Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing drift of sound--great for spacing out
Nearly everyone who uses a computer is familiar with at least one piece of Eno's work; he wrote the little 3 second Windows booting-up music for Microsoft.
This album is a perpetual favorite, one of the New Age genre classics. Divided into 4 sections ("1/1," "2/1," "1/2," and "2/2"), it soothes the listener with repetitive piano and synthesizer motifs, and adds the...
Published on 18 Mar 2004 by Joanna Daneman

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars mmmmm???
well, it's certainly unusual. Bought it for relaxation on recommendation, not really convinced. It's certainly ambient but I'm not going to be whistling any of the tunes..... tunes?
Published 5 months ago by dave


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Relaxing drift of sound--great for spacing out, 18 Mar 2004
By 
Joanna Daneman (USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music for Airports (Audio CD)
Nearly everyone who uses a computer is familiar with at least one piece of Eno's work; he wrote the little 3 second Windows booting-up music for Microsoft.
This album is a perpetual favorite, one of the New Age genre classics. Divided into 4 sections ("1/1," "2/1," "1/2," and "2/2"), it soothes the listener with repetitive piano and synthesizer motifs, and adds the color of chimes and vocals. This is the "ambient" music style, something to play while you need to concentrate, perhaps, or to relax or go to sleep by. I can also recommend the newer "Glitters is Gold" which also has non-linear music of this type.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's AMBIENT. You're not supposed to listen to it!, 30 Oct 2002
By 
This review is from: Ambient 1: Music for Airports (Audio CD)
You don't go to an airport to listen to music. Don't buy this album to listen to it, or you're missing the point. The point is it's "ambient", in the true and original sense of the word -- it must be allowed to just be there, around you, flowing gently in and out of your consciousness.
Like some of the reviewers here, I am used to music being in the foreground. I used to think "if it's not interesting enough to hold my attention, it's not worth having". Music For Airports changed that view. Truly ambient music serves a different purpose.
It neither wants nor needs your full attention, and if you give your full attention you will be bored and disappointed. If, on the other hand, you put it on and forget about it, you will notice it occasionally and, just maybe, you will fall in love with its beauty and simplicity without ever knowing why. You might even have to fall asleep to appreciate it, but perhaps that's right too. It's music for the unconscious mind, and it remains one of the best, most timeless examples of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Heavy Metal Thunder, 29 Feb 2000
By 
Mr. A. Pomeroy (Wiltshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ambient 1: Music for Airports (Audio CD)
A (very) quiet revolution on release, 'Music for Airports' is considered something of an ambient classic nowadays. As such, it's not bad - a neat manifesto that, in forty-five minutes, begats, explores, and exhausts the entire genre. It's hampered by a lack of refinement (the first three songs sound like sub-mixes of a larger piece), and it has a slightly tragic legacy (witness countless subsequent sample-mad musicians trying to mask a lack of effort as 'ambient'). Still, it sounds timeless today. If you like this check out 'Apollo', which is much the same, with the addition of slide guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why don't we play this at airports?, 16 Oct 2009
By 
Deven Gadula (san francisco, ca, united states) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Such a great idea, to play this music at airports, bus terminals, train stations. Who knows, perhaps a taxi company playing mellow repetitive music of Brian Eno in their cars would be a success... There was a time in my life when I needed to develop some distance between myself and music. That space was filled by Brian Eno's ambient albums, and Music For Airports is one of my favorite Brian Eno's albums, next to Thursday Afternoon, On Land, Bell Studies For The Clock Of The Long Now, Music For Films, Neroli, Discreet Music and Apollo Atmospheres And Soundtracks. If you like ambient music of this nature here is what else I would recommend; Jean-Michell Jarre -En Attendant Cousteau (title song only); James Johnson & Robert Scott Thompson - Forgotten Places; Kuhlman Rehberg Mense - The Sunken Road; Klaus Schulze - Irrlicht; Labradford - E Luxo So; Dead Texan; James Johnson & Steven Philips - Lost At Dunn's Lake; Pete Namlook & Tetsu Inoue - 2350 Broadway 3; Pete Namlook - Air 2; Recycle Or Die; Labradford - Mi Media Naranja; Klaus Schulze - Body Love; Zoviet France - Shouting At The Ground; Wiese Klaus - El-Hadra; Vidna Obmana & Sal Rosenthal - Terrace Of Memories; Gavin Bryars - Sinking Of Titanic; Alio Die & Mathias Grassow - Expanding Horizon; Popol Vuh - Hosianna Mantra; Harold Budd - Pavilion Of Dreams; Sigur Ros (..); Aphex Twin - Selected Ambient Works Volume 2; David Sylvian - Approaching Silence; Rapoon - The Kirghiz Light; Ultra Milkmaids - V/S Part 1; as well as many other albums where elements of great ambience are just part of equation; Godspeed You Black Emperor - Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven; Harold Budd & Eraldo Bernocchi - Music For Fragments From The Inside; Pieter Nooten & Michael Brook - Sleeps With The Fishes; the music of Craig Armstrong (The Space Between Us and As If To Nothing), John Serrie (Planetary Chronicles and The Stars Go With You); Vangelis (1492, Conquest Of Paradise and The City and many others). Oh well, I guess I have given you a few recommendations. Please return the favor, because you can clearly see what ambient music I like...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding music: delicate, subtle and profoundly effective, 2 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Ambient 1: Music for Airports (Audio CD)
This is a colossal achievement; rarely is music so powerfully evocative and at the same time so unobtrusive. It has greater depth than more recent ambient compositions and its structure is reassuringly simple. It can be as important a part of your home as your furniture; leave it on in the background or sit and make an effort to listen to it - in both situations, listening to "Music for Airports" is an incredibly rewarding experience. Whether working, relaxing or socialising, this CD is _the_ essential accompaniment to modern lifestyles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gorgeous, 14 Nov 2004
This is an album of beauty. The sound is simple, something to be put on in the background whilst reading a book or magazine, you let it flow through you without noticing it, then every now and then, maybe a key or rythmic change, you lift your head and realise what great music you're listening to. This is ambient from the old school, one track in particular sounds dated with synths playing a heavy role, but it is no less great than the other 3. Fans of Godspeed you black emperor! or silver mt. zion, tangerine dream and the others will find much to listen to here. I am unsure, however, of the differences between this and the "import" version. They both claim to have the same tracks, yet one is more expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best place to start and to finish with old Brian, 29 May 2013
If you can overlook the eye make-up and feather boas of the early era, the tiresome doodlings with Old Mother Fripp, the appalling U2 noise and some rumours of scallywag behaviour and egotism (Gavin Bryars and Jon Hassell evidently have little truck with him), then this album can certainly calm jaded nerves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds for doing everything and nothing, 3 Aug 2011
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Dull? Possibly- depends at which life stage. If it had been played to me at 16 I may have seen it as dull but then again I enjoyed listening to Neukoln, Weeping wall, Warzawa and Sense of Doubt. This lacks the gravitas of the Bowie collaboration. It is music to mark on an inward retreat as it echoes in the background lluminating worlds of glass, steel, concrete, aluminium and light. Large spacious modernist hauls brimming with tension as the aeroplane waits for no one. Tickets, Passport, luggage and hope in the heart as new continents are traversed. This is music to soothe the stress, copied repeatedly within the new age market, music to soothe a furrowed brow.

It changes atmosphere in the same way light can emotionally colour a room. This enacts the same dynamics with sound- a type of modern classical template. If you want hih energy look elsehwere, this drifts on clouds and saunters in the air an antidote to the radio with its machine production rhythms, this just drifts, perfect for someone who has time to spare rather than be measured
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly beautiful..., 25 July 2010
This is perfect mood music...this could conjour up images of cloudscapes, empty aitport terminals at night or day, ait travel...This really is music that is not so much there to be listened to as experienced. The main thing about this is ther space that exists in the music that's up to the listener to fill. The music itself does not demand your attention, but subtlely fills the space around you. Either at low volume, or louder, this has the power to draw you in and leave you spellbound everytime. I get very reflective, and always feel rejuvenated and envigourated by the experience each time I listen to it. The ambient series stands apart and, of it's kind, I think this music is unrivalled. Trust me when I say you will be listening to this for many years to come if you buy this....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wallpaper Music, 16 Aug 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ambient 1: Music for Airports (Audio CD)
A disturbing quiet and reflective calm music album, like wallpaper music .....its there, some will like and some will not. It's a rather uninteresting album and the more so by its absence of beats or attention grabbing instrumentation, but I none the less would not want to be without this album. Its highly original, imaginative, reflective and as interesting as it is obscure. This CD will always be in my top 100 and will always remain at position #100. There are many better titles about now, but this is the 'original'...and who would not want this one in their collection! Munt1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ambient 1: Music for Airports
Ambient 1: Music for Airports by Brian Eno (Audio CD - 1987)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews