Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most underrated Queen album of all time
This album came immediately after the disastrous Hot Space, and although it only reached number two in the charts, it re-established Queen as one of the great rock bands.
The album is literally full of classics, such as Radio Gaga, I Want To Break Free, It's a Hard Life and Is this the world we created?, and the others are forgotten gems.
In my opinion, The...
Published on 5 Sept. 2000 by jlubbock@ebc.co.uk

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Singles, Average Album
The Works saw Queen recapture their commercial appeal everywhere apart from the U.S. after the comparative failure of "Hot Space". At the time, it did what it needed to, scoring 3 top 10 singles in the UK and staying in the charts for a year. Looking back, the singles stand out over some pretty average filler. "Man On The Prowl" sounds like something that should have...
Published on 3 Jan. 2010 by Mr Fahrenheit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most underrated Queen album of all time, 5 Sept. 2000
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
This album came immediately after the disastrous Hot Space, and although it only reached number two in the charts, it re-established Queen as one of the great rock bands.
The album is literally full of classics, such as Radio Gaga, I Want To Break Free, It's a Hard Life and Is this the world we created?, and the others are forgotten gems.
In my opinion, The Works marked the beginning of a new era for Queen - one in which they practically re-invented their sound and went on to conquer heights equal to their late seventies successes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is THE WORKS!, 27 Mar. 2002
By 
M. D. Rathbone (Runcorn, Cheshire - UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
A highly successful collection of songs and the album that introduced me to Queen as a 12 year old many years ago!
When I first heard "Radio Ga Ga" I was amazed and it is STILL as good today. Every song on the album was released as either an 'a' or 'b' side which alone suggests that Queen had produced the ultimate commercial rock album.
The democratic process surrounding the production of the album brings out the best in Queen and the four singles especially so (each written by a different member of the band). But even if you've got them already on Hits II buy this album for "Is this the World We Created" - a beautiful track sung by Freddie with Brian on guitar. "Keep Passing the Open Windows" is another Queen classic and "Tear it Up" allows Brian to re-create some of that early Queen feel, as does Freddie's tongue-in-cheek "Man on the Prowl" with just a slight nod to "Good old fashioned loverboy". "Machines" is possibly the weakest track which has not aged well, but that is a minor niggle.
Buy this album - you'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll want to get out the hoover and clean the house!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Queen Album Of the 80's, 30 Oct. 2006
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
If you are new to the band Queen then this is where you should start because it offers the most classic Queen tracks (all of the singles which were released from this album).But there are no fillers, as the remaining tracks show. Aparently the concept of this album is the battle between humans and machines, this is reflected upon in the way that Queen's vocal and musical presence is in conflict with the synthesizers on the album. This gives the album a further boost to its credability

1. Radio Ga Ga - A classic pop/rock song of the eighties,complete with synthesizers and hand clapping in mind.

2. Tear it up - A impressive hard rock song from the mind and pen of Brian May.

3. Its a Hard Life - A fine slice of operatic brilliance.

4. Man on the prowl - Another fun song influenced by 50's rock and roll.

5. Machines (or back to humans) - The very song which brings out the theme of the album in a delicious cocktail of synthesizers, computer voice and mind bending guitar from Brian.

6. I want to Break Free - Another Queen classic, an incredible pop song.

7. Keep passing the open windows - A rock/ballad which has a feel good factor to it which is so typical of Freddie's writing.

8. Hammer to Fall - Another high powered rock song by Brian, a real explosion of sound.

9. Is this the world we created? - Probably the weakest song on the album, however its acoustic softness should win you over.

All in all its legendary, but it may not be legendary in terms of an album, but more so because it contains 9 great songs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars By far Queen's best ever album!, 4 Nov. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
This is easily the best album Queen ever did. Brian May's influence is obviously strong, as most songs have a hard rock edge, which was a welcome change after the funky Hot Space.
'The Works' is a suitable title for the album, since it contains pretty much every type of Queen song that they ever did. Radio Ga Ga is great pop, Tear It Up is hard rock, It's A Hard Life is a gentle ballad, Man On The Prowl is 50's bebop rock, Machines (Back To Humans) is a simply incredible original heavy rock song, I Want To Break Free is hilarious funky pop, Keep Passing The Open windows is a cross between ballad and rock, Hammer To Fall is nearly heavy metal, and Is This The World We Created... is a gentle single acoustic guitar, much like the live version of Love Of My Life.
However, this album is worth buying if only for one thing: Machines (Back To Humans) is by far the best Queen song ever done. Simply incredible. Buy it even if you don't want it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Too short, considering the quality, 14 Sept. 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
This album has a great number of hits on it. The first song, Radio GaGa still stands as one of Queen's best-known. However, to my mind, it's a great song, recorded badly. That said, the majestic Hard Life and Man on the Prowl take some beating as under-rated songs by Mercury. His most underrated one by a mile though is "Keep Passing the Open Windows". This autobiographical wonder is a beautiful effort, loaded with things that require more than one listening to appreciate. I want to break free and Hammer to Fall both fall into the "Great song badly done" category. Both HUGE live hits, the recordings are too slow, and often lack some of the edge they produced on stage. That said, though the album is far too short, it was one which Queen fans really appreciated, considering that Hot Space had been such a removal from what they were used to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great Singles, Average Album, 3 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
The Works saw Queen recapture their commercial appeal everywhere apart from the U.S. after the comparative failure of "Hot Space". At the time, it did what it needed to, scoring 3 top 10 singles in the UK and staying in the charts for a year. Looking back, the singles stand out over some pretty average filler. "Man On The Prowl" sounds like something that should have ended up on Freddies "Mr Bad Guy" album and "Machines" is just a mess. Radio Ga Ga has not aged that well, and always worked best as a live track..."I Want to Break Free" still sounds fresh and the almost forgotten "Its A Hard Life" is the albums standout track. "Tear It Up" and "Hammer To Fall" tick the hard rock boxes but overall the album doesnt hang together as well as some of their 70s albums. Some reviewers claim its their best album of the 80s.....id say that would be Hot Space as it was the last album where they did something risky. In the 80s, Queen really became a singles band rather than an album band, and none of their 80s albums will be remembered as classics. Their apperance at Live Aid the following year should have set them up as the biggest band in the world once again...but America had moved on and they releasd one of the worst albums of their career...but thats another story........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some good stuff..., 5 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
As an ardent fan of 70's Queen, this would certainly not be my favourite Queen album.
A lot of the songs - like 'Tear It Up' and 'Keep Passing The Open Windows' are quite mediocre and are not that interesting for me. But it is still Queen, and that always means not without genius.
'It's A Hard Life' is a fantastic ballad, with strong similarities to the bands earlier albums-it could have sat perfectly in the albums 'Sheer Heart Attack' or 'A Night At The Opera'.
The other two best known songs from the album are Radio Gaga, which is very smooth and catchy and difficult not to like, and 'I Want To Break Free' which has been used as an anthem of those struggling for freedom throughout the world:
"I Want to Break Free
I Want to Break Free
From your Lies'
You're so self-satisfied I
Don't need you'
...
Then there is the superb enviromental song 'Is This The World We Created' - actually an underrated piece.
'If there's a G-D looking down
What can He think of what we've done
To the world that he created?'

Absolutely.
All in all the album is not bad.
Buy it once you've bought all of Queen's 70's albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Works - A fine effort, 26 July 2011
By 
R Turner (Reading, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
`The Works' is the album that got Queen back on track after the commercial disappointment of the (underrated) `Hot Space' and largely restored their fortunes around the world (apart from the USA).

While few fans would regard `The Works' as being Queen's finest effort it does boast several outstanding tracks - `Radio Ga Ga' and `I Want To Break Free' are both deservedly remembered as pop classics. `It's A Hard Life' is another classic and one of `The Work's' high points. Freddie's `Keep Passing The Open Window' is also a gem and far from being a filler track.
The best song on the album however is the fantastic `Hammer To Fall' which is arguably Brian May's best Queen song of the 1980's. The album's final track `Is This The World We Created' is a haunting, poignant song.

The album does however have it's weak moments. `Machines (Back To Humans) is very bland and has dated horribly. `Man On The Prowl' is a poor man's `Crazy Little Thing Called Love' and `Tear It Up' is an uninspired Rocker. Another Brian May track `I Go Crazy', which ended up as a B side would have been a better choice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Reference Point for 80s Queen, 17 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Works (Audio CD)
There have been some mixed reviews of this album on amazon, but without doubt this was THE album that took Queen to dizzy heights in the 80s. A short and to-the-point album: 4 smash hits, plus the great Live Aid ballad 'Is this the world we created' (see a recent version of this performed by Andrea Corr and Biran May on the 46664 live album), and two album tracks that were among their best studio tracks of the 80s - 'Back to Humans' and 'Keep Passing the Open Windows'
The album that followed this - Akind of Magic - is one of their worst studio albums, but 86 was the year dominated by their infamous stadium tour.
Like The Game, The Works is a must have album for anyone that wants to see Queen beyond the greatest hits packages. The true test of these two albums is that 20 years on they sound as good and fresh and contemporary today as they did when they were released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the works by queen, 13 Feb. 2012
By 
Mr. R. G. Ball "R.G.BALL" (Birmingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Works [Vinyl] (Vinyl)
the vinyl album The Works by Queen was in excellent order,the cover was very clean and tidy,and when i played the album i was very pleased as there were no glitches or scratches.A very good purchase,and the delivery was the next day,exellent.I will enjoy playing it for many years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Works
The Works by Queen (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews