Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Jazz
  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars77
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£14.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2013
I got to know queen from 'Jazz'. 'Live Killers' was the first LP I bought at the age of 17 but we had no stereo on our house yet...so I Had to look for hours and hours the insert with the photos from the 1978-79 european tours. When Jazz was released the pick up was...there so ...everything was easier. Freddie is on top form right from the start (Moustapha), Brian's work on guitar impressive (Dead on time), Taylor's drumming just break your bones. There's humour (More of that Jazz, Bicycle Race), pure rock n' roll (Fat bottomed girls, If you can't beat them), power full ballads (those only Queen could write and sing (Jealousy, In only seven Days- John Deacon at his best), even a funky-disco style which I prefer (Fun it) one year before the smash hit Another one bites the dust. Queen never sounded better and more confident. The nude bicyclists poster is still on my room!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2007
I bought this album on vinyl in the 70s and was a bit taken aback by the funk and pop stylings, expecting more heavy rock a la Night at the Races. However, viewed as part of the evolution to the national pop treasures that Queen eventually became this album stands up as quite an honest, earthy, jam session with sonic experimentation to the fore.
Others complain about the production - to me it sounds very crisp, despite the noted dynamic changes. It still actually sounds quite sharp (as in focussed, not out of tune) and spacy.
The mix of songs is great - lots of styles and Queen's obvious various talents are given full rein. All in all I would say this is better than the two albums that precede and succeed it and a great 70s rock milestone (whilst all around punk was to the - long overdue - fore). But this is still very good and has probably improved with age!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2013
Queen's new album 1978..I would say their best..With this Deluxe Edition you get 'Fat Bottomed Girls'and the deluxe version 'Fat Bottomed Girls with Cellulite' Only joking
folks! Great package!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
Lovely perfect item to play again and again. Good service from supplier too.Will definitely be completing my CD collection of all my Queen vinyl albums (better late than never eh?).
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2012
Had this on vinyl when it first came out and I was mere teenager!! Remembered it very fondly but had not heard for years, having much moved on musically. Saw it at the unbeatable price and I decided on a preXmas treat for myself. Wow! Not disappointed, this 2011 version is SUPER crisp and punchy -just superb. Tracks "Mustapha" and "In only 7 days" just make me smile in awe, really top stuff! The hits featured are superb of course and it all just fits together very nicely thank you. Well happy.....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 29 December 2005
Queen’s 7th studio album really is the end of an era, being the last album of the 70’s, and the last album before the arrival of new producer Mack, synthesizers, drum machines, Freddie’s moustache and other horrors of the 1980’s. As usual with Queen’s golden period 1970’s output there’s a huge amount of genre-hopping on display (though oddly enough no actual jazz), great musicianship and massive layering of vocals and instruments on the production. The only slight downside here is the mix which is far too aggressive with the volume, and by trying to give the guitars huge impact at certain points certain moments are unnaturally quiet in the mix e.g.: the opening of ‘Let Me Entertain You’, or ‘Mustapha’ – if you’re not aware of this and have your volume set at what appears to be a correct volume you may well blow your speakers when the guitar kicks in after a couple of minutes!
After a surprisingly subdued showing on ‘News of the World’ Freddie returns to songwriting dominance on this album, with the ridiculously up-beat ‘Don’t Stop Me Now’ and the ridiculous yet infectious ‘Bicycle Race’. ‘Let Me Entertain You’ is more of a straight-forward rocker, and obviously best intended for a live audience, but the real hidden gem here is the ballad ‘Jealousy’, which must have been a strong contender for a single release. The oddest track on the album meanwhile is the opener ‘Mustapha’, as Freddie starts with what sounds like a Middle Eastern call to prayer and the song ends up as a bizarre but heavy rock track.
Brian’s songs are uniformly strong, with the gorgeously sleazy ‘Fat Bottomed Girls’ possibly topped by the frantic high-speed rocker ‘Dead On Time’. ‘Dreamer’s Ball’ is one of Queen’s tongue in cheek old-fashioned musical pastiche’s, while ‘Leaving Home Ain’t Easy’ (which Brian also provides lead vocals for) is a heartrending song that must rank amongst Brian’s best tunes.
John Deacon provides a top quality pair of tracks with the brief but gorgeous holiday romance song ‘In Only Seven Days’ and the less expected rock of ‘If You Can’t Beat Them’.
Sadly Roger Taylor provides what is the closest this album has to a weak track with the disco song (anticipating the 80’s) ‘Fun It’ – the main guitar riff is actually very good but the lyrics are so gormless (“Just shaking the soles of your feet…”) that it’s difficult to take it seriously. Thankfully Roger comes good with the album closer ‘More Of That Jazz’, a moody track dominated by an addictive guitar line.
‘Jazz’ may not be quite up to the level of ‘A Night At The Opera’ but it is certainly up there with the rest of Queen’s top ‘70’s albums, and for some bizarre reason is often overlooked. Queen would make some good albums in the 80’s, but ‘Jazz’ is the last GREAT one.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2014
The opening song on this album is still as hauntingly beautiful as I remember it when it first came out. I don't think back in the seventies we realised what a wonderful timeless piece of operatic music it was. Some of the other more popular songs overshadow this masterpiece of showcasing Freddy's voice, but the whole album, as with all of Queen's earlier music, just takes it all to a different sort of cutting edge then their contemporaries of the time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2013
This album contains some of Queen's greatest tracks-the rollicking Fat Bottomed Girls , Bicycle Race and one of my favourite Queen songs-Don't Stop Me Now.
Also noteworthy are the fast paced Let Me Entertain You and Fun It , the melancholy Leaving Home Ain't Easy and Jealousy , the Middle Eastern style Mustapha and the waltzing 50's style Dreamer's Ball.
An excellent album featuring a very important stage in the bands development.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2000
This album varies in its content. It consists of classics such as the groundbreaking 'Bicycle Race' and the underated masterpiece of 'Don't Stop Me Now'. The album shows Queen at a more productive point in their career. And the album cover received much opposition by women's rights campaigns, due to the Fat Bottomed Girls on Bicycles featured around the perimiter of the cover.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
needed to replace my scratched vinyl.arrived in a couple days. thanks.
as for the music, not as good as the previous 6 albums but it does has its moments.whats not to like about fat bottomed girls,dont stop me now and freddies beautiful song jealousy. it also contains one of queens underated all time greats, dead on time. a lot better than what was to come in the 80's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)