Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some sparkles, some rumbles, 26 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Amazing Things (Audio CD)
A mixed bag, this album. Donnie Munro's penultimate with the band, and probably the one that got the most mainstream notice, spawning a couple of singles (neither of which got anywhere in the UK, at least) and several of their more catchy tunes in their live performances. The big sounds and lush production of "The Big Wheel" are evident here, though not yet grown to such outrageous proportions as in "Mara". The two singles, "Wonderful" and "The Greatest Flame", are deceptively simple melodies underpinned by sparkling instrumentation, and are guaranteed to raise goose-bumps. "Move a Mountain" is an epic, modern protest song in the tradition of "Protect and Survive", whilst "Ard" ("High") is the most thunderous Gaelic rock-out you can imagine.
Like "The Cutter and the Clan", this is an album with a social conscience, and like "Cutter", although the stories are inherently Scottish, they take a global perspective on the Scot's place in a struggling ecosystem - in one breath sounding a note of caution ("Move a Mountain" and the title track), in the next breath rejoicing ("Song of the Earth").
There are great songs on this album. Some of Runrig's greatest, in fact. Unfortunately there are a lot of average songs in between the great ones, and this is the only real weakness of the album. No *bad* tracks as such, just ones that it's easy to forget. Still, a worthy successor to "The Big Wheel", and one that did much to raise the profile of Runrig in the UK. And I defy anyone to listen to "The Greatest Flame" and not get the melody stuck in your head!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing indeed!, 3 July 2001
By 
A keen reader "A reader" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Amazing Things (Audio CD)
This is a wonderful album, with lots of excellent songs. I own six Runrig albums, and this is one of my favourites. The power of the writing and the singing is an axample ot many other bands. Great music!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but not the best Runrig album, 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Things (Audio CD)
This is a good Runrig album but not as strong as Searchlight both in quality and in the pace of the songs. Highlight is the wonderful "the greatest flame" (a slow ballad), similar to "Every River" in Searchlight album and nice also is the slow "Dream fields" but also some more movimented songs leave a good trace in my ears, such as "Move a mountain" and "song of the earth"
The title track and other few songs are weaker in my opinion and not worth a prolungated listening.
Somewhat also Donnie Munro voice doesn't sound as much strong or convinced as in other occasions.
Better than a 3, not a full 4 though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Special and worthy, 27 April 2001
This review is from: Amazing Things (Audio CD)
This CD is slightly unusual for Runriq, songs like 'Wonderful' are perhaps moving of at a tangent to their normal fair of 'Pog aon oidche earraich '(which is amazing) and 'Forever eyes of blue '(also really good). Although this album has lost some of its direction, I think that most of the songs make up for it. Fans of the celtic songs will be especially pleased with the inclusion of 4 of them. All in all, a very good buy and a worthy addition to your Runriq collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good gig, 14 Mar 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (galashiels scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Things (Audio CD)
enjoyed their music bought it for a friend of mine who was delighted with it and found it good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Slghtly dissapointed, 1 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Things (Audio CD)
CD came very quickly and is in perfect condition, so no moans there. The only complaint is description said used but still sealed, well it may have been sealed at one point but it was not sealed when I received it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great, 4 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Things (Audio CD)
great band, great songs. more people should be forced to listen to it. its a shame they've stopped making new stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Runrig - Amazing Things, 26 Aug 2012
By 
Mr. W. Chamberlain "Bill C" (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Amazing Things (Audio CD)
I bought this CD as a result of reading the positive feedback left by other customers on Amazon. I am very pleased with the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly Runrig's best album ever?, 17 May 2010
This review is from: Amazing Things (Audio CD)
We wore out the tape of this album a couple of times. The cd has brought back all the memories we had of the days when we had a working tape. There's not a duff track on here, truly an 'Amazing Thing'!Amazing Things
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 14 Sep 2014
This review is from: Amazing Things (Audio CD)
Just as good as all the rest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Amazing Things
Amazing Things by Runrig (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews