Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget the Keepers - A great progressive rock album!
In order to understand and appreciate this album you have to forget what Helloween released before and after it (especially the 'Keeper of the Seven Keys' albums).

Musically the album departs from anything the band has ever done and concentrates on experimental hard rock with melodic metal, blues, jazz and mainstream influences. By changing musical direction,...
Published on 2 May 2004

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a complete right-off, but close.
I will admit Chameleon is and always has been my least favourate Helloween album on a personal level but actually writing a review of this album and more importantly forgetting the fact it was done by Helloween and the connection with Power Metal it aint half bad.

Chemeleon is world famous for the huge Helloween failure album and sellout, which ever you'd like...
Published on 18 May 2009 by Agma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget the Keepers - A great progressive rock album!, 2 May 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon (Audio CD)
In order to understand and appreciate this album you have to forget what Helloween released before and after it (especially the 'Keeper of the Seven Keys' albums).

Musically the album departs from anything the band has ever done and concentrates on experimental hard rock with melodic metal, blues, jazz and mainstream influences. By changing musical direction, Helloween break some more boundaries but in other fields of music...

This is considered by many as Helloween's worst album, but I strongly disagree! Most fans and critics disliked and dismissed Chameleon because it didn't follow the band's trade mark power metal sound. While this is true, the album is technically outstanding, it offers tons of variety and is an overall great and daring experimental offering.

Chameleon is a long album and there surely are a few weak songs to be found here. But due to the fact that the music is experimental and at parts progressive nothing really bad can be said, as everything depends on musical preferences.

In my opinion, there are some very strong and memorable tracks on this album:

"I Believe" is one of the longest songs on the album and one of the heavier ones as well. The best way to describe it would be epic hard rock, with strong riffing, memorable guitar solos, topped with vocal majesty. "Giants" is probably the album's heavier piece and the only one truly deserving the metal tag. The riffs are memorable, the solos are technical and long, the vocal lines brilliant and the chorus catchy as hell.

"When The Sinner" is one of the more mainstream influenced tracks, but is very well done and catchy. "Music" is a wonderful and emotional blues ballad (which admittedly is a little long) and "Longing" is an orchestral power ballad with captivating vocals, which truly shines and ends the album in a melancholic note.

The band is in great shape; wonderful and emotional solos, a wide variety of riffs, great vocals by Michael Kiske (as always), good bass playing and strong drumming at parts. Concerning the vocals, don't expect the very high pitched Kiske trademark (Keeper's era) kind. He has improved greatly as a vocalist and sings in a smoother and much more varying way, with more emotion and a few extremely high notes in the right places.

Being a metal fan, I hated this album upon the first listen, as I compared it with Helloween's previous masterpieces! But when I took metal out of my mind and listened to this album again, I was definitely amazed by some of the songs!!

Don't listen to the rumors, check out this album for your self in order to have an opinion.

(Definitely not an album for die-hard speed metal and heavy metal fans. But surely not a bad album)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget the Keepers - A great progressive rock album, 14 July 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon (Audio CD)
In order to understand and appreciate this album you have to forget what Helloween released before and after it (especially the 'Keeper of the Seven Keys' albums).

Musically the album departs from anything the band has ever done and concentrates on experimental hard rock with melodic metal, blues, jazz and mainstream influences. By changing musical direction, Helloween break some more boundaries but in other fields of music...

This is considered by many as Helloween's worst album, but I strongly disagree! Most fans and critics disliked and dismissed Chameleon because it didn't follow the band's trade mark power metal sound. While this is true, the album is technically outstanding, it offers tons of variety and is an overall great experimental offering.

Chameleon is a long album and there surely a few weak songs to be found here. But due to the fact that the music is experimental and at parts progressive nothing really bad can be said, as everything depends on musical preferences.

In my opinion, there are some very strong and memorable tracks on this album:

"I Believe" is one of the longest songs on the album and one of the heavier ones as well. The best way to describe it would be epic hard rock, with strong riffing, memorable guitar solos, topped with vocal majesty. "Giants" is probably the album's heavier piece and the only one truly deserving the metal tag. The riffs are memorable, the solos are technical and long, the vocal lines brilliant and the chorus catchy as hell.

"When The Sinner" is one of the more mainstream influenced tracks, but is very well done, catchy and memorable. "Music" is a wonderful and emotional blues ballad (which admittedly is a little long) and "Longing" is an orchestral power ballad, which truly shines and ends the album in a melancholic note.

The band is in great shape; wonderful and emotional solos, a wide variety of riffs, great vocals by Michael Kiske (as always), good bass playing and strong drumming at parts. Concerning the vocals, don't expect the very high pitched Kiske trademark (Keeper's era) kind. He has improved greatly as a vocalist and sings in a smoother and much more varying way, with more emotion and a few extremely high notes in the right places.

Being a metal fan, I hated this album upon the first listen, as I compared it with Helloween's previous masterpieces! But when I took metal out of my mind and listened to this album again, I was definitely amazed by some of the songs!!

Don't listen to the rumors, check out this album for your self in order to have an opinion.

(Definitely not an album for die-hard speed metal and heavy metal fans. But surely not a bad album)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underated.., 11 July 2009
This review is from: Chameleon (Audio CD)
If you're only into fast power metal avoid this album by all cost.
That being said if you like more quiet rock this album is pretty good.The songs are well written,performed and produced.The only place this album fails is by its band name and music genre.Because of this,potential fans will never get a chance to hear about it and its a pity.Personal highlights of the album being Longing,Music and I Believe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Astonishing Album, 22 Nov. 2007
This review is from: Chameleon (Audio CD)
This album is almost impossible to get a hold of these days but if you can, do so. It is quite simply wonderful. The vocals are so pure and soar to the heavens. To single out any track is unfair on the rest but Long Long Ago and The Water Is Wide are my favourites. I do not collect this sort of music normally but the first time I heard this it stopped me in my tracks (forgive the pun!). Why Chameleon did not go on to make further albums and become more well known, I am not sure but they should be proud of making one of the finest harmonic vocal albums of the last thirty plus years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not a complete right-off, but close., 18 May 2009
This review is from: Chameleon (Audio CD)
I will admit Chameleon is and always has been my least favourate Helloween album on a personal level but actually writing a review of this album and more importantly forgetting the fact it was done by Helloween and the connection with Power Metal it aint half bad.

Chemeleon is world famous for the huge Helloween failure album and sellout, which ever you'd like to call it for perhaps intentionaly right, but for the wrong reasons.
One of the main reasons for Chameleon's long-lasting downfall without a doubt was the fact that they essentially let loose a "progressive rock metal" album on a power metal crowd with no progression leading up to it.

Quite simply the musical scale was too far apart to avoid upsetting alot of dedicated fans, which of course they did in spectacular style i think bewilderment and surprise would have been fitting adjectives not least that Chameleon was and still is Helloween's poorest selling album, no surprise there then but does all this mean the album is actually bad though? not necessarally!

A mix bag is probably not the right term to describe the set of songs here but more of experimentation, accoustics, sixties jass, metal riffs and commercial choruses which are all here and are on a technical level done well, but being a progressive style album these elements cemented together really just don't quite work, unforunately all the entire album follows suit right to the last note.

Positively speaking the musicianship is very very good as always and vocally it's also excellent, even mature to some extent, however the idea of just melding lots of different genre ideas with other genre ideas of a world apart is just a disaster recipe, and here it evidently shows.

By Progressive standards it's pretty poor and doesn't come any where near the levels of Dreamtheater's Images and words which was made around about the same time, nor is it a good addition to the rest of Helloween's catalogue either, but taken on a individual basis, despite it's fatally flaws it does make up for it musicianally.

To summarize then, this is probably a slightly poorish/average album by Helloween which did to go on to recover in the mid 90's with the fantasic "Time of the oath" but to say it is a "nose diver" is purhaps a little unfair i don't think i would recommend this on balance (with the possible exception of a Helloween completist) even if it is a £fiver! however, i still think Chameleon deserves...

2.5 stars, which round up very nicely to three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 15 April 2003
By 
Mr. Guy D. Carberry "Guy Carberry" (Buckingham, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chameleon (Audio CD)
I eagerly awaited the arrival of "Chemelon" disite reading the negative reviews of the previous LP - "Pink bubbles go ape". I found this record very difficult to get hold of. Chameleon is arrived and blew everything before it out of the water.
The tracks display a totally diverse set of tunes and talent. The move away from all out metal brought a true sense of spirit and passion to the music. Again, initial reaction to the album was negative and the band have since disowned the piece. Yet, for me, it is the most consistent and engaging album with its subtle light and shade and embracing of different musical styles. The Intopolation of 'San Fransisco(wear flowers in your hair) in the thrack 'Revolution' proves the band to be a true postmodernist metal act. A sense of joy runs through many of the tracks, all have a summer feel and general good vibes. Only the touching 'longing' adds a little melancholy.
Buy this if you like: Iron Maiden, Pink Floyd, Coldplay, Queensryche, The Verve, The Beatles, The Mamas and Pappas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Helloween abandon their roots for complex & AOR aspirations, 19 Oct. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Chameleon (Audio CD)
Over 71 minutes long, Helloween completely abandon their speed metal roots with their most elaborately produced and less metallic album to date.
Featuring horns, backing singers, orchestras, multi-tracking and straight ballads, the band were heavily criticised for selling out heavy metal for AOR aspirations. Dispite this, there are some real gems (particularly the longer tracks) as the band's songwriting skills soar ever upwards.
In reality, the band were probably ahead of their time taking their attempts to experiment and push the boundaries perhaps a step too far.
This proved to be Michael Kiske's last album with the band, whether this was due to the critics or 'artistic differences' is unknown. Definately not one for the headbangers, but if you like well crafted rock songs and don't mind the occasional ballad then this is worth checking out.
Highlights include 'When The Sinner' - a strange mix of horns, piano, elaborate production & catchy power metal that actually works; the excellent semi-symphonic/power metal epic 'Giants'; The 8 minute+ Beatles influenced 'Revolution Now'; The dramatic 'Music' (despite the fade at the end); The 9 mins+ epic 'I Believe' complete with prog overtunes and tubular bells!.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Album, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon (Audio CD)
My favorite album of the Helloween , this version its great, a masterpiece to all fans of the power-heavy-happy metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 18 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Chameleon (Audio CD)
Excellent album that I enjoyed. And now I can get rid of the cassette, cos I've got it on CD, ROCK ON
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chameleon
Chameleon by Helloween (Audio CD)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews