Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 years on and still a landmark album in British music.
For many this album was the cool soundtrack to the late 80's and with good reason. Launched at a time of cheesy chart domination by messer's Stock, Aitken and Waterman, this album has certainly dated less than anything that was produced from that stable. As soon as I recall the initial crackle when the needle hits the record quickly followed by Caron Wheelers succulent...
Published on 5 May 2009 by BD

versus
22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Club Classics? Not Quite
I am also encouraged to dig out my old vinyl copy, if only to turn it into an ashtray. I bought this on the strength of Fairplay, Keep On Moving and Back to Life and was terribly disappointed.
Keep On Moving is sublime- a classic beat, those strings (nicked from Chic's "I Want Your Love" perhaps?) and Caron Wheelers sumptuous vocals. What an opener, but...
Published on 15 May 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 20 years on and still a landmark album in British music., 5 May 2009
By 
BD "bigdave2020" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Club Classics Volume One (Audio CD)
For many this album was the cool soundtrack to the late 80's and with good reason. Launched at a time of cheesy chart domination by messer's Stock, Aitken and Waterman, this album has certainly dated less than anything that was produced from that stable. As soon as I recall the initial crackle when the needle hits the record quickly followed by Caron Wheelers succulent vocals with a the full bass line kicking in, I am instantly transported back to the magic of those warm summer days from my youth, the recording onto cassette to play in the car, windows down (no posh aircon in those days!). At the time especially in London thanks to the Pirate stations of the day, through which I discovered Soul II Soul in the 1st place, it felt that almost every car and home, every open window had this playing out of it.

I will concede that at times this albums tight budget origins are apparent, and it is a little rough around the edges. The inclusion of a fairly average live rap track, the tracks African dance and Dance sharing the same backing track, and yes some Chic orchestral samples are blatantly used, but the strong appeal remains and that sparse honest nature is part of the appeal. Free of over production and complex techniques, this was the moment when British Soul and what became R&B found its first true voice and confidence. From this point forward, there wasn't an R&B, Acid Jazz, Garage or a British soul act that didn't in some way owe Soul II Soul a debt or two.

This album definitely deserves its place amongst what can be called classic albums. The fact that 20 years on we are still writing about it says a great deal about this albums appeal. Sometimes a classic album is not necessarily the best of its genre but the most significant or a benchmark by which others are judged. Other British soul artists may have released technically superior records or achieved longer lasting success, but Soul II Soul where those that lead the way in opening the door, and for many of us formed an indelible musical postcard in the soundtrack of our lives, and for that without reservation, 5 stars are given.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 25 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Club Classics Volume One (Audio CD)
How strange to see this back in the top sellers, anything to do with 'I Love 1989'?? I saw it on the TV and it made me dig out my copy.
What foresight Jazzie had to call it Club Classics because it is just that - an absolute classic which defined music for over a generation.
If you dont own this CD then you should buy it - NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Soul II Soul Vol One, 13 May 2013
By 
C. Starkie "Claudybaby" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Club Classics Volume One (Audio CD)
Remember the days of cassette tapes? well I do, and I had this when it was on tape, my CD got scratched so I thought I'd replace it, and this is as good as the tape (well it would be, it's the same songs) but you always have to sing along with a soul II soul tune and this doesn't fail to get you singing.

A very good buy, it had everyone singing along when it was played.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Timeless classic, 24 Oct 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Club Classics Volume One (Audio CD)
Granted I think some tracks on this album have stood the test of time better than others, but it is a classic. The acapella version of Back to Life is inpsired and a true testament to the level of talent here.
If you don't own it - you should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cd, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Club Classics Volume One (Audio CD)
Really enjoyed soul to soul cd good sound quality, lots of old classic tunes, good buy, would recommend and buy again,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's Soul II Soul - gotta luv it!, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Club Classics Volume One (Audio CD)
One of the best, if not the best, British R&B group ever to come out of the UK! Get their albums and hear for yourself!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Soul to Soul, 24 Nov 2013
By 
fridge magnet (London, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Club Classics Volume One (Audio CD)
I found it hard to find a good Soul to Soul compilation that includes all of their hits. This album is quite good if you want to experience the mood of the time when it was made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soul to soul, 15 Mar 2012
By 
Simon (Warrington, Cheshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Club Classics Volume One (Audio CD)
Brought back great memories of these old tracks!
Great to have them in cd quality. My original copy was on cassette tape.
Particularly enjoy the bass on the opening track - keep on moving.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Classic old school, 19 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Club Classics Volume One (Audio CD)
Bought this album for nostalgia's sake. It's still great after all these years. Jazzy's a legend. Keep on moving is still as good as was all those years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 31 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Club Classics? Not Quite, 15 May 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Club Classics Volume One (Audio CD)
I am also encouraged to dig out my old vinyl copy, if only to turn it into an ashtray. I bought this on the strength of Fairplay, Keep On Moving and Back to Life and was terribly disappointed.
Keep On Moving is sublime- a classic beat, those strings (nicked from Chic's "I Want Your Love" perhaps?) and Caron Wheelers sumptuous vocals. What an opener, but after that it's all downhill. What exactly was the point of doing an acapella version of Back to Life instead of the splendid original?
Jazzie B is a fine producer, but he can't rap and he can't sing, and the remaining tracks are merely lumpen, tired, nondescript. This was seen as a defining moment for British soul, but that surely belongs to Massive Attacks Blue Lines two years later, which Jazzie had a hand in. This album, however, just doesn't cut it.
If you want a finer example of Soul II Soul's work buy their greatest hits CD or try Caron Wheelers fine debut UK Blak. If you decide to buy this album on a wave of 80's nostalgia beware- it's not bad but it's certainly not great either, just ordinary, very very ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Club Classics Volume One
Club Classics Volume One by Soul 2 Soul (Audio CD - 1989)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews