviewers, I feel it's a shame that it wasn't recorded before the Past to Present compilation was released, otherwise the band could well have gone on to have more success in the 90s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Toto....A New Kingdom, 18 Nov. 2007
By 
D. Strefford (Wallasey, Wirral, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kingdom of Desire (Audio CD)
Well i have to admit when i first purchased this CD on original release and on playing it for the first time.. i thought "What the heck happened here" or words to that effect! this can't be the same Toto of whom i'd loved since the days of "Hold the line"...i was in shock, thought to myself "do i need to get my hearing checked out here"...then...my 2nd then my 3rd play WOW this album sure does rock, from the opening "Gypsy train" to the closing "Jake to the bone" it got me...these guys had moved with the times, yes i agree with the last review it's very much the same sound thorough out with the exception of a couple of ballads...love "the other side" but hey, these guys will and have stood the test of time! any die hard Toto fan will agree..mention the name Toto to anyone and the shallow minded will come back with "Oh yeah aren't they the ones who did "Africa & Rosanna" Like i said they've moved on and in right direction too...buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 4 April 2012
By 
Jan Patrik Sahlstrøm (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a good but not exceptional album. Fans of Toto will enjoy it, and should get it if possible. For those not familiar with this band, this may be an ok album to start out with, it is fairly typical of their work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom of Desire, 30 Aug. 2014
By 
The Wanderer (Far below the soil) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Desire (Audio CD)
Great album, for me this is the last good Toto album before it got too wishy washy and unfocussed. Also great to hear Lukather take all the vocals instead of handing them over to another young buck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kingdom of Desire, 20 July 2011
This review is from: Kingdom of Desire (Audio CD)
Toto at their very best, cracking tracks especially Gypsy Train & the Title track CD arrived in excellent condition & within the timeframe set
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good album, 5 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Desire (Audio CD)
There is some really good music on this album, and Lukather's guitar playing is top notch. If you like Toto, definitely worth having.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bello!, 12 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Desire (Audio CD)
Great Album! Lot of groove and great sound. Very powerfull.
The instrumental song "Jake to the Bone" is simply amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom of Desire (Audio CD)
well pleased with this purchase
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kingdom Of Desire (MP3 Download)
Absolutely fantastic! A MUST for any Toto fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kingdom of Desire
Kingdom of Desire by Toto (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews