Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin In The Big Apple
The most explosive live performer ever, hits New York for his first and only concerts in the Big Apple in 1972.
This dynamaic performance is one of his very very best, exhillerating from start to finnish and brimming full of high spots.
When Elvis hits the stage with a ripping "That's Alright", the King has really arrived; and for a solid hour, never lets...
Published on 26 May 2002

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Live on Stage in Memphis
An album for those who collect live recordings of Elvis or hte Elvis completist. Not the best of Presley live by any standard comomg between the great dates of hte late sixties and early seventies and the disasterous latter period when his decline turns into a fall. This album stands at tht cusp when although not yeta a a caracature of his ealy self. For completists only
Published 4 months ago by scunnytiger


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rockin In The Big Apple, 26 May 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis Live at Madison Square Garden (Audio CD)
The most explosive live performer ever, hits New York for his first and only concerts in the Big Apple in 1972.
This dynamaic performance is one of his very very best, exhillerating from start to finnish and brimming full of high spots.
When Elvis hits the stage with a ripping "That's Alright", the King has really arrived; and for a solid hour, never lets up.
Highlight..."Polk Salad Annie"; this is a constant highlight; every CD this song appears on, no matter whether its from 1970, 72 or 77 this is a standout.
"I Can't Stop Loving You" is also excellent; with Elvis really digging deep, and delivering, big-time.
If you like Elvis, but have never heard him live; then this is as good a start as any, compliment this with the afternoon show from the same day, "An Afternoon In The Garden."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 8/10, 22 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Live at Madison Square Garden (Audio CD)
Elvis goes through his live routine once again but with such a great voice and editing of this album you can't say it's rubbish. Because there are so many 'Live' albums I give this 8/10 as most of it you will have heard before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Live, 3 Dec 2010
This Album Reflects What Elvis Was About Live Good Stuff If You Like Elvis
I Am A Musician And Have Just Started Playing In An Elvis Tribute Band And Most Of The Artist Do The Madison Square Songs Because They Are Dynamic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis gives a stellar performance in New York, 29 July 2012
This review is from: Elvis Live at Madison Square Garden (Audio CD)
This album, and possibly the 'On Stage' album are my favourite records of Elvis live. The're both records of him at his peak as a performer and are genuinely electric. While the sound quality could be better you feel the audience's excitement from the first strains of the 'Also Sprach Zarathustra' intro. Every time I hear it I wish I could have been in the audience back there in 1972. In my view this album is far superior to the more heralded 1973 'Aloha', maybe because it has more a feel of a rock show with a brilliant, blistering cover of 'Never Been to Spain': why didn't he do more songs like that? Yes, there's also a cover of 'The Impossible Dream' but it's with passion an commitment with Elvis brilliantly hitting the high notes. It might of even been a nod to the fact that he was in the hometown of the Broadway musical.

While the Madison Square Garden concerts weren't filmed for the documentary 'Elvis on Tour' most of the songs from this album were performed in the featured concerts and are from the same period. Hence, this is effectively the soundtrack for the film.

Maybe because Elvis was particularly nervous about performing in New York, feeling that they didn't necessarily get him and needing Tom Jones to remind him that he was ELVIS PRESLEY, he seems to have less banter than usual with the audience and rattles through the songs pretty quickly. It has been alleged, and subsequently denied, that Colonel Parker ordered that the mix for thi album be speeded up so that he could fit all of the songs on one vinyl disc on its original release. I'll be generous an go along with an Elvis nervous performing in front of what he felt might be a tougher audience but whatever the reason this is a stellar performance, not only for any die-hard Elvis fan but for anyone who wants to find out what all the fuss was about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my favourite albums, 14 Nov 2003
By 
Little Jimmy "newpapillon" (Devil's Island, Western Norway) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Elvis Live at Madison Square Garden (Audio CD)
Before the summer 2001 I never listened to Elvis. However, a mutual friend introduced us, and since that time I have been enjoying this live album immensely. I believe that I listened to this album for almost three months ALL THE TIME. Until my family decided that they needed a break.
What's so great about it? It's hard to say. I think that earlier Elvis is much too polished and serious. In the 70s he obviously loosened up a bit, thus creating both hilarity and some real good swinging performances.
Introducing Elvis to my work mates in a small hotel resulted in that the CD almost got worn out to the pleasure of some and annoyance for others.
Regarding this album in particular, it is let down by poor sound quality, however the performances are great. My favourite songs appears on the later stages of the concert.
I'm looking around for even more late Elvis, it's fun and unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Live on Stage in Memphis, 19 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An album for those who collect live recordings of Elvis or hte Elvis completist. Not the best of Presley live by any standard comomg between the great dates of hte late sixties and early seventies and the disasterous latter period when his decline turns into a fall. This album stands at tht cusp when although not yeta a a caracature of his ealy self. For completists only
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hut, hut, two three four!!, 15 Nov 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Elvis Live at Madison Square Garden (Audio CD)
This is a fantastic Elvis performance out of many bad ones. It has a spectacular Elvis-easque intro, which is quite a good surprise, but also 20-something tracks of manic E. There's a good Polk salad annie and a splendid Suspicious minds. Definitely a good pick nostalgic wander or me up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the Best, 23 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis Live at Madison Square Garden (Audio CD)
I bought this for a friend as a gift.
He was a little disappointed, saying it was recorded as well as some of the earlier live shows of the King!
Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BEST LIVE PERFORMER EVER, 8 Feb 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Madison Square Garden (Audio CD)
ELVIS WAS THE BEST LIVE PERFORMER EVER, AND THE RECORD BREAKING FOUR SELL-OUT SHOWS ON THE GARDEN DREW 80,000 FANS AND BROKE ALL BOX OFFICE AND ATTENDANCE RECORDS.
AMONG THE 80,000 IN ATTENDANCE WAS DAVID BOWIE, PAUL SIMON, BOB DYLAN, GEORGE HARRISON AND JOHN LENNON.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis Live at Madison Square Garden
Elvis Live at Madison Square Garden by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 1992)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews