Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars47
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 December 2015
The transaction was successful. I would recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2006
how can you top the previous album, a night at the opera? not easily. but with hard rocking tie your mother down, and somebody to love, it comes close. good old fashioned lover boy adds a gay moment to the album, but not as good as other albums. its still worth a listen.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 July 2015
I love this album.Great price too!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2015
Great Product- exactly as described
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2014
There are some cracking songs on this album but there is also a lot of self-indulgent overblown schmaltz. All of the latter from Freddie Mercury. The format is that his songs are interspersed with songs by the rest of the band. So after every good track you get a wearysome piece of showmanship. Freddie was big enough to get away with it at the time but now it hasn't worn well. For me though the two tracks by Brian May Tie Your Mother Down and Teo Torreate are worth the price of the LP alone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 30 September 2009
Unlike the many Queen fans whose feet are on Earth while their heads are on Mars, I enjoy much of their music while accepting that they've also recorded a lot of tosh. I also think I'd enjoy it a lot more had it not been force fed to us for the last thirty years. 'Sheer Heart Attack' and 'A Night At The Opera' I loved and still do, the works of a hard rocking band with some class. But here is where I feel a decline set in. I applaud attempts to move on and not repeat oneself, but in the wake of 'that' Xmas 1975 hit, Queen rocked less effectively.

Moreover, the main reason for owning this album is 'Tie Your Mother Down', the black sheep of Queen's hits, as it disgraced itself by scraping into the top 30. Consequently, it didn't make their hit compilation. This is one of Brian May's great hard driving songs and the band recorded little to match it thereafter. Aside of this, of course, there are two big hits, both of which are more music hall than rock. I'm fine with that, but I feel that there's too much emphasis on it across the album. On 'A Night At The Opera', tracks such as 'Seaside Rendezvous' serve as fun interludes, while even 'Bohemian Rhapsody' finds time to rock. Here we have the dull 'You Take My Breath Away', the main feature of which is Freddie Mercury going all breathy, an uninspired attempt at a waltz and Brian May turning Japanese to little effect on 'Teo Torriatte'. Even John Deacon's party piece is not in the same league as 'You're My Best Friend'. There's always 'White Man', but that wouldn't have made the previous album. As ever, a lot of work has obviously gone into the recording and the vocal arrangements are impressive, but most of the material isn't really worth it.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
classic queen
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
Sweet music
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 November 2007
The highly anticipated follow-up to A Night At The Opera arrived on the shelves in late '76, heralded by the hit Somebody to Love. Queen were flying at the time, and they knew it. After their mega-successful year, they decided to play it safe, much like The Works, and basically did a rehash of their best bits!
The production is completely unrestrained - having lost Roy Thomas Baker to bigger things in the USA, the vocal and guitar overdubs are so over the top - the render themselves not only unimpressive, but pointless and swamping otherwise decent songs into a mire of flash and clever-clever studio technique.

Maximum points tho for Tie Your Mother Down and Teo Torriate - well done Dr May!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)