Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
25
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 November 2000
DJing in Glasgow around 1993 I found a promo of Halcyon on a trip to Edinburgh. The track contains a sample from Opus III "Its a fine day" backwards - somehow it works, like their live version that combined Blinda Carlise "Ooh baby" - If you like modern dance/techno that breaks the mould - this is one of those that set the scene for the late ninetys and beyond. A must buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2007
I must admit the first song I heard from Orbital was Halcyon + On + On, which still remians my favourite Orbital song (despite this being the only Orbital CD I own - they are very hard to find in Australia).

The first truly great track is Planet Of The Shapes, which seems to be all about maths and physics, which is fine for me because I do have an advanced degree in science (soon). Lush 3-1 and Lush 3-2 retain the high quiality of the previous tracks, but as stated earlier Halcyon + On + On is the best track on offer. It begins very light and atmospheric, but it takes you to another dimention when the bass enters, and is simply the best techno song ever, not that it defines the gener by any means.

Highly recommended for anybody

9 / 10
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2001
First discovered along time ago in 1996 by me, I found this album to be the main yardstick to which all future electronica albums were measured. There is a not such a fine line between dance and Orbital, because, basically, dance music - a term widely, and insultingly used for electronica - is bad. Not just bad-bad, but REALLY bad. This album is not.
To the untrained ear, it sounds the same. Yeah, right, that is like saying Tangerine Dream are the same as Autechre. Well, I think that this album is fantastic.
Truly immersing the listener in a beautiful array of melodies, and beats, without ever concentrating too much on one particular style, like constant drum and bass, or trance. The first and last track are unique - that's for sure - and happen to be just a little too extreme for me, but the rest of it, from Planet of the Shapes to Halcyon, is amazing. Lush to Remind is one continuous track, and contrary to what it says below, do not skip either Walk Now... or Monday.
I definately feel that Orbitals' second collection is a true landmark in electronic music, and I wish that if some ignorant people would just open their minds for a second, then they could appreciate what a masterpiece this is.
Personally, I like most styles of music, from Mozart to Madonna, from Steely Dan to Stereo MC's and from Rage against the Machine to Underworld - so I managed to open up that much.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I'm new to this band and think both this and wonky are brilliant. I would strongly recommend them to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2011
BACK IN 93 I WATCHED GLASTONBURY ON C4 AND ORBITAL CAME ON . UP TIL THAT MOMENT TECHNO HAD NOT INTERESTED ME AT ALL, IN FACT IT WAS ALWAYS DELETED FROM MY JOHN PEEL, RIP ,SHOWS I USED TO RECORD. ANYWAY I LAY THERE THIS NIGHT WITH MY YEAR OLD SON WATCHING ORBITAL DO LUSH AND I DRIFTED . 3 YEARS LATER A FRIEND ,STAN, LENT ME THIS ALBUM AND ALL HE SAID WAS ,"ITS PROB THE BEST TECNO ALBUM SO FAR. HE WAS RIGHT AND LIKE FLOYDS , D S O T M , IF ONE TRACK OFF THIS ALBUM PLAYS THEN I HAVE TO LET THE WHOLE THING PLAY TIL END . MY ONLY REGRET IS I DIDNT MANAGE TO SEE ORBITAL DO THIS LIVE . ENJOY .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
The greatest album from the greatest electronic band of all time. Absolute genius!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
Excellent album, probably Orbital's best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
excellent quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
awesome!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)