Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An undiscovered treasure
I first heard of this album when I heard the songs Basement Kiss and London's Brilliant. After that I spent literally years trying to track down a copy until eventually my wife unearthed and presented me with a copy. Believe me, it was worth the wait. Written over a long weekend by Elvis Costello and his then partner, and performed with gusto by a down on her luck Wendy...
Published on 28 May 2004 by M. SIRL

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Aint Trans Move Elivis C
Personaly i felt this to be a let down, from TransVision Vamp.. maybe why there was no more SOLO outings
and why it took 10 years for her to come back with the new band what also crashed and burned
Published 23 months ago by Mr. Duane Hunt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An undiscovered treasure, 28 May 2004
By 
M. SIRL "Man With Ears" (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now ain't the time for your tears (1993) (Audio CD)
I first heard of this album when I heard the songs Basement Kiss and London's Brilliant. After that I spent literally years trying to track down a copy until eventually my wife unearthed and presented me with a copy. Believe me, it was worth the wait. Written over a long weekend by Elvis Costello and his then partner, and performed with gusto by a down on her luck Wendy James, this is a mine of great tunes, clever lyrics and cool production. A great lost treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wendy James - Sheer Brialliance, 18 May 2014
By 
mikeyc67 (Cheltenham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Saw Transvision Vamp live at the Brixton Academy in 89/90, Pure class, this album is not far removed from the stunning repertoire from back then. MUST buy for anyone who loved this little vixen back then & I can't wait for the new album released to be released very soon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Now ain't the time for your tears (1993) by Wendy James, 15 Dec 2013
By 
N. Leventis (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now ain't the time for your tears (1993) (Audio CD)
This album was a change in direction by Wendy, written mainly by Elvis Costello, for Wendy to sing. It is interesting as it has a similar style to Costello`s works from around that time except it is bot not sung by him. I would like to hear him sing the songs on this album, just to compare! Well produced, and a fun listen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dry your eyes dear; this is a nice little record, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Now ain't the time for your tears (1993) (Audio CD)
Being a big TVV fan, I was always been a little reluctant to explore Ms James solo offerings (mainly because Nick Sayer wrote the majority of their songs). But reading that Elvis Costello wrote the entire album (his punk-new wave style is not a million miles from what the Vamps were releasing themselves) I decided to give the record a chance.
I could not have been more surprised at the quality of this record, "Now Ain't the time.." is full with well-crafted, imaginative & original songs.
There is a great mix of styles, from punk to funk to Scott Walker type ballads & a bit of Beatle, which was quite a surprise as Costello wrote the entire album over one weekend.
Wendy's vocals are really strong, with a more mature sound in her voice, & she was still young enough to carry off that cocky sneering attitude.
I think one of the reasons the album wasn't a success was Wendy James was such an out-spoken individual (epically a woman who criticises the music industry), the music press were rubbing their hands, waiting to shot her down.
So if you're a big Transvision Vamp fan, you will absolutely love this record.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wendy James' genre shifting opus., 26 Sep 2007
By 
M. J. Parsons (Bristol, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Now ain't the time for your tears (1993) (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1993, I'm sure everyone knows the story of Wendy writing to Elvis Costello asking him to write for her. So I won't bore you with the story of how he sat down in a park and wrote all these songs over the course of a weekend with his then wife, Cait O'Riordan. I also won't go on to say that these songs are among the best songs that Mr. MacManus wrote but did not officially record himself. You probably don't need me to tell you either, that many of these songs are available as B Sides and extra tracks on some of Costello's later releases. It's probably pointless for me to say that most of these versions (there are also a couple of live takes around) were taken from the demo tape that Elvis made with just him and Pete Thomas of the Attractions, which was then sent on to Wendy James for her approval. And surely, you already know that Wendy then went on to record the whole album, with Pete Thomas contributing drums. However, you might not know that there is a lyric booklet included with the lyrics in German, French, Spanish and Italian, as well as in English.
It's hard to say why this album wasn't a bigger success for Wendy James. Perhaps people were not prepared for the radical shift in genre which she had to make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Now Ain't the Time for Your Tears - Wendy James, 1 Aug 2006
By 
Mark Elmer "Markie Mark" (North Harrow, Middx, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wanted to put a review in for this CD as I know that when Wendy James released it, the reviews were less than kind! Also Elvis C pretty much wiped his hands of the material that he had written......All the songs in fact were written by him!!

Now i'm not saying this is the best CD ever but I really liked it & most of the songs left an impression on me!! In fact I purchased all the CD's by Transvision Vamp & Racine who James currently fronts for. So thats it the CD is worth a listen in my humble view
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Anyone Could Have Expected!, 13 July 2010
This review is from: Now ain't the time for your tears (1993) (Audio CD)
Wendy James clearly had ideas about how her career should have gone but was thwarted by the way that her band Transvision Vamp was dealt with by the music industry. This made her neither cool and serious enough nor popstar enough so it all went a bit wrong.

Much was made of the Elvis Costello and Cait O`Riordan penned songs and the fact that Wendy James was NOT Elvis Costello as as singer. Costelo got a bit embarassed about the songs and distanced himself from this album, but he was very wrong to do so. I say this as someone who really loved Elvis Costello and had absolutely no reason to want to listen to Wendy James at the time.

Q magazine featured Basement Kiss on a give away CD on the release of Now Ain't the Time.. and I did have a sneaking likeing for the song but no real desire to sully my CD collection with the CD.

Times change though and I now have different listening habits wiith the advent of iPods, iTunes and the like. I actually got this album in a charity shop and thought i'd give it a listen. To my surprise it is rather wonderful. I think the bit mistake that many have made in listening to this is by approaching it with their Elvis Costello ears on and not thinking of it as a female pop singer album. On those terms it works really very well. Many people also said at the time, and since, that James does not understand that the lyrics, in several places, are a bit of a dig at her. I just don't buy that and am sure that she was well aware of what Puppet Girl, Basement Kiss etc were about.

Anyone buying this, knowing who the singer is, and is disappointed must be a bit on the unrealistic side. This is a very good pop album. Wendy James is streets ahead of the current crop of pop princesses. If you think you would like this you will
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A missing link in the Costello story, 19 May 2011
By 
coca-ebola (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Now ain't the time for your tears (1993) (Audio CD)
It is, in a sense, more his album than Wendy James's. Besides EC's writing (or co-writing) all the songs, ex-Attractions contribute to the music.

So if you ever wanted to hear a shorter, more instantly-appealing "Brutal Youth" type album - with a sub-Cerys-Matthews singer...this is it!

Made a little more appealing by the way that some songs seem to take the mick out of Wendy ("Puppet Girl") or Transvision Vamp ("The Nameless One", can you guess what happens there?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite brilliant., 16 Sep 2011
This review is from: Now ain't the time for your tears (1993) (Audio CD)
Where was everyone's head when this was released? In spite of its legendarily rapid composition the songwriting throughout is superb. Elvis gives James an articulate, wry, spiteful and unique voice that should have made her some kind of post-punk star and stuck one over on the music industry (the unequivocal villains of the piece who 'build your reputation to fade away the very day you learn to cut your strings'). Instead it scuppered her career. Sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Aint Trans Move Elivis C, 30 Sep 2012
By 
This review is from: Now ain't the time for your tears (1993) (Audio CD)
Personaly i felt this to be a let down, from TransVision Vamp.. maybe why there was no more SOLO outings
and why it took 10 years for her to come back with the new band what also crashed and burned
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews