Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars20
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£4.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 January 2001
This album is probably coming up for some airplay on radio 2 but it still has the melodies and superlative songwriting that many bands should still aspire to. This is a sound of a group on the crest of a wave that sadly petered out. Almost every song's a winner although 'little miss' and 'two princes' will be classicly memorable for many. My favourite thing about this album is that you can feel the Spin Doctors loving every chord and note they strike and that sort of rubs off on you after a while. Yep, you should buy it.
0Comment13 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2000
The spin doctors were really the first band I ever got into. Unfortunately their career has slowly wilted away, and try as it may the music tends to follow as band member after band member are ousted, replaced etc. That said, this album sees the Spin Doctors at their peak. You may not see past the radio hits like Two Princes and Little Miss Cant Be Wrong, but deep in the heart of the album there is a New York-Blues-Rock-with a little bit of funk that would've seen the band on to make many a fine album were it not for musical diffrences. This is the band at their best, and Kryptonite is a must for anyone learning the guitar.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 16 May 2015
New York based alternative rockers Spin Doctors didn't have the longest careers as a chart artists. Before I bought this debut album, the only song I knew of theirs was, predictably, the very-catchy, radio friendly megahit 'Two Princes', but here, as is often the case, the most famous track isn't necessarily the best one.

'Pocket Full of Kryptonite', their debut album from 1991, is a thoroughly enjoyable rock album from beginning to end. There's more catchy pop-like greatness with songs such as 'Little Miss Can't Be Wrong' (another considerable hit), and the more bluesy, funky, upbeat 'Jimmy Olsen's Blues' opens the album off to a very good start. Mellower moments come via 'How Could You Want Him (When You Know You Could Have Me)' and 'Forty or Fifty', which are great to just kick back and relax to.

Like I said, the most famous song of an album isn't necessarily the highlight, and I'm glad I took a chance with this one to discover some more good music.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 1999
When 'Two Princes' was at its height in the early nineties, everyone assumed that Spin Doctors were a cheesy american pop band...WRONG. This fine LP (best tracks 'Forty or fifty', 'How could you want him when you know you could have me?' and (cd only) 'Sweet widow') survives repeated listenings much better than their more recent material, and shows of their considerable and seemingly undiscovered musical prowess.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2015
Their debut: a mix of funk, fusion, rock and songrwriting. Versatile, funny, brilliant. Probably their best album. A good fusion of pop and almost jazzy flavors, with some unexpected dissonant sound
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2009
This album is excellent, the first 7 tracks in particular are brilliant. Smooth melodic vox, Sweet bluesy guitar licks all over, punchy slap bass on "Little miss can't be wrong" in particular is great. Drumming thoughout is awesome: Refrigerator Car....sounds very Bonham'esque to me!! Love it, Excellent. A Classic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2016
At the time I bought it because it was the "latest thing" when it came out, the ex-wife took my copy, this was its replacement, I have to say, its a good album, I really didn't think I would be saying that, but after much scrutiny it stands up on its own, its of its time but an easy listen
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2004
How cool were the spin doctors? Easily the most underated band of the 90's. They had the tunes, the had the looks and they had the rhythm. Countless nights were spent pogoing around my bedroom to 'Two Princes'.
Today's acts just don't come close to the Spin Doctors. Buy this album and your collection will be complete. 11 out of 10!!!
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2007
The Spin Doctors were one of the better rock bands of the nineties and Pocket Full Of Kryptonite an excellent debut album. Great value.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2016
Great album at a great price, still sounds good today (2016).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.83

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.