Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (79)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice remaster but weak bonus disc
I really enjoyed this remaster and I am very happy for it.
The album has always sounded a little harsh but to my ears this is the best version I've heard so far.
The bonus disc, however, is a little weak due to lack of interesting material:
1. Now I'm Here - Nice early live version.
2. Flick Of The Wrist - Nice BBC recording which sounds pretty close...
Published on 3 Jun. 2011 by Jens Dalsgaard

versus
23 of 27 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars 5 star album gets 2 star treatment
Let me preface my review by saying that Sheer Heart Attack is a fantastic album.

My problem is with the "Remaster". Its lovely but.....Maybe its my ageing ears but to me their is no noticeable improvement on the 1991 Remasters.

Also the bonus tracks, while pristine are flawed in their selection. The first 3 bonus tracks are welcome because they are...
Published on 13 April 2011 by Graham


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nice remaster but weak bonus disc, 3 Jun. 2011
By 
Jens Dalsgaard (Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I really enjoyed this remaster and I am very happy for it.
The album has always sounded a little harsh but to my ears this is the best version I've heard so far.
The bonus disc, however, is a little weak due to lack of interesting material:
1. Now I'm Here - Nice early live version.
2. Flick Of The Wrist - Nice BBC recording which sounds pretty close to the studio version but it is definitely worth having.
3. Tenement Funster - Same as above
4. Bring Back That Leroy Brown - New 2011 acappella mix. Interesting study of the vocals but a track I will only listen to once. If it was suddenly erased from the bonus disc I wouldn't miss it.
5. In The Lap Of The Gods...Revisited - Live At Wembley, July 1986. A complete waste of space as it's been out on the 2CD set from Wembley '86 for ages. Pointless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Queen Quadrilogy - Episode 1, 10 April 2008
By 
C "Maverick" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
The 1970's was undoubtedly Queen's most prolific creative period and the Quadrilogy I refer to is of course virtual - from Sheer Heart Attack, A Night At The Opera, A Day At the Races and News Of The World - although the second and third albums were destined to be closely linked.

Sheer Heart Attack represented a major change in step for Queen - from the highly progressive and experimental Queen and Queen II with their very limited commercially viability in terms of self-promotion (singles).

The change in step still featured an incredibly diverse mix of styles and songs - together with a number of clearly linked songs (Tenement Funster, Flick of The Wrist, Lily Of The Valley) - but with considerably more scope for singles. Queen chose but two - Killer Queen (an obvious and hugely successful choice) and Now I'm Here - but scope remained - with the very catchy John Deacon penned-pop number 'Misfire' Roger Taylor penned and vocalled 'Tenement Funster' and dare I say the pastiche 'Bring Back That Leroy Brown' (had the record companies been ready to take a chance...)
What remains is an album that feels like a worthy predeccessor to Queen's 'Sgt Pepper' - A Night At The Opera. And in terms of success - it marked a major change in step for the next 3 (yes 4 albums in just 3) years output which was of course supported by Queen's highly polished and prolific touring schedule. Again - it defined 'Album' for me - in that it was not merely a collection of singles or songs - but a marvelous emotional journey through a cascade of different flavours - from the hard but very technical Brighton Rock, the classic Killer Queen, warm blues-rock Tenement Funster through the highly futuristic and bizarre In The Lap Of The Gods, the ultra modern (for it's time) Misfire and more Gods(revisited...)with the it's hugely anthemic 'Wo Wo La La La!'

If you are to own only 4 Queen Albums - Sheer Heart Attack should definitely be included.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Night at the Opera – take 1?, 4 Nov. 2005
By 
Jane Aland (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
Musically Queen II was an album of genius, and in terms of hard rock an album Queen would never really better, but apparently sales were not particularly good, so 3rd album Sheer Heart Attack marks something of a commercialisation of the band, (this is only relatively speaking of course, and compared to the bands ‘80’s output there is still a phenomenal amount of intelligent experimental material on display). Where Queen II was mostly all either incredibly hard progressive rock or very gentle ballads however, Sheer Heart Attack sees the band stretching their range to all areas in between, and with touches of opera, calypso and ragtime (to name a few) this marks the first time that Queen would really start genre-hopping. From this album on the one thing you would be guaranteed with every Queen album (at least until they jumped on the synthesizer bandwagon in the early 80’s) was a huge amount of variety. In short, Queen II may be the better rock album, but Sheer Heart Attack is a much more rounded work. Queen would really perfect this template with their next album A Night At The Opera, and it’s very easy to listen to Sheer Heart Attack as an early attempt at this sound.
Taking the songs by author:
Freddie Mercury’s songs are noticeably more commercial this time round, particularly in the playful lead-off single ‘Killer Queen’. ‘Flick of the Wrist’ is a harder rock song, and features a great chorus and some wild swirling Eastern sounding guitar lines from Brian May in the background, while lyrically with it’s railing against the music business this a clear forerunner to A Night At The Opera’s ‘Death On Two Legs’. This segues seamlessly into Mercury’s next track ‘Lily Of The Valley’, one of two short but beautiful piano ballads on the album. Side Two opener ‘In The Lap Of The Gods’ is probably the most insane song on the album, starting with a minutes worth of over the top vocal operatics before drifting into some weird vocal FX’d lounge song – wonderfully bizarre. ‘Bring Back That Leroy Brown’ is another wildly experimental song, as Brian May plays ukulele and John Deacon plays upright bass for this comedy ragtime number – if you don’t like this you have a serious problem with your sense of humour! Finally finishing off the album is ‘In The Lap Of The Gods…Revisited’ which is really nothing like the earlier version of the song, but is instead the first of those Queen songs that seem to be designed specifically for huge audience participation singalongs (such as ‘We Are The Champions’ or ‘Friends Will Be Friends’) – another great song, and one that must have been a close contender for a single release.
Brian May still covers the bands rock epics, holding the three songs with the longest running time on the album. With opening track ‘Brighton Rock’ it’s easy to see how, as the song contains a massive middle guitar solo where May firsts starts experimenting with the effects he can gain by using a delay pedal to accompany himself. May follows up on the delay experiments on single ‘Now I’m Here’, only this time on Freddie’s vocals, while ‘Dear Friends’ is a departure, being a short sweet piano based lullaby. Finally May provides the vocals himself to ‘She Makes Me’, a long slow strum along where the very weakness of May’s voice just adds to it’s fragile nature – a lovely song, though due to it’s plodding length probably one of the albums lesser tracks.
Roger Taylor’s sole contribution ‘Tenement Funster’ is again a departure from his previous songs, as he ditches the hard rock for a more laid back style. Some great chords and squealing car guitars (again foreshadowing ‘I’m In Love With My Car’) make this a great song.
John Deacon also makes his songwriting debut, and comes out of the blocks with ‘Misfire’, a song so good I’d rank it as the best on the album. A lovely calypso rhythm, great melody, intricately layered bass and guitar lines – a perfect pop record in under 2 minutes.
This album also gives us one of only a couple of instances (at least, before the bands final 2 albums) of a song co-written by all the band – ‘Stone Cold Crazy’, a real manic up-tempo rock song, and after ‘Ogre Battle’ probably one of the heaviest they ever recorded.
Yes – A Night At The Opera is indisputably Queen’s masterpiece, but with both Queen II and Sheer Heart Attack released in the same year 1974 sure was a good year for Queen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fast ageing hippy, 26 July 2012
By 
In my humble opinion this is the Queen masterpiece that everyone seems to overlook....Here is the template for 'A Night at the Opera' which is often championed as their career defining moment....but I beg to differ...Just look at the variety of music on offer...the originality and inventiveness of a young group finally stretching themselves and realizing their full potential...It is an album that demands to be listened in full...and yet there are classic tracks that stand alone... Brighton Rock...Killer Queen...Lily of the Valley (simply devine)..In the lap of the Gods...and just to reming everyone of how this band can ROCK Stone Cold Crazy...As I have already said a much neglected masterpiece... R.I.P. Freddie and still 'No Synths'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Often forgotten, but one of the best., 28 July 2004
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
The albums from 'Queen II' through to 'News of the World' were undoubtedly the best that they ever recorded, but this one gets somewhat forgotten as it sits between the groundbreaking rock music of 'Queen II' and the awesomely unique 'Night at the Opera'. It has been unfairly referred to as a rehearsal for 'Night at the Opera', but this album can stand on its own merits as a great Queen album.
It opens with live favourite 'Brighton Rock', which Brian used as a showcase for his solo delayed guitar spot and developed over the years into a showcase for this technique. It moves to the song that won Freddie Mercury an Ivor Novello songwriting award - 'Killer Queen' - their first big hit in the UK. It just seems to be one great song after another, with a breathtaking range of styles.
Not all of the songs are going to appeal to everyone, and 'Bring Back that Leroy Brown' seems to be singled out, but it fits well with the rest of the album and makes me smile every time I hear it. 'In the Lap of the Gods' is probably the most underrated track here though. It was played near the beginning of the set on their last world tour, but they didn't play it the same way as either version here - from Roger Taylor's amazing vocal at the start to the singalong ending, it's one of the classic Queen songs.
This one really does rate up there with the best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an amazing album. Totally underrated, 28 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an amazing album. Totally underrated, and certainly in the shadow of "A Night At The Opera". A shame really, as this album has loads of experimentation, soothing melody, thumping rock, and musical inventiveness. On the back of Queen and Queen II, both superb albums, Sheer Heart Attack signified a subtle evolution in musical direction. The dramatic fantasy of Queen II was replaced by songs which touched upon the realities of life. My personal favourites are Tenement funster and Flick of the Wrist. These two tracks merge into one another. Tenement funster uses the beautifully course yet smooth shrill voice of Roger Taylor to tell the story of a young chap in a mundane environment, but with a taste for the high life. It has an element of "drowse" from the later album, "A Day at the races", aspiration and dreams above the current situation. This track then merges almost seamlessly into "Flick of the Wrist". This track, apparently about a former acquaintance (legal !!!) is amazing. For me, the interplay of the high, whining, wailing, almost middle eastern melodies alongside the bassy, thumping rhythmic undertones is genius.
But there's plenty more on here. John Deacon hits the mark with "misfire". Call it hippie, call it camp, call it just jolly...It's a celebration of love and happiness, and full volume it makes you smile. Following this is "bring back Leroy Brown', a truly lovely Freddie showtime special with ragtime jazz and a sense of fun. The 'Lap of the Gods' duo are also Freddie at his most creative, and with Roger's unmistakable shrill melodic wailing in the background there is a real sense of drama. Bundle in the known hits of "Killer Queen" and "Now I'm Here", and you have a truly memorable album. I've been a fan for more than 35 years, and I STILL give this album a regular listen! Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An Interesting New Direction, 18 Dec. 2011
By 
Queen certainly shifted well away from their early proggish/fantasy dalliances with 1974's Sheer Heart Attack, which showcased an eclectic mix of guitar-led rock (Brighton Rock, Now I'm Here), elegant chart pop (Killer Queen), brief whimsy (Lily of the Valley), a jazzy/vaudeville(?) interlude (Leroy Brown) and the near rock-operatic In the Lap of the Gods, driven on by Brian May's crunching power chords. True, a couple of tracks are pretty inconsequential (Dear Friends and Misfire spring to mind) but the overall package is varied and entertaining, and the band members sound like they're enjoying the change of scenery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'PURE QUALITY' from 'QUEEN', 17 Mar. 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This was the groups third album, in fact it was the first Queen album I purchased(on vinyl)...although replacing my collection onto the CD format, I still have my 33's.
being honest it is possibly my favourite, though I'd be hard pushed to choose, for me they
never released a bad one.
With the great instrumentals and vocals, it's an early of example of just how good the group
were......as is the case on all their releases the group members wrote the material on board.
This album includes two of the chart -hits prior to 'Bohemian Rhapsody' they of course were
'Now I'm Here' 'Killer Queen' the others not on board this release were 'Seven Seas of
Rhye' and 'Keep yourself Alive'
Like with all of their album releases there are numbers on-board that would easily have charted
if released as a single.....for me, this was the measure of the groups quality.
Some of the stand-out numbers on board include ( the two listed earlier aside) ....'Brighton Rock'
'Flick of the Wrist' ....'In the Lap of the Gods'.....'Misfire'.....and....'She Makes Me(Stormtrooper in
Stilletos) among an album full of gems.
They were quite simply one of 'The all Time Greats'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent album - possibly Queen's best, 26 July 2003
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
Usually when top 100 album surveys are conducted, Queen’s contribution is ‘A Night At The Opera’. While that is a fine album, whisper it quietly, but this one might be even better…
The album starts off strongly with ‘Brighton Rock’, famous for it’s Brian May guitar solo, as well as Freddie Mercury’s strange vocals. ‘Killer Queen’ needs no expanding upon, simply one of the best songs Queen ever did.
‘Tenement Funster’, while no masterpiece is the best song Roger Taylor had written thus far. Flick Of The Wrist foreshadows ‘Death On Two Legs on the next album, while it’s companion piece, ‘Lily Of The Valley’ offers some of the atmosphere found on ‘Nevermore’ from ‘Queen II’.
Side one of the old LP finishes with ‘Now I’m Here’. Side Two is where the fun really begins…
First up is 'In The Lap Of The Gods…' a gloriously over the top Mercury song that segues into Stone Cold Crazy, a fast and furious track credited to all four band members.
The tempo drops again for ‘Dear Friends’ a slight May ballad that seems to finish before it has even begun.
Similarly brief, ‘Misfire’ marks John Deacon’s full writing debut on a Queen album. A catchy acoustic track, that hints at what was to come from him in the future.
‘Bring Back That Leroy Brown’ is a wonderful ragtime pastiche by Mercury, and the sheer joie de vivre of the track shines through every second of it.
Having built up such a head of steam it is slightly disappointing that the band should spoil the mood by turning to May’s sombre ‘She Makes Me’. This choice is stranger still when confronted by the album closer, ‘In The Lap Of The Gods…(Revisited)’. A more over the top finale it would be hard to imagine, although Queen would have a good go at topping it in the future.
Overall, this is a fine Queen album and one that bears repeated listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 5 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: Sheer Heart Attack (Audio CD)
This one reaches the majestic heights of Mozart,Tchaikovsky et al of previous centuries.It is tragic that only Killer Queen is well known to the general public of these songs.Because ther energetic Brighton Rock,the inditement of the corrupt materialism of modern time-Flick of the Wrist (with it's beautifully psychedelic overtures),the sheer poetry of Lily of the Valley (which any struggling genius can relate to),the opera rock masterpice Lap of the Gods and the fast paced rocker Misfire should have been hits of the century. the hard rock beaut Stone Cold Crazy was redone years later by metallica , a tribute to Queen's pioneering work in rock!
Very Very little from the 20 th century compares to them What a pity Queen became so commercialised later and churned out so much mediocre rubbish in the 1980's Carve the names of these songs in gold!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sheer Heart Attack
Sheer Heart Attack by Queen (Audio CD - 1993)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews