Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dare: A Blueprint For Electronic Music
I can still remember the effect this album had on me when I first heard it way back in 1981. I would listen to it on headphones and marvel at every note of every layer. I had simply never heard anything like it before, and to be honest, it blew me away. In the early eighties, people were really beginning to tire of thrashing guitars that lacked melody and all that...
Published on 7 May 2002 by orac101

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For collectors only.
I bought this as I am a collector of the human league.
This is not a patch on the original black or white issues from 1981 which came in a card sleeve and a paper insert.
It seems a little cheap in its plastic sleeve with a credits sticker on the back.The image reproduction is ok but mine has some rippling on the white background, I also hate the black rim on...
Published 10 months ago by octopus


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ONE DAY ALL MUSIC WILL BE MADE THIS WAY., 8 April 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Dare! (Audio CD)
This is how the League originally described their music and they were not wrong. Listen behind the melodies and enjoy synth-pop at it's finest - bass lines, counter melodies - it's all there.
I first bought this album on release as a spotty 16 year old and then went on to buy everything they have ever recorded.Buy it now or remain for ever under the impression that you can never trust a man who wears high heels!
The most outstanding thing about Dare is that today it sounds better than it ever did.Perhaps thats because my vinyl version has long since worn out ,hence my visit to this site!
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dare! [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Like the League since I first heard Sound Of The Crowd on TOTP in 81.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not 5.1, why?, 17 May 2005
By 
This review is from: Dare (Audio CD)
this is a classic album reproduced to sacd, why, oh why, did'nt they mix it to 5.1. you'd be etter of with the normal cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fatastic Album of The Eighties, 28 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Dare! (Audio CD)
This was and is one of the great albums of the 1980's. I love every track. The human league are very underated. Keep watching though as they keep coming back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Very poor a real disappointment, 1 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dare! [VINYL] (Vinyl)
Although it looks good as a printed disc, the plastic cover is cheap - no detail included on the record itself

The disc arived warped, when played a noisy surface and at 45rpm?!

Now returned, don't waste your money or time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, 19 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dare! (MP3 Download)
No stars as I ordered by mistake and could not cancel on the Kindle. Rubbish system wish I never brought the thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sound of the 80s, 21 May 2010
By 
P. Frizelle (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dare (Audio CD)
Dare is the third studio album from British synthpop band The Human League.

The album was recorded 1981. The style of the album is the result of the rapid evolution of The Human League from experimental avant-garde electronic group into a commercial pop group under Philip Oakey's creative direction following the departure of fellow founding members Martyn Ware and Ian Craig Marsh. Dare became critically acclaimed and has proved to be a genre-defining album.

The Human League actually began in the late 1978 as the brainchild of two computer operators, Ian Craig Marsh and Martyn Ware, from Sheffield. By all accounts The Human League were purveyors of the synth-pop movement. Hospital porter, Philip Oakey, joined the group along with Adrian Wright who to prepared slide shows for projection during the group's live performances. In 1980 the group split in half. Ware and Marsh left to begin a project called the British Electric Foundation whose first spinoff was the group Heaven 17 of the remaining Human League pair, only Philip Oakey was a performer. With determination to complete a European tour, Adrian Wright began learning to play synthesizer and two female singers, Susan Ann Sulley and Joanne Catherall, were recruited from among the dancers at Sheffield's Crazy Daisy disco. Bassist Ian Burden was also added as a temporary group member.
Jo Callis was recruited from the group the Rezillos. This lineup completed the Human League's third album, its breakthrough and masterpiece Dare

There are a number of reasons why we should celebrate The Human League. For starters, there's Phil Oakey's defiantly ridiculous hair style. There's his recruitment of two schoolgirls from the dance floor of a Sheffield disco into the band, like a Jackie photo story made flesh. There's also their indelible imprint on the landscape of early 80s British pop. Without the Human League there would be no Depeche Mode, no Yazoo, no Howard Jones. No Erasure No OMD..Well we could actually live with out any of these (With the exception of Depeche Mode) so perhaps its there crime to the pop world
Luckily or unfortunately depending on how you look at it The Human Leauge never equalled Dare and by the 90s, they had committed the cardinal sin of their futurist origins they sounded dated. Now largely confined to the tawdry spectacle of 80s revival tours, The League's best years may be behind them. However, Dare demonstrates, they were one of the great bands of their era, and proved enormously influential on subsequent electro-pop. And if they failed to equal the sublime pop rush of ''Dont You Want Me'', they can always rest in the knowledge that few ever did. ''Don't You Want Me''. is as perfectly constructed as any pop can be, its shifts between major and minor perfectly reflect the emotional turmoil and yuppie angst of the lyric. It's almost matched by the other singles from the classic Dare album, such as ''Open Your Heart'' "Love Action " and ''The Sound of the Crowd''; a perfect marriage of synthesised detachment and romantic yearning. The whole album is drenched in infectious hooks that penetrate the ear. And Hey you didn't have to be a "Real" musician to play them. This was Music that Office clerks and Bank tillers could play.

At the time of it's release back in 1981, I'd have rated this as a 5-star album. Nowadays, I find I rate all the tracks at a very consistent 3 stars. But more importantly, this album is worthy for what it represents, and that is ... that it is a watershed album in the history of electronic / synthesizer music. For prior to Dare!, synthesizer music was very much a niche genre, most notably represented by Kraftwerk, and perhaps Gary Numan and Cabaret Voltaire.
Dare! was a groundbreaking album because it brought electronic fully-formed from out of the industrial city and from this side of the Berlin Wall, and presenting itself to the unsuspecting masses as an already mature (and thus digestible) musical genre. Dare! Conclusively demonstrated that memorable poptunes could be created synthetically, Phil Oakley's hair style and slightly erroneous look also help secure them a selling point. I want that record the one by that bloke with long hair on one side and short on the other. There has to be a comfortable marriage between music and fashion in order for a movement to become successful, neither can survive very long without the other. But longevity is purely down to the ability to adapt or the musical quality of the songs.

Socio-cultural developments also contributed to Dare! becoming a significant breakthrough album. The inheritance of punk's DIY ethos suggested that it was ok to be busy experimenting with the sonic possibilities of your recently-introduced microcomputer. Then of course, the very shrewd introduction of Joanne Catherall and Susanne Sulley to the band's line-up which both 'sexed-up' the image and the music for guys, and also introduced a danceable 'girlie' element for the gals to relate to .All meaning that the music was less likely to be perceived as the sole preserve of sad-git bedroom geeks without girlfriends, and so only consumable by nerds.

The rapid mass acceptance of Dare! in turn helped precipitate and consolidate a watered down version of the 'New Romantic' movement and it's associated host of talented musicians, offering good-quality electro-pop music. If you want just one Human League hit synth-pop era piece, skip the collections and just get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars not that promo, 7 July 2011
By 
Piotr Natalczuk "piotr" (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dare (Audio CD)
This promo copy of Dare looks cheap (Daily Mail logo on the cover) and sounds too soft. Get the real one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dare!
Dare! by Human League (Audio CD - 1983)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews