Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the memories
Hidden away in the mostly over produced British pop of the 80s was this gem of an album. I wasn't much of a fan of 80s pop, I was more of a soul boy, who occasionally dabbled with ska and UB40 reggae. But Scritti was a turning point in my development as a listener and musician.
It was songs like "Wood Beez", "Word Girl" and "Absolute" that made me realise that music...
Published on 11 Mar 2003 by C. Perkins

versus
0 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars horrible
dont really know why i bought this, I liked songs to remember but this is the worst of the 80'S i find the voice really irritating and it just totally lacks anything, no doubt there are great musicians on board but it sounds horrible
Published on 14 Dec 2010 by P. Storey


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thanks for the memories, 11 Mar 2003
By 
C. Perkins "Prince of Plaistow" (Harrow, London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cupid & Psyche 85 (Audio CD)
Hidden away in the mostly over produced British pop of the 80s was this gem of an album. I wasn't much of a fan of 80s pop, I was more of a soul boy, who occasionally dabbled with ska and UB40 reggae. But Scritti was a turning point in my development as a listener and musician.
It was songs like "Wood Beez", "Word Girl" and "Absolute" that made me realise that music doesn't have to fit into a particular pigeon-hole. Each of these songs floats between reggae, soul and pop to good effect. Like Prince, they experimented and produced gold, unlike modern pop which is safer and more like 'music by numbers'.
Later, David Gamson left the band to work on other material. The best of those efforts was the album "Bridging The Gap" he produced for the late Roger Troutman (of the voice box in the 70s electro-funk band Zapp). I believe it was Gamson's R&B influence coupled with Green Gartside's hauntingly wierd (but brilliant) vocal style and songwriting skills that made this album very different to all the pop rubbish of the 80s.
I bought a vinyl copy of this album when it first came out. Unfortunately, it was never returned by the "friend" who borrowed it. I'm now seriously contemplating buying both a vinyl and a CD copy of this masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars British music at its best ?, 3 Feb 2003
This review is from: Cupid & Psyche 85 (Audio CD)
When I was young, my father always used to say that the music of the sixties was so much better that the music I liked (late 70's to the present day). Approaching my 37th birthday, I was watching an episode of Never mind the Buzzcocks on BBC2 when they have to guess the record from the other contestants, well, noise for the want of a better desciption. Anyway, it was Wood Beez by Scrittu Politti...I love that little guitar riff. I put on the CD and listened to it from start to end, it was a joy to listen to again.
If, like me, you think the British charts are full of clones with minimal talent, then listen to some music from the second zenith of British Pop...the 80's. Cupid and Psyche is a classic amongst quite a few - the Blue Nile, Heaven 17...I could go on. If you are old enough, relive those memories, if you are younger than me (a lot younger maybe !), then listen to 80's music and be surprised...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Voice - Beautiful Music, 26 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cupid & Psyche 85 (Audio CD)
Having read all the reviews, everything boils down to the fact that Green Gartside was possibly one of the most beautiful voices of the 80's (along with Morten Harket). Coupled with intelligent use of instruements to create such a wonderful atmosphere, this has to rank as one of the most superlative albums to come out of that decade.
Some have said that it was too fluffy, and over produced. But you only have to listen to "Absolute" (and I mean REALLY listen). Pick out each instruement and couple it along with Greens vocals, and you have a song of great majesty.
If you get a chance, get a copy. Good to see it's on CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Green World, 14 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Cupid & Psyche 85 (Audio CD)
A subsequent career trajectory described by the disappointing "Provision" and "Anomie & Bonhomie" serves only to underline just how gorgeous Green's creative zenith with "Cupid & Psyche" was. Too many lazy TV nostalgia shows peddle the notion the the 80's was the sole preserve of Duran Duran, Culture Club and The Human League. Wrong. What was great about a misunderstood decade was the way that truly experimental records (ooh... New Order, Heaven 17, Scritti...) could be accepted unquestioningly as pop by record buyers. "Cupid" blends ultra-glossy US production sheen with tough beats (no, really) and great songs - bar a couple of stinkers. But that could be Green's epitaph: tainted genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Green Gartside is a genius. Oh yes., 26 Dec 2003
By 
This review is from: Cupid & Psyche 85 (Audio CD)
Unique, unusual, talented, and the most beautiful man ever to grace Top of the Pops, Green Gartside lit up the 1980s for me. Hyper-intelligent pop which was streets ahead of the more commercially successful acts of the decade, "Cupid and Psyche" was Scritti's moment where they crossed over from John Peel fodder (although their pre-electro pop material is equally a joy). You will know, and hopefully love, "Wood Beez" and "Absolute" and "The Word Girl". Buy this and it won't be long before you also love the likes of "Perfect Way", "Small Talk" and "Lover To Fall". A perfectly produced specimen of 80s pop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pop-culture-shock second album - but still a bit of a classic!, 19 Jun 2012
By 
M. B. Wilson "crushtrash" (Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cupid & Psyche 85 (Audio CD)
After the wonderful "Songs To Remember", which showed Green and team move rapidly away from their low-fi indie roots with ease, the synthesisers and voice-treatments were initially a bit of a shock to this listener!

I remember a Radio 1 interview snippet where Green basically said he got hold of a new drum machine and started playing with it to see what it could do. Obviously the finished article was far removed, and involved some glossy production, but the wit and playful musicality were still very much there.

Whilst some of this album does sound dated in 2012 it is still a ground-breaking cross-over, and a genre leader as a result. Sugary soul pop with crashing electronic percussion, and a plethora of rampant b-side dub mixes to most of the singles, this was a brave departure at the time.

The CD sound is good (not remastered yet, a definitive edition with all the 12"/dubs/7" versions on second disc, including the Mastermix, would be great), and we get most of the 12" b-side versions.

After Cupid things got a bit messy, and it wasn't until the mainly-acoustic WBBB album on Rough Trade that Green showed he really still has the skill(z).

If you're a fan you'll have had this for ages, but if you've only heard Wood Beez or Absolute, then check this out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's the (true) gift of schizo, 17 Aug 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Cupid & Psyche 85 (Audio CD)
As far as the cliche, "Master of genre" goes Green Gartside stands beside Paddy McAloon as one of the true purveyors of glorious 80's Sophisti-Pop. Their '82 debut went some way to prove how this band could incorporate a rather eclectic host of styles, but on C&P '85 they deliver what 'Songs to Remember' could occasionally glance over the shoulder and wink wryly at. This album is a true classic; in terms of song-craft and the ethics of what MAKES a song, Green is up there with the top song-MAKERS in so much that the music sums up the mood and also transcends the time in which it was made. I'll be the first to admit to 80's bashing due to the amount of 'naff' made popular back then (it's only recently that I've discovered that most of my favourites are 80's produced gems (Pixies, Costello etc...) ) But in a few years time people will probably be citing the 90's as the decade of true 'naffness' in terms of the number of the general number of great/awful albums produced. Basically there's no reason NOT to buy this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not so stupid Cupid, 29 Jun 2005
By 
Dudley Serious - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Cupid & Psyche 85 (Audio CD)
Eighties pop became reviled for its high gloss sheen, its soulless perfection, its vacuity. Ironically, one artist deliberately set about a high gloss project with higher aims: the pursuit of the perfect pop song, one that was both accessible and intelligent, in order to subvert the very notion of pure pop as people then understood it. That group was Scritti Politti, led by the single minded Green Gartside.
"Cupid and Psyche '85" came at a time when it seemed you had to be pretty lightweight, pretty hollow, like Ratner's ear rings, to make it big. Green showed that you could put down lyrics that didn't insult people's intelligence to rhythms that got them on their feet. The album shows off a set of numbers that are funky, slick and substantial. Yes, Scritti Politti say it is OK to strut your stuff carrying a library card in your pocket with your condoms. They walk a tightrope and keep their balance to the very end. And any band that can sneak in words like hermeneutic and pharmacopoeia without getting bottled off for being a bunch of nerds deserves a medal.
While others, like Spandau Ballet for instance, were drowning in the "deep" end trying to peer through the barricades, Scritti Politti flipped and turned for another effortless length up the pool with smart hits like "Wood Beez" and "The Word Girl". Green is a fairly reclusive figure and his forays into the public domain are rare (a return is well overdue - six years now since "Anomie and Bonhomie") so his work is all the more valuable for its rarity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'Absolute, a principle', 23 Feb 2014
By 
John F (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cupid & Psyche 85 (Audio CD)
Light years away from punk the unlikely blend of soul, synth pop and romantic existentialism that is 'Cupid and Psyche 85' perfectly captured the optimism of the mid 80's. There are no weak songs here, but my personal favourites are the transcendent 'Absolute', the sultry 'Hypnotize' and the almost medieval sounding 'Small Talk'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Green and Gold!, 17 Jan 2011
By 
Carl Hubbard (Dublin, Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cupid & Psyche 85 (Audio CD)
Word Girl, Absolute, Hypnotize, Wood Beez - playful shorthand 4 brilliant songs that stand the test of time - whatever that may be! Green, Gamson, Fred whatsisname, a terrifyingly brilliant musical triumvirate, producing shiny catchy beats in deliciously creamy confections, also known as 'songs', buy this and bloat yourself silly! Perfect pop never got so good!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cupid & Psyche 85
Cupid & Psyche 85 by Scritti Politti (Audio CD - 1985)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews