Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A `Must' for Anyone with a Penchant for Eighties Pop
This CD was released in 1993 and provides sixty-six minutes of music, recorded between 1980 and 1991. Of the sixteen tracks, five are by Ultravox; seven are by Midge Ure; and the remaining four feature Ure in various combinations or as a significant contributor - with Japan's Mick Karn, with Thin Lizzy's Phil Lynott, with Visage, and with Band Aid.

Bringing...
Published 11 months ago by Nicholas Casley

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits? Well, sort of...
Let's get a couple of things straight right away. You won't find Midge Ure much in evidence on a number of these tracks. He was a member of, but not lead vocalist with, Visage, so it'll be Steve Strange you hear on Fade to Grey. Likewise you'll be listening to Phil Lynott on Yellow Pearl (it's the old Top of the Pops theme) and you'll hear everyone but Midge on Do They...
Published on 27 Feb 2001


Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits? Well, sort of..., 27 Feb 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: If I Was - The Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
Let's get a couple of things straight right away. You won't find Midge Ure much in evidence on a number of these tracks. He was a member of, but not lead vocalist with, Visage, so it'll be Steve Strange you hear on Fade to Grey. Likewise you'll be listening to Phil Lynott on Yellow Pearl (it's the old Top of the Pops theme) and you'll hear everyone but Midge on Do They Know It's Christmas (and is there anything more annoying than getting Xmas songs on compilation cds? Well yes, of course there is, but anyway...) Not all of these tunes actually qualify as big hits, either. After A Fashion with Japan's Mick Karn squeaked into the top 40, which, considering it's the album's weak link is all the more unfortunate when the far superior, gospelly, Dear God didn't manage top 40. There is a good deal to enjoy, though. If I Was is still a damn fine pop song, and the reworking of No Regrets which gave Midge his first solo hit, is a moody, synthesized triumph. Lesser known tracks Answers to Nothing and That Certain Smile also make for a good listen. But its the Ultravox tunes that really lift this compilation, which begs the question why you shouldn't just buy The Collection and get a whole album of generally superior Ultravox material, and go and buy Midge's studio albums instead because the best tracks aren't just the singles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A `Must' for Anyone with a Penchant for Eighties Pop, 14 May 2013
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: If I Was - The Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
This CD was released in 1993 and provides sixty-six minutes of music, recorded between 1980 and 1991. Of the sixteen tracks, five are by Ultravox; seven are by Midge Ure; and the remaining four feature Ure in various combinations or as a significant contributor - with Japan's Mick Karn, with Thin Lizzy's Phil Lynott, with Visage, and with Band Aid.

Bringing together diverse recordings, this collection highlights Midge Ure's talents as a vocalist, an instrumentalist, a song-writer, and producer. There are no duff tracks here; indeed, two (`Vienna' and Midge's rendition of `No Regrets') are worthy of five-stars. Whilst the collection does not feature, in my opinion, the best of Ultravox tracks, the only other gripe I have is that, once again, Chrysalis Records have botched the segue into `Vienna'. (`Vienna' should never be preceded by a song whose ending fades out.)

All in all, then, a really great set of songs, and a `must' for anyone with a penchant for eighties pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars amazing!, 9 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If I Was - The Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
i bought this album for a few songs but i must say every song on this album is execellent, have you ever heared a song play on the radio or on a juke box or in a pub etc and like a song but dont know who sings it... well that happened with this album i had heared every song but didn't know it was by midge ure
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars If I Was - The Very Best Of Midge Ure and Ultravox, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If I Was - The Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
Only really three big hits on it. Quite a lot of Ultravox's top thirty hits missing a Visage hit of Fade To Grey on it but very disappointing choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A nice album, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If I Was - The Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
Bought this as I like this artist and was happy as it brings lots of happy memories , it arrived in good time considering came from overseas and price was good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 26 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: If I Was - The Very Best of Midge Ure & Ultravox (Audio CD)
I had this album many years ago when it originally came out on cassette, I always wanted to replace it with cd and its still as good as I remember
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xac9996d8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews