Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ST triumphant!, 21 Sep 2000
This review is from: How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can't Even Smile Today (Audio CD)
This fantastic album, an all time classic, is ST's second and greatest contribution to the heyday of thrash metal (1986 to 1990). It was, without a doubt, the best thrash album released in 1988, beating out all the staggering competition of Metallica's "Justice", Anthrax's "Euphoria" and Megadeth's "So . . .". This album was a relentless follow up to ST's previous album, released barely a year before. With it, ST confirmed that they were thrash to the core, leaving their punk roots behind for something heavier. "Laugh" set the standard followed by all the 1990s bands, such as Tool and Life of Agony and even Pearl Jam, for emotive lyrics and soulful vocal delivery, heavy emotion to heavy music. While no other band could ever have hoped to generate as much fun as Anthrax in yelling out refrains, ST showed themselves to be the masters of doing it with angst and aggression. Nothing can come close to the chants of "ST!" and "Suicidal!" on "Pledge Your Allegiance". The most striking thing about the instrumentation on this album is the lead guitar of Rocky George, the finest player of that instrument for thrash metal. His solos break in at will, being nothing less than spontaneous each and every time. It never seems as though the flow of the songs is put on hold for the sake of including 'the obligatory solo', something no thrash band achieved as consummately as ST. Muir's vocals and lyrics are as powerful and distinctive as the best of Hetfield's, Belladonna's or Mustaine's. The rhythm and drums by Clark and Herrera mirror the freedom of Rocky's lead, giving the songs effortless weight and momentum. And Heathcote should take eternal pride in his superb contribution on bass. Another unique quality of this album, the verseless tracks ("Suicyco Mania" and "Surf and Slam"), have an untamed quality unparallelled by any thrash instrumental I've ever heard.
I cannot overstate the stature of this album. In the context of thrash, Metallica's "Puppets" is the only album I'd put above it. It stands alongside Megadeth's "Rust in Peace" and Anthrax's "Among the Living" as irrefutable proof that Metallica did not produce all the best thrash albums. If you're one of those pop minded suckers who buy into that 'Metallica Uber Alles' bullshit, vacate this area. But, if you're for real, I recommend this to you with soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Oooh baby, 14 Sep 2003
This review is from: How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can't Even Smile Today (Audio CD)
After the early releases(Eponymous and Join The Army) Suicidal really seemed to get into their stride with this album.
Every track is powerful and strong with Mike Muir's lyrics really coming of age.
From the openers Trip At The Brain and Hearing Voices you know that this album is going to take no prisoners.
Pledge Your Allegiance is the ST live codex, however, nothing on this album quite matches the awesome power, both musically and lyrically, of the title track.
How Will I Laugh Tomorrow... is quite simply one of the best songs ever written by the band starting off slowly with Mike's vocals lulling you into a false sense of security this tracks explodes into a dark angst ridden anthem for the thrash fan, anyone who doesn't empathise with this track is emotionally dead inside.
The only weak spot on the album is The Miracle, an average album filler.
Many people didn't get the ST sense of humour and most people wrote off this album because of the humour of tracks like Surf And Slam, a fun start to side two of the vinyl.
The remainder of side two is filled with powerful ST standards If I Don't Wake Up and One Too Many Times being prime examples of the raw energy of ST.
The irony of Sorry?! seems to be lost on some people. This track is ST's way of saying f**k you to the record labels and critics who dismissed them as another low brow thrash outfit.
The closing track The Feeling's Back gives a hint to what was to come on the follow up release Lights, Camera, Revolution.
So if you like your metal loud and uncompromising, with a bit of soul, then you should buy this album, I'm pretty sure that once you've played this you will NEED to buy more of their music.
Recommended:
Lights, Camera, Revolution
Controlled By Hatred
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pledge Your Allegiance to this record., 4 Sep 2002
This review is from: How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can't Even Smile Today (Audio CD)
Quite simply one of the finest albums of all time by one of the finest bands of all time.
No band have ever sounded like Suicidal and it's unlikely any will. Coming on like some bizarre collision of Curtis Mayfield, Metallica and the Sex Pistols, this album is a true milestone. At once intelligent and shocking, slick and dirty, and above all massively uplifting; this album (with the title track foremost) formed the blueprint for much of today's "Nu-metal" but nothing has touched it since.
Pledge your allegiance? Hell Yes
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suicidal's Finest, 23 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can't Even Smile Today (Audio CD)
This album's is surely one of the greatest ever written metal and is so good it is out of this world. Every single song is full of life especially the non-vocaled Surf And Slam, definitely one of the best on the album. Many of the songs hit you in ways and reach parts of metal that have never been touched before, which is why its so hard to produce an album similar to this masterpiece. With angry lyrics full of feeling, the rhythm and bass guitar get the better of the vocals, yet in a good way in which the lyrics diffuse in to them. And as for the lead guitar by Rocky George? Fantastic, George takes the songs a step higher with his incredible lead guitar solos, which just leave you astonished. Suicidal Tendencies never really released another album similar to this one, so it is a very rare breed of metal. you have not experienced thrash metal until you hear this. Buy this and you will not regret it, guaranteed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An old favorite., 12 July 2002
This review is from: How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can't Even Smile Today (Audio CD)
I bought this baby on vinyl when it first came out 'cos I was a fan of 'tendencies already (saw them live in '89 or 90). I had no idea what I was in for! This album (It was called a double A sided EP when I bought it, but there you go) was a complete departure for them. They slowed down for some of the tracks, which gave them more impact (e.g. How will I laugh tomorrow: Heavy emotional version) and brought in new ideas which I have only seen paralleled in Punk. Buy this CD, it's great! When I come home from the pub steamed, it's this, or SUB-HUM-ANS: The Day the Country Died.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars S.T., 17 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can't Even Smile Today (Audio CD)
When S.T. are good their realy realy good + this is argueably if not their best. Every song is class + strong enough to be forged onto the brain forever. Catchy choreses, blinding riffs, in all How Will I is a musical monster with class writen all over it + is Suicidal's best in my opinion! Check it out it wont let you down with every song being a winner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quality!, 21 July 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can't Even Smile Today (Audio CD)
This album is a mix of Metallica's early thrash days, mix with their own style, with a bit of Shark Island thrown in as well.
This isnt a very mellow album, as it doesnt have a total acoustic song, but is still a good album to listen to, and if you are getting into Suicidal Tendancies, this is the best album to buy first.
Buy and Enjoy!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Crossover classic, 23 Mar 2004
By 
This review is from: How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can't Even Smile Today (Audio CD)
Alot of people seemed to lose interest in Suicidal after their first two albums which is shame as they were getting stronger and stronger all the time. I think this album is among one of their best, combining the best moments from their self-titled debut and the slower approach seen previously on Join the Army. This album is packed full of classics and kicks major ass. The lyrics are also Mike's best yet as they have a lot more depth to them than previously.
Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can't Even Smile Today
How Will I Laugh Tomorrow When I Can't Even Smile Today by Suicidal Tendencies (Audio CD - 1988)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews