Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis at his very best
This album from the early 1970's in Las Vegas is just Elvis at his very best, top notch! His voice is mature but still hungry, he is extremely sexy and his voice is just outstanding. His timing is perfect, is emotional contribute to these songs can never be challenged. It is like Paul Simon said about Elvis' interpretation of their song 'Like a bridge over troubled...
Published on 29 Dec 2009 by F. Malin

versus
14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars That's The Way It Is take 10
How this could ever be one of "FTD's biggest sellers" is beyond me. "Elvis That's The Way It Is" has been released on CD ten times or more before. It would take both a significant audio upgrade plus quite a lot of substantial unreleased takes to tempt even die-hard fans to invest once again in this release - no matter how good the album originally was.

Elvis...
Published on 30 April 2008 by Marc Haegeman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars elvis, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: That's the Way It Is (Audio CD)
are you kidding its elvis at his best songs from the documentary / tour of las vegas thats the way it is
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The King at his best, 24 Aug 2013
By 
Largy64 (Cheltenham UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
One of my favourite Elvis albums, had this years ago on tape, just got round to buying this on CD, His voice is just fantastic on this album recommend to any Elvis fan that doesn't have this yet superb !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 29 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
Loved this CD as I particularly wanted to hear him sing "Bridge over Troubled Water" and this appears to be the only ne
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love Elvis, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
It's Elvis, what more is there to say? good recording, great songs, if you like Elvis buy it! I can't think of any more to say
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
An old album I have been meaning to buy for years since I heard the LP !!!!
Some great Elvis tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis - That's The Way It Is, 19 Jan 2013
By 
M. Scotton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
This is arguably Elvis' finest record. I know that there are many fans who will claim that Elvis was at his best during the 50's, others will claim that his return to the Memphis recording studios in '69 resulted in Elvis recording the finest songs of his career. I on the other hand am of the opinion that Elvis' return to the stage in 1969/1970 saw him at his very best. TTWII captures Elvis performing a string of cover versions, in his own inimitable style, and producing recordings that surpass the originals in almost every instance. From the opening strains of 'I Just Can't Help Believin'' (possibly Elvis' best ever song) to the closing track 'Bridge Over Troubled Water', Elvis is on on fine form. For the most part, this album is a collection of beautiful ballads. TTWII combines studio recordings with live recordings (showcased in the rockumentary 'Elvis - That's The Way It Is'). If you appreciate the beauty of Elvis' ballads (songs like 'You Don't Have To Say You Love Me', 'You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling' and 'How The Web Was Woven') then this album is for you.
Two other great Elvis albums to look out for if you like this are: 'On Stage' and 'Back In Memphis'.
Happy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Elvis Thats the way it was., 28 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
Elvis thats the way it was, I saw this film years ago and thought it was very good,
and listening to the music again brought back good memories, many thanks.
Anthony Knight
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars That's The Way It Is CD, 4 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
I recently bought this That's The Way It Is CD released in 2003.
I understood it would be a new Sony CD released in 2003.
I opened my order this morning and found the CD was from the Original Collection no 35.
This was not the Sony CD advertised.
Please can anyone advise or tell me what I can do.
To me it looks like a made up CD.
I like this album but I was hoping it was newer CD release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back on top... if this suit weren't too tight, 30 Nov 2006
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
This comes from the period when Mr Presley reminded us why he mattered. Following on from years of forgettable B-movies, this album contains some sophisticated pop music sung beautifully with a classy back-up band.

"You've Lost That Lovin' Feeling" is sung with soul and style and tracks like "Just Pretend" work the magic.

There's nothing here ground-breaking or as electric but this album is a reassuring reminder that the man was a giant of popular music. And lets not make any unkind comments about girth at this stage...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars That's The Way It Is, 6 Dec 2008
This review is from: That's the Way It Is (Audio CD)
If you don't own the album That's The Way It Is, then this is a worthwhile purchase, with bonus tracks and alternate takes as well. If you already have the 3 CD boxset released in 2000 - which was a great set - this doesn't really add much to it, unless you are an avid collector. There's no significant upgrade in sound. That aside, Elvis was on top of the world in 1970 and in great form vocally. The songs are predominantly ballads, with a mixture of studio and live recordings. This is not 'Elvis the rocker,' for the most part.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis - That's The Way It Is
Elvis - That's The Way It Is by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews