Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Cliff with more excellent songs
Some great tracks from Jimmy Cliff on this Reggae greats album.
From the sad track Vietnam about a soldier who dies there to the beautiful ballad of Many Rivers to Cross make this an excellent JC taster album. I was fortunate enough to see him play at the Hammersmth Odeon back in '79 and that was a great experience that has kep me a JC fan for ever.
Published on 1 Jan 2006 by Jenni Atkinson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cd jumps
Cd jumps on one track, but it is a used cd. So took the chance, all other tracks fine. Wouldnt put me off buying again
Published on 28 May 2012 by Belle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy Cliff with more excellent songs, 1 Jan 2006
This review is from: Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
Some great tracks from Jimmy Cliff on this Reggae greats album.
From the sad track Vietnam about a soldier who dies there to the beautiful ballad of Many Rivers to Cross make this an excellent JC taster album. I was fortunate enough to see him play at the Hammersmth Odeon back in '79 and that was a great experience that has kep me a JC fan for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A soulful selection, 3 July 2007
By 
Andy K (Leicester United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
A great collection of Jimmy Cliff's finest, he really puts his soul into his reggae songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Jimmy cliff, 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reggae Greats (MP3 Download)
Great compilation all t he favourites on here I think the harder they come will be my next buy. Superb voice especially comes out with many rivers to cross
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Cd jumps, 28 May 2012
This review is from: Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
Cd jumps on one track, but it is a used cd. So took the chance, all other tracks fine. Wouldnt put me off buying again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 8 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimmy Cliff: Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
This is an almost perfect Jimmy Cliff collection, compiled from the albums immediately surrounding the classic "The Harder They Come". If you're a fan of that soundtrack (or that song) you'll probably love this collection.

If you're a casual listener wishing to learn a bit more about Jimmy Cliff, you can NOT go wrong with this CD.

The really great thing about this compilation is that it flows almost like a proper album. There's a solid consistancy of produced sound and musical quality across the disc, a consequence of the tracks being selected from a very specific fertile period for Mr.Cliff. No other Jimmy Cliff compilation I've seen has the benefit of that same focus.

And for those who are concerned about such things, this 1990 issue (Mango 846577-2 RRCD 22) is a great mastering too. It sounds like a flat transfer with no noise reduction or digital tampering.

I'd like to give this album 6 stars. But as the front cover is FUGLY I'm forced to reduce it to a 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Cd. Arrived quickly, 22 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reggae Greats (Audio CD)
Brilliant Cd . Arrived quickly ......very pleased .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jimmy Cliff: Reggae Greats
Jimmy Cliff: Reggae Greats by Jimmy Cliff (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews