Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Search For Spock is Over!
After years of waiting, this awesome James Horner score finally gets the justice it deserves. Just as with the previous expanded release of Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, this is another excellent production by Retrograde Records/Screen Archives Entertainment/FSM.

Disc 1: Every cue from the film is represented here (except, I maybe right in saying the post...
Published on 9 July 2010 by R. Bettney

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but no Wrath Of Kahn
Not the best Star Trek film or score, James Horner nailed it in the Wrath Of Kahn with a brilliant theme for the villain and a great piece of emotional scoring for the films climax but he just doesn't manage to replicate it here.

To many high pitched notes for me and I'm really not sure about the need to include the 10min + old school standards at the end, kind...
Published 11 days ago by FloydFan1973


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Search For Spock is Over!, 9 July 2010
By 
R. Bettney "trek_guy" (W.Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
After years of waiting, this awesome James Horner score finally gets the justice it deserves. Just as with the previous expanded release of Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan, this is another excellent production by Retrograde Records/Screen Archives Entertainment/FSM.

Disc 1: Every cue from the film is represented here (except, I maybe right in saying the post mind-meld/beam down to genesis cue - which is largely the same as the end of "The Klingon's Plan") in the correct order with fabulous linear notes - we now finally have the actual track mixes that were used in the film (i.e. "Klingons" and "Stealing the Enterprise") as well as long sought after cues such as "A Fighting Chance to Live" (the beautiful music to which the Enterprise meets her final end). The disc even includes an extended montage of instrumental versions of "That Old Black Magic"/"Tangerine"/"I remember You" - produced for use in the bar scene where McCoy tries to book passage to Genesis - outstanding.

Disc 2: For those like myself, you will already be very familiar with the original Capitol Records release of the score....and here it is in all it's original glory (this is the US release with a bonus track 9 electro/pop version of the Search for Spock "theme" previously released by GNP on CD in 1990, not the 8 track Silva Screen UK release)

More thoughtful, emotional and even spiritual than Star Trek II's bombastic, powerful score this has to be my favourite James Horner score - it matched the mood of the film perfectly and still evokes subtle emotions in me to this day every time I listen to it. If you are a fan of this film, or James Horner's scores then I highly recommend you pick this up - you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Of all the souls I have encountered in my travels, his was the most ... human., 11 Nov 2010
And then to imagine that the director of Star Trek III originally wanted his friend Leonard Rosenman to write the music for that movie! Well, he got his chance later, but I for one am happy James Horner was again hired to create some new music magic for Star Trek. About the music for Star Trek III: The Search for Spock James Horner can be quoted as saying: "It's just a much more interesting score and, for me, a much more beautiful and emotional score than Star Trek II." Although Mr. Horner may be right about beauty and emotion, I find it hard to believe that this music is more interesting. But now that a full extended version of the soundtrack for Star Trek III: The Search for Spock has arrived, we are better able to judge if Mr. Horner is right, but we should certainly take this music at it's own merits. Technically speaking, this remastered expanded edition is a gem on all accounts. The sound picture truly opens up and blossoms, all the beautiful instrumental color and detail drawing the listener in further than before and making for an exhilarating listening experience from beginning to end.

Concerning the merits of this music for me personally, James Horner's music for Star Trek has always been a favorite, in that it defines, for me, what Star Trek is mainly about (the wonders of space and the camaraderie of the main characters). Where I adore the mystery, eeriness and graceful beauty of Jerry Goldsmith's music of Star Trek: The Motion Picture, I really love the deep emotionality and warmth of James Horner's music for Star Trek. Again, his music is all about the wonder and the human element in Star Trek (especially the relationship between Kirk, Spock and McCoy).

The music for Star Trek III is generally more atmospheric and brooding, and necessarily touches on other things than the music for Star Trek II, like melancholy (for the loss of Spock) and (Vulcan) mysticism. Some of the best music in Star Trek II is very action-driven and at the same time focused on definite melodies or themes for the Enterprise, Kirk, Spock and Khan - the music is telling the same tale as we see on the screen in `pictures of sound'. Those themes were created new for that movie, and compared to the music for Star Trek II, Star Trek III has not much new to offer thematically. This is of course logical, because this movie is very much a continuation of Star Trek II, but the music expands on existing themes and adds whole new dimensions of atmosphere and emotion. I think that the music for Star Trek III not so much focuses on `telling the story' as on creating an atmosphere, a widest possible emotional canvas upon which the story unfolds.

James Horner's music is what probably started off my love for Star Trek. In its genre, James Horner's Star Trek III must be one of the most fantastically and emotionally inspiring of all (on par with it's 'companion piece' Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan). It has a nobilic but heartfelt kind of romantic and mystic quality to it (mirroring the intense Spock-Kirk relationship and the dramatic fate of the Enterprise NCC 1701) that I find very endearing. The soaring and melancholic string melodies - in 'Main Title', 'Returning to Vulcan' and the 'End Titles' really grip my attention, appealing to a simple kind but deeply seated need for pure and simple wonder, however uninspired the ideas behind the music sometimes may be: the presto cascade of sixteenth notes on the violins at the start of 'Stealing the Enterprise' is an almost direct quotation from 'The Fight' (Act I, scene 6) from Prokofiev's music for 'Romeo & Juliet'. (It can also be noted here that the music for the moment when the crew watches the burning wreck of Enterprise fall through the atmosphere of the Genesis planet is a direct quotation from Romeo and Juliet as well, namely from 'Juliet's Death'.)

The now obsolete GNP-Crescendo album is missing out on many important (little and some not so little) dramatic and action moments. With this expanded edition you get a sense of the story unfolding in the music from beginning to end (no jumping over or rearranging of cues for musical dramatic effect, or whatever, as in the original issue), giving a nice feeling of dramatic continuity. The additional music on disc 1 consists of eight tracks, namely the following:
track 3 (Spock's Cabin)
track 4 (The Klingon's Plan)
track 7 (Grissom Destroyed)
track 8 (Sunset on Genesis)
track 9 (Spock endures Pon Farr)
track 11 (A Fighting Chance to Live)
track 12 (Genesis Destroyed)
and track 16, sort of a bonus, the music played in the scene where McCoy goes into a bar to charter a space flight ...

I am personally happy to be able to hear, for the first time on album, the music for Grissom (last bit of track 4 - the Courage fanfare) and Enterprise (at the end of track 9 - Kirk's theme in a stealthy minor key) entering orbit around Genesis Planet. Now all the musical moments finally fall into place when listening to the album. Some of the music on this expanded edition in my view really is spine-tingling, vintage James Horner, like `Genesis Destroyed'.

Some musical tracks that we hear on the old soundtrack album (disc 2) were versions edited especially for that album. On disc 1 we can finally hear them in their original orchestration, truthful to what we hear in the movie. Track 2 (Klingons) is a notable difference: now, the first 1:10 are the brooding music we hear when the merchant ship is searching space for Kruge's bird of prey. A second difference is the beginning of track 6 (Stealing the Enterprise), where we now only hear the second violin-accompaniment, without the racing first violins we hear on the old soundtrack album. On track 13 (Returning to Vulcan) we now also have the ethnically styled music we hear when our heroes climb the steps of Mount Seleya and onto the outdoor temple complex where the high priestess is waiting for them.

Like with the expanded soundtrack album for Star Trek II, we get an excellent 20 page booklet written by Jeff Bond and Lukas Kendall providing a concise back-story on the genesis (pun intended) of Star Trek III, with some interesting quotes from James Horner, and a track by track exegesis of the music.

For any fan of Star Trek and James Horner, this is surely not to be missed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 Sep 2010
By 
W. Hoeben - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Super soundtrack. I hope that they release all the Star Trek Picture Soundtracks in expanded editions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second copy of this soundtrack I own - and well worth it, 24 Aug 2010
By 
Aaron (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The expanded score is the second time I've owned this soundtrack and it is well worth purchasing the expanded edition. It contains a lot of the missed favourites from the score, mainly filling in the action sequences in the middle and end of the film. The sound quality and presentation - including a booklet - are excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Okay but no Wrath Of Kahn, 10 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best Star Trek film or score, James Horner nailed it in the Wrath Of Kahn with a brilliant theme for the villain and a great piece of emotional scoring for the films climax but he just doesn't manage to replicate it here.

To many high pitched notes for me and I'm really not sure about the need to include the 10min + old school standards at the end, kind ruins the atmosphere the score has trying to build!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spock, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek 3 Search for Spock (Audio CD)
What is there to say, as a Star Trek fan it is a classic James Horner soundtrack that compliments and serves to enhance the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Horner Classic, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This expanded score has the original release soundtrack, with an additional disc of music as used in the film itself.

A great score from Horner as usual, only let down by the fact that his scores at this period had much of the same elements (you will recognise parts from Star Trek II of course, but also Cocoon, Battle Beyond The Stars, and Aliens).

Still, a classic score.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome soundtrack, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
absolutely fantastic music here from James Horner or really you could say an extension to the Star Trek II TWOK movie sountrack.

all in all its a great value purchase as you get both the extended music score which is the complete music from the movie and then to top it off you get the original released version which tends to go for stupid money :-)

i definately recommend this as to me this is true Star Trek music at its best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Holy Hell what a score!!!!!!!!, 2 Feb 2013
By 
D. Rushforth "Darklord" (west yorkshire uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
FANTASTIC !!!!!!!!

So shocked at just how much of this score i hadn't heard before....... even the trracks that appeared on the original are like brandnew.
The digital cleanup is so powerful it's bordering on a religous experience when you hear it in such clarity.

The same can be said for TREK2.

If you are a fan of the Trek scores or just a james Horner fan and you don't have this yet......BUY IT!!!!!!
Trust me i say you won't believe your ears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars star trek heaven, 27 Jan 2012
By 
PAUL COOK (GOSPORT, HAMPSHIRE United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Star Trek III: The Search for Spock (Expanded) [Soundtrack]

well worth the wait for this import-programmed cd player with all previously unrealeased material that didn't make it to the original 80's album-then played in full--well impressed - listening to all new tracks is great as most are better than some already there-obviously "A FIGHTING CHANCE TO LIVE"is to me the one track that now makes the album and if this had still been vinyl would be crackling like mad - do yourselves a favour and buy this- 10 out of 10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews