Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty darn good!
As one of the few American fans of the Manics, I can say that I am impressed with this CD. I just bought a used copy of the CD today and have listened to it several times already. Sure, some may argue that it's reminiscent of 80's metal at least on this one (to me that is, specifically Guns N' Roses), but so what? With the loud guitars and drums and even lengthy guitar...
Published on 1 July 2001

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars So-so but I prefer the Holy Bible
Has some good singles - I remember Tristesse from when it first came out as a single & despair to where is a classic. Also like sleepflower. However the other tracks are not worth bothering with.
Published 17 months ago by Ms. Monica Sheaf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Vastly underrated Manics classic., 15 Jun 2014
This review is from: Gold Against The Soul (Audio CD)
I'm one of the few Manics fans who loves this album. It's not as brilliant as Generation Terrorists or The Holy Bible but it's my third favourite and compared to many of their later albums, it's definitely one of their strongest. After Generation Terrorists, I think a lot of people were expecting another album that had the same punk vibe as that one. Instead, Gold Against the Soul was a more indie/grunge sounding effort with less political lyrics and more personal songwriting. In my opinion, that only makes it more unique for the band and it was good that they went in a different direction. Opening song 'Sleepflower' starts the album off brilliantly with some memorable guitar melodies from James Dean Bradfield. Single 'From Despair to Where' also showcases his masterful vocals and proves that he's one of the best rock band frontmen. 'La Tristesse Durera' is one of my favourite Manics songs featuring melancholy lyrics from Nicky Wire and more terrific vocals from James. It's also one of only two songs by the band that Richey Edwards played guitar on (the other being 'No Surface All Feeling' from Everything Must Go). The band still retain their punky roots on tracks like 'Nostalgic Pushead' and 'Symphony of Tourette' and the title track closes the album effectively with some powerful guitars with light metal riffing. It's a shame this album is hated on a lot, even the band have disowned it. It's one of my favourite albums of all time and showed the band going in the dark direction that they would emerge with on The Holy Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A distinguished comedown from GT, 2 Sep 2013
By 
B. Browning "Benjib" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gold Against The Soul (Audio CD)
Yeah the Manics now say that GATS didn't really work out to their liking, and I'm sure that certain reviewers will agree. I however still enjoy this album even though it is quite maudlin compared to the spraypaint and glitter explosion of Generation Terrorists.

Sleep flower is a GREAT opener and still brims with angst and edginess. The guitar lick in this is great. "From Despair..."is another example. A great hook running through it. The rest of it? Well it's OK. "La Tristessa.." took me by surprise when I first heard it 20 years ago, and even now it still stands out from the rest of their songs. "Yourself" is pure angst however it can generate an uncomfortable knot in your stomach when you begin to start identifying with some of the lyrics in there...Then it finishes and you get "Life becoming a Landslide", which is pure drama and self-pity and slightly tiresome.

"Nostalgic Pus-head" is a dreadful title but an OK tune. "Symphony of Tourette" is lyrically clunky and I'm surprised it passed QC to get on the album to be honest.. Title track "Gold against the Soul" is musically quite interesting, and I quite enjoy it lyrically too even though to this day I couldn't sing the whole thing off by heart.

By and large an enjoyable album although a bit of a mish-mash of themes and music. I hate to say this but it sounds like they were trying to please others rather than themselves. Musically it is more diverse than GT however it gets a bit lost on the way sometimes..Maybe they were frightened of the rising tide of bands like Nirvana, Alice In Chains etc and consciously tried to move away from the polished punk sound of GT.

Fair play to em.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard and heavy but still stunning and confrontational, 25 May 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gold Against The Soul (Audio CD)
Following the long drawn effort of Generation Terrorists the Manics set out to better it, with this 10 track album, recorded in the £2 000 a day House in the Woods studio in Surrey.
It has to be said that the studio makes a difference, the guitars and drums are solid, as for the vocals by JDB, well, they are nothing short of stunning.
Although the songs on the whole are not the Manics strongest, they fit the mood of the album perfectly. Not as bleak as the Holy Bible, Gold..... still deals with tough and confrontational issues such as depression (Roses in the Hospital) and even Tourettes syndrome (The Symphony of Tourette). It also includes La Tristesse Duerra, which is my personal favorite Manics song and worth the price of the CD alone.
Fans of post-Richie MSP may not think highly of this album, it is as heavy as metal gets, but if you are a true Manics fan then this is needed as it is a gem. Play it nice and loud!
Not the best.......but the production and vocals make this a 5 star effort from the boys from Blackwood. Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This CD oozes class and insouciance, 8 Jan 2001
By 
This review is from: Gold Against The Soul (Audio CD)
Some of the most superior songs by this band are here entrenched. You must sit and listen to the lyrics on this album so that the sculptured musical backdrop complements and does not dictate the overall feel. At least as dark as the follow-up, this I find has a larger palette of emotions to offer, and in places it is very facetious. All the tracks are engaging, managing to be artificial and honest simultaneously. Favourite songs include 'Sleepflower', which is tremendously pretty, the vitriolic 'Roses In The Hospital' and 'Nostalgic Pushead' which, as well as having a classic title, also contains some striking statements about decadence and consumerism e.g. 'I am the raping sunglass gaze of sweating man and escort agencies'. This is a CD that should be treasured and, like most of the Manics' work - even the more recent, less essential albums - there's nothing quite like it. Quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perhaps the best and most unrecognised album of the Manics, 8 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gold Against The Soul (Audio CD)
Classed by many as the Manics Heavy Metal album, its definatly heavy rock but i wouldnt say metal. It has perhaps the greatest opening track in history, followed in swift succession by the double whammy of From Despair to Where and La Tristesse. Arguably two of the manics greatest ever songs. This is the album you put on when working out or in the car. If you want some mellow moods, go listen to This is my truth. The boys prove once again that no music style can hold them and there is something for everyone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not up to the usual Manics standard but still brilliant!, 11 July 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Gold Against The Soul (Audio CD)
As an avid fan and collector of the Manic Street Preachers, I must say that this is probably their worst album - it's much too short (after the 18 track debut it leaves you feeling as if they're out of ideas), and for a 10 track album there's too many 'filler' songs. Now, with the negatives out of the way, let's get on with praising the Manics. The songs here are unlike anything else the Manics have done or ever will do : most of the album is pure pop/punk, a cross-breed between Everything Must Go and Generation Terrorists. This ear-candy element is particularly noticable on tracks such as From Despair To Where and Roses In The Hospital - both good songs, but all ear pleasing chords and riffs and harmonising voices. Another thing which surprised me was how mellow the album is ; with the exception of 'Tourette, Yourself, and Drug Druggy, all the songs are laid back, tuneful, and light-hearted (musically, anyway), betraying the desperate and brooding lyrics that characterise every Manics album. Sleepflower, La Tristesse Durera, and Nostalgic Pushead are highlights, successfully balancing the Manics' punk roots and their more modern pop incarnation (of course, this theory was shattered with the Holy Bible, but that's another story). So, overall then, GATS is a confused blend of punk-rock and pop, with some brilliant songs being buried underneath the occasional worthless filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars life has been unfaithful - and it all promised oh so much, 9 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gold Against The Soul (Audio CD)
in 1993, the manics made an american style - grunge album. this was an attempt to break into the american market. it failed miserably. It is also seen as their worst album by many. This album was GOLD AGAINST THE SOUL. Gone were the political lyrics and (to a certain degree) spray paint etc but this album was and still is a classic. From the riff of ''sleepflower'' to the classic from ''despair to where'' and from the uncharacteristic ''la tristesse durera'' to heavier efforts like ''symphony of tourette'', the manics show that even in a period of losing their way musically etc, they can still make an album of this quality. -if u like punk, buy ''generation terrorists'' -if u like grunge or punk, buy this album -if u like epicrock, buy ''everyting must go'' -if u like crappy, boring bollocks indie, buy ''this is my truth'' -if u like punk, goth, metal and you'd like to own the best album in the world EVER with the lyrics of personal pain written by a very clever and beautiful man, buy THE HOLY BIBLE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant , unrecognised and underated, 11 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gold Against The Soul (Audio CD)
Let me start of by commenting on the brilliance of the album. Most of my freinds never knew this album, or even the holy bible and Generation terrorists , evan existed, and where limited to the two post richie albums (not that these arent good) . Beutiful guitaring, lyrics and melodies. Scream to a sie is my favourite song with from despair to where coming a close second.Top banana
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Any Manics Fan will need this............, 24 Feb 2001
This review is from: Gold Against Soul [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Although as an album it isn't as strong as say the holy bible or everything must go, GATS still shines through in songs like Roses in the Hospital and La Tristesse Durera, plus there are some excellent guitar solos and riffs by James, in Symphony of Tourette, Gold Against the Soul and Sleepflower. Any Manics collector will want this cos its on Vinyl, and the vinyl also gives the record a vintage feel that a cd wouldn't give out. Also for manics fans this is a compulsory record whether they buy it on vinyl, tape, minidisc or cd.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars one of the most under rated Manics albums, 4 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Gold Against The Soul (Audio CD)
Most people I know who know naything about the Manics (People I know are more into Steps and their @ the moment favourite song is reachfor the Stars - SClub7) think that there are only 2 Mnaics albums - EMG + TIMTTMY. The first 3 albums are extremely underrated and forgotten even though imho they are the best (ok EMG is good aswell. GATS has some great songs such as Trustessa, Despair, Roses, Sleepflower and Symphony of a Tourette. It along with GT + THB should NOT be fprgotten about, it's a crime!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gold Against The Soul
Gold Against The Soul by Manic Street Preachers (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews