Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jamiroquai first funk odyssey, 3 Feb 2003
By 
V. Ryan (London Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Emergency On Planet Earth (Audio CD)
One of my favourite albums in my music collection.
This is a fusion of funk, soul and acid jazz.
Jamiroquai have been around a while, but this is where it all started, in 1993 with the album Emergency On Planet Earth.
The theme of the album is basically based on how there is an emergency on the earth, with people starving and the fact that innocent people are dying due to war.
The first track "When You Gonna Learn" starts the album off with the clear message -we've got to stop this going on. Its a great track which just oozes funk.
The second track is a bit more mellow and its the uk top 10 hit "Too Young To Die". Its just a fantastic track , with a chours i'm sure you all can sing along too
"Hooked up" is the thrid track, not as good lyrically as many of the other songs on this album but still a good funky number which will have your feet tapping away.
The fourth track "If I Like It I Do It" sound very much like a Brand New Heavies sounding track (a group which Jay Kay went for an audition but was turned down)and the words relate very much to Jay Kays train of thought nowdays - If he likes it - he does it.
Track five swaps lyrics about war and worlds hunger for a sublime instrumental - "Music Of The Mind" This track really emphasises that there is more more to Jamiroquai than Jay Kay. The musical arangement is out of this world and you would be hard pressed to find a better instrumental track.
Track 6 sees the lyrics about the state of the world return, with the title track "Emergency On Planet Earth". This is very good lyrically with lines such as "I think were standing for injustice - white gets two and black gets five years?"
Controversial - and something Jay Kay doesn't seem to shy away from.
The 7th track is the weakest on this set. "Whatever it is I just can't stop". Not the worst song in the world but in comparison to the rest of the album it does lack a certain something.
Track eight is my personal Favourite on this album - "Blow Your Mind". All 8 minutes of it I love, and it really is a fantastic chill out tune.
If you think 8 minutes is a long time on Blow Your Mind then wait till you get to Track 9.....
"Revolution 1993" - If your feeling you need a funky lift - this is the song to put on! Fast paced, fast lyrics, and a tune to be embraced... oh yeh and its 10 minutes 17 seconds!
Jamiroquai's Digeridoo player Wallis Buchannan makes his debut on track 10 with the short but interesting Didgin' Out.
The soulful voice of Jay Kay put together with his and Toby Smiths lyrical genius makes this album something that is lacking during the 90's - Funk.
Vinny
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer, superb, funky- what more could you want?, 4 Oct 2001
By 
Frazer Doyle (Newcastle, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Emergency On Planet Earth (Audio CD)
In my opinion the best Jamiroquai album so far- in parts intensely funky, in parts mellowed out, always cool. This is the kind of album that people should wake up to- you won't be able to resist the grooves, believe me! Standout tracks: Whatever It Is, I Just Can't Stop, Emergency On Planet Earth, When You Gonna Learn, Too Young To Die.
Sheer class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funk for those long summer afternoons..., 21 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Emergency On Planet Earth (Audio CD)
From the minute 'When you gonna learn' begins, the grooves just keep coming. This is the perfect album for anyone either just exploring funk or looking for tips on the bass (Stuart Zender is top!). You'll probably remember 'Too Young to die' from the time of the albums release, it was played on the radio quite a lot. The only point of concern is this...Everything is taken directly from '70's funk. If you like this album, look around for Herbie Hancocks 'Headhunters' and anything Stevie Wonder did in the '70's - You'll recognise some of the chord changes and brass parts I assure you!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The saga begins..., 9 Feb 2001
By 
J. Kelly - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Emergency On Planet Earth (Audio CD)
I'd like to start by disagreeing with Miss McElfresh's words on this album. Though the sleeve notes are a little heavy-handed, the spirit is right. In many ways, this IS Jamiroquai's most eloquent album, because they transmit a pure message in an excellent format. This album is pure class, and Blow Your Mind, Too Young To Die, and Whatever It Is I Just Can't Stop are by far the best tracks amongst a legion of brilliant songs. Any Jamiroquai fan will want to buy this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 24 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Emergency On Planet Earth (Audio CD)
I bought this cd after i bought the latest Jamiroquai one - 'A Funk odyssey' and was surprised at how different it was. In this case, different was good, its far more instrumental, but in some ways that's a good thing. It's great to chill out with and great to drive to, in all its totally fabulous.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emergency On Planet Earth (Audio CD)
The best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful LP, 3 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Wonderful LP that who love LP Style must have it.
It's my favorite LP collection that i have listen often
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CLASSIC, 30 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Emergency On Planet Earth (Audio CD)
If you want a Jamiroquai collection, this has to be in it. It has some realy great songs on it and I have listened to most of them alot. There are 2 songs on this album that I love alot but i love more on this album aswell.

*EMERGENCY ON PLANET EARTH*.

I love the 2 versions of this song that I've heard(album version and single version)The album version is my fave, one reason because I like the end part better to the single one.
the lyrics are strong aswell. The drums, bass and keyboard and violin sounds make the song very catchy. If you want to get someone into this band you must play this song!

*REVOLUTION 1993*

This song is just over 10 mins long so some might not want a song that long but this song is realy good if you give it a chance and listen to it a few times, to let it grow on to you.
i love the part at 2min 44 - 3min 19 where it sounds like old arcade game music and then the bass comes in. Then the bit after with the keyboard, like what others have said. The flute(?) and trumpet are cool and the background singer aswell.

A realy good album to play with family or to who ever. the only song I dont listen to is the last one called Didgin out. It's an instrumental ............
Thanks Jay Kay (band singer) toby smith(keyboards) stuart zender(bass guitar) Nick Van Gelder (drums)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funky, and Fun, 10 Jun 2009
By 
DL Productions UK (Merseyside, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Emergency On Planet Earth (Audio CD)
Jamiroquai were very new on the scene back then, and only discovered them when they were in the top 40 with Too Young To Die, a rather political funky piece which really brought up my spirits, and made me want to dance. Of course back then I was 12 :)

This album is still amazing and fresh as it was back then, funky basslines, excellent brass arrangements and violins, and Jay Kay's voice.. I liked his utopian view on things too, and how he just wanted peace on earth - and the whole melange made this feel like a 70s funk album, it's heavenly keys bringing in the main refrain, and their spirit of just going freestyle and jamming for as long as they wanted, as we can see on Revolution 1993.

My favourite track here is When You Gonna Learn - the start is so dramatic and the lyrics are so good. I love every track on here, but that song does have a special place for me.

This is good funky music which reminds us why acid jazz was formed and why it was so well represented by Jamiroquai back then, you really have to hear it to realise what an album this is, and is probably their best album closely followed by Travelling Without Moving, which is a must-have for fans and people who like good music alike.

Get this, it's a bargain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life force, 26 Feb 2007
By 
Ben Finnigan (Heidelberg, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Emergency On Planet Earth (Audio CD)
A defining album, an album that becomes a part of you and that will stay with you. This album inspired me to learn the bass guitar and I still have a lot of fun playing along.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Emergency On Planet Earth
Emergency On Planet Earth by Jamiroquai (Audio CD - 2001)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews