Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their most original work since Magical Ring
For originality and enjoyment this ranks as one of the finest albums to come out of Ireland. It is up there with the 'must have' albums Magical Ring, Pastpresent and Clannad2.
With Banba, Clannad reenter their darker side; leaving behind the jazz influence that is so predominate on thier previous album Anam.
Each song is laced with beauty and style, making it...
Published on 25 May 2000

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Banba Clannad
I was disappointed with the newer remastered version, to me the sound is not as I expected, Still prefer the original 1996 version,sounds great as I remember them.
Published 13 months ago by Mr Brian Watson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Their most original work since Magical Ring, 25 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Banba (Audio CD)
For originality and enjoyment this ranks as one of the finest albums to come out of Ireland. It is up there with the 'must have' albums Magical Ring, Pastpresent and Clannad2.
With Banba, Clannad reenter their darker side; leaving behind the jazz influence that is so predominate on thier previous album Anam.
Each song is laced with beauty and style, making it a whole album to cherish forever. If you only listen to one track make it 'a gentle place'. The whole album is worth it for that one instrumental alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic strands, 22 Dec 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Banba (Audio CD)
'We are a fusion of various styles of music, growing out of a traditional Gaelic root.'
- Máire Brennan
For anyone who likes Enya, this group is important, showing both a prehistory of the solo Enya, as well as a side-development in the area of modern electronic celtic-inspired music. Máire Brennan is now the lead vocalist for Clannad, but she has also produced her own solo work.
Clannad is a family effort, having been begun by Máire and her brothers Ciarán and Paul, plus their uncles. Indeed, the similarity between the words 'clan' and 'clannad' cannot be missed. Enya is another sister, having joined the group briefly before embarking upon a solo career.
Banba achieved great popularity for the band Clannad because of the song I will find you -- this song was used in the film 'Last of the Mohicans'. It is a haunting, lyrical ballad of love and longing, of desire and commitment, doing the strains of music and love with a bittersweet that only the Celtic people seem to know how to do properly.
'Hope is your survival
A captive path I lead
No matter where you go
I will find you
If it takes a long long time
No matter where you go
I will find you
If it takes a thousand years'
Incorporating Mohican and Cherokee chants into the lyric structure, this song is truly a cross cultural experience. It reaches deep into the emotive part of the soul.
Other songs on the album are variously in English and Gaelic, including the beautiful and interesting Na Laethe Bhí and Banba Óir, both of which have interesting cadences and can inspire feeling despite being in a foreign language. (My family lineage having Scottish roots, I am no stranger to Gaelic, but even so these are unfamiliar, perhaps made the more beautiful as I can ascribe my own meaning to them).
Banba was released in 1993, twenty years after the group got its start. The previous year, Anam had been released with a track entitled 'Harry's Game', which again was from a motion picture, 'Patriot Games'. The music on both of these CDs are consistently Clannad, which is to say, beautiful, melodious, celtic-inspired gems.
The other CD of theirs in my collection, Fuiam, dates back to 1982. At this time, Enya had not yet struck out on her own, and she and her husband Nicky Ryan were still an integral part of the group. The music shows some immaturity compared with the later work of both Enya and Clannad, but the seeds of the future greatness are here. Fuiam, which means 'sound', features Enya on keyboards and vocals for two songs.
These CDs, as indeed much of the output of this group, is a real treasure for those who enjoy various kinds of music. Prepare to be inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Banba by Clannad., 2 May 2009
If you love haunting,spiritual music and want to totally relax then any Clannad album will do this for you..Banba does have some upper beats tunes and they can do this well and still retain their mark..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure serenity, 3 Nov 2003
By 
Anthony K. Hill (South Wales, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Banba (Audio CD)
Clannad have always been at their best creating atmospheres and moods,and this is Clannad at their best! Beautifully crafted songs, fusing the best of jazz and celtic folk influences to produce a truely unique sound.
It's Friday night, you're back from work and you're wrecked and just want to settle down and relax. Put this cd on and feel your stresses and strains all melt away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Celtic strands..., 28 April 2006
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
'We are a fusion of various styles of music, growing out of a traditional Gaelic root.'

- Maire Brennan

For anyone who likes Enya, this group is important, showing both a prehistory of the solo Enya, as well as a side-development in the area of modern electronic celtic-inspired music. Maire Brennan is now the lead vocalist for Clannad, but she has also produced her own solo work.

Clannad is a family effort, having been begun by Maire and her brothers Ciaran and Paul, plus their uncles. Indeed, the similarity between the words 'clan' and 'clannad' cannot be missed. Enya is another sister, having joined the group briefly before embarking upon a solo career.

Banba achieved great popularity for the band Clannad because of the song I will find you -- this song was used in the film 'Last of the Mohicans'. It is a haunting, lyrical ballad of love and longing, of desire and commitment, doing the strains of music and love with a bittersweet that only the Celtic people seem to know how to do properly.

'Hope is your survival

A captive path I lead

No matter where you go

I will find you

If it takes a long long time

No matter where you go

I will find you

If it takes a thousand years'

Incorporating Mohican and Cherokee chants into the lyric structure, this song is truly a cross cultural experience. It reaches deep into the emotive part of the soul.

Other songs on the album are variously in English and Gaelic, including the beautiful and interesting Na Laethe Bh� and Banba �ir, both of which have interesting cadences and can inspire feeling despite being in a foreign language. (My family lineage having Scottish roots, I am no stranger to Gaelic, but even so these are unfamiliar, perhaps made the more beautiful as I can ascribe my own meaning to them).

Banba was released in 1993, twenty years after the group got its start. The previous year, Anam had been released with a track entitled 'Harry's Game', which again was from a motion picture, 'Patriot Games'. The music on both of these CDs are consistently Clannad, which is to say, beautiful, melodious, celtic-inspired gems.

The other CD of theirs in my collection, Fuiam, dates back to 1982. At this time, Enya had not yet struck out on her own, and she and her husband Nicky Ryan were still an integral part of the group. The music shows some immaturity compared with the later work of both Enya and Clannad, but the seeds of the future greatness are here. Fuiam, which means 'sound', features Enya on keyboards and vocals for two songs.

These CDs, as indeed much of the output of this group, is a real treasure for those who enjoy various kinds of music. Prepare to be inspired.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 11 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banba (Audio CD)
Lush and relaxing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Banba Clannad, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banba (MP3 Download)
I was disappointed with the newer remastered version, to me the sound is not as I expected, Still prefer the original 1996 version,sounds great as I remember them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where their sound matured, 1 Jun 2013
This review is from: Banba (Audio CD)
Banba is for me one of the essential Clannad albums. Twenty years after the band was formed, this album is a sort of point in which the sound matured and brought all of their previous styles into a more coherent sound. This is not to say, that previous albums didn't provide a glimpse at what might come next! However I find some of their previous outings a bit inconsistent in sound, or still more or less in search of the right sound and mood.

After the jazz and blues influenced folk years (circa 1973 - 1982), the rock-inflected albums of the 80's and the kind of transitory album Anam of 1990, 1993's Banba sounds as if they've finally reached their own style. Synthesized soundscapes provide a backdrop against which their beautiful voices (particularly that of Maire Brennan!), harmonies and melodies weave a misty web of mesmerizing music.

The opening Na Laethe Bhi is a dark, murky song with powerful voices in the chorus and Maire's airy lead vocals. It's probably not the best track to start off the album (given the track's elegiac atmosphere), but it still pretty well tells you, where the rest of the CD may take you. Banba Oir, a praise of Ireland, is more in the style of contemporary new-age music, however the song gently evades the shallowness of many similar new-age-muzak productions.

The pop-inflected There For You is one of the perfect pop-songs the band has created so far. It's a stunning track with great lyrics, driving melody and it's a shame the song didn't make it into a single... Instead, the promote the album, the band chose Mystery Game, which probably is a better sum-up of the album - a melodic new age piece with harmony vocals in the chorus, slowly building up layers of sound.

The album's best known song is probably the theme from Last of the Mohicans, I Will Find You, which is a classic in itself, and the album's real gem. The Gaelic folk song Caide Sin do'n Te Sin is yet another unforgettable track. The Other Side is similar to There For You - a perfect bonfire song - as I like to call it. Driving melody, angelic vocal harmonies and great soundscapes - it's all there. The album closes with a delicate dreamy Sunset Dreams and a melodic instrumental A Gentle Place provides an accomplished natural bookend to the whole album.

While the album has some "weaker" tracks, like Struggle or Soul Searcher, they are still not bad, only a tad weaker than the rest. Luckily, the whole work is simply perfect. While Clannad refined the Banba sound on later albums, still, this 1993 outing is probably the first which had such a coherent and accomplished style. I can draw a similarity with Macalla, but this is another story, a different chapter in the story of their fascinating, evolving sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars typical clannad, 27 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Banba (Audio CD)
very similar to their other albums, nothing stood out, good or bad. Cant complain at less than 3 pounds delivered though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply wonderful album !, 7 Oct 2012
This review is from: Banba (Audio CD)
I bought this back in 1997, and it overwhelmed me then . And I've just played it now 15yrs later (frequently in between # and it moves me similarly .Just thought it might be helpful to share with you . A beautiful album . The blend of Maire Brennans voice and well balanced accompaniement is perfect . Whether in Gaelic or English the band combine to provide a haunting and evocative collection. Slower paced or more energised, the results certainly touch me deeply .Whatever your roots #and mine are a nice blend of English, Irish and Welsh ) or musical prefernces then I think you'll find this one of the most beautiful, spiritually connecting collections of music you ever listen to . Similar impact on me to Capercaille's 'The Blood is Strong' . . .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Banba
Banba by Clannad (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews