Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets be fair - this is an outstanding collection, 4 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Saint-SaŽns (Audio CD)
Well, let's get things straight. The collection is fabulous, the performances all top drawer as well as excellent sound. The violin concerto 3 is one of those under-played under-estimated pieces played here extremely well by Joshua Bell (not Kyung Wha Chung, contrary to a previous review). If you haven't heard it before, this CD will impress. The opening of the concerto is wonderfully sonorous and striking. The wonderful second movement where the clarinets and violin solo play arpeggios several octaves apart is hauntingly beautiful, almost otherworldly. Written for the great virtuoso Sarasate, this is violinistic and memorable.

The piano concerto is fine. Great playing and very good rapport with orchetra and soloist.

Kyung-Wha Chung plays the Introduction & Rondo Capriccioso, and Havanaise, with exceptional musicianship for pieces which are essentialy vehicles for virtuosic display. Her skills make the performances sound effortless, and her musical passion makes these throughly enjoyable and as fine performances as you will ever hear - characterful without idiosyncracy, wonderful playing by one of the iconic musicians of her generation.

Danse Macabre, Carnival des Animaux, just excellent.

The Organ Symphony is lovely, not the finest performance for avid connoisseurs, but a very warm appealing version with a lovely last movement.

Buy this and just enjoy. I did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


90 of 100 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essentially Saint Saens, 30 Jan. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Essential Saint-SaŽns (Audio CD)
Recently I gave a talk on Saint Saens at my local music society and played several extracts of his music all of which were taken from this CD. I have other recording of some of the tracks but those on this cd are better especially those that are conducted by Charles Dutoit. Kyung-Wha Chung the violin soloist in the violin concerto is also of a terrific standard and gives a performance saint saens would be proud of. I would highly recommend this CD to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rolling back the years, 20 Mar. 2014
By 
Mr Mahzooz (Hampshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Saint-SaŽns (Audio CD)
I had the version on this CD of the St Saens 3rd Symphony on vinyl when it came out in the 1970's. The recording of the LAPO under Zubin Mehta in the Royce hall of the University of California is brilliant. All of their recordings of this period were highly rated for the fine and detailed quality of the sound captured in the halls acoustic.

Excellent sound on the CD of a 40 year old recording. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Saint Saens, 14 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Saint-SaŽns (Audio CD)
I bought this albumn because of the brilliant performance of the great Organ Symphony, which I had heard on the radio many years ago and which I had tried for so long to find. The whole selection is delightful and very well performed. This is by far the most exciting version of the Organ Symphony that I have ever heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Saint Saens Violin, 14 Mar. 2014
By 
Mrs. M. Glazebrook (Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Saint-SaŽns (Audio CD)
Overall an exceptional recording by Ricci and this orchestra. Well balanced and a joy to listen to.
The third concerto is my wife's favourite and she was not disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it!!, 23 Feb. 2009
By 
Alan D. Evans "Big Al" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Saint-SaŽns (Audio CD)
I'm no classical buff but this CD is sublime!! I especially like The Danse Macabre just for the name of it!
You'll recognise lots of tunes from Charlie Chaplin films, and the whole CD hasn't got one duff track on it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Saint Saens., 19 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Saint-SaŽns (Audio CD)
Liking Bizet,Offenbach I purchased The Essential Saint Saens to add to my list of French Composers, Listening to Classic Fm made take to the liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent selection of Saint-Saens, 8 Mar. 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Saint-SaŽns (Audio CD)
Excellent selection of Saint-Saens - good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 19 Dec. 2014
By 
Ian RR (manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Essential Saint-SaŽns (Audio CD)
Great composer .....for all moods
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Essential Saint-SaŽns
Essential Saint-Saëns by Camille Saint-SaŽns (Audio CD - 1995)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews