Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis at his very best
This album from the early 1970's in Las Vegas is just Elvis at his very best, top notch! His voice is mature but still hungry, he is extremely sexy and his voice is just outstanding. His timing is perfect, is emotional contribute to these songs can never be challenged. It is like Paul Simon said about Elvis' interpretation of their song 'Like a bridge over troubled...
Published on 29 Dec 2009 by F. Malin

versus
16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars That's The Way It Is take 10
How this could ever be one of "FTD's biggest sellers" is beyond me. "Elvis That's The Way It Is" has been released on CD ten times or more before. It would take both a significant audio upgrade plus quite a lot of substantial unreleased takes to tempt even die-hard fans to invest once again in this release - no matter how good the album originally was.

Elvis...
Published on 30 April 2008 by Marc Haegeman


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis at his very best, 29 Dec 2009
By 
F. Malin "MHL F" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
This album from the early 1970's in Las Vegas is just Elvis at his very best, top notch! His voice is mature but still hungry, he is extremely sexy and his voice is just outstanding. His timing is perfect, is emotional contribute to these songs can never be challenged. It is like Paul Simon said about Elvis' interpretation of their song 'Like a bridge over troubled waters': 'who can beat that?!'. I love Elvis and I am so happy for this perfect album who shows the best singer ever throughout history: That's the way it is!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elvis - That's the Way it is, 21 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Gerald Robertson (Dumfries, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
This is my favourite Elvis album. It is nothing less than FANTASTIC! Seventies Elvis is my favourite period; I love how his recordings during this period reflect his own interests and how human he sounded. That's the Way It Is is full of passion, tenderness and spine-tingling power. Elvis' version of Bridge Over Troubled Water left me open-mouthed when I saw him perform it in the original movie (it's a pity it is not included in the re-mastered dvd release). If I could take only one album on to a desert island, this would be the one. Listen to it for yourself, you won't be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Music, 9 Feb 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
A very enjoyable cd. I did have the original lp many years ago. It sounds better now and anyone who enjoys the music of Elvis in the 70's will not be disappointed. Well worth the cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars probably his best album, 8 Nov 2010
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
I have collected hundreds of elvis recordings over the years since 1970, and i must say if i had to give one album to someone who didnt rate Elvis, than this would be in my top three. it certainly represents elvis in his third phase, in the best light. while he was still burning brighter than any star ever had before, and before he tired of the las vegas grinde and life in general. it's a shame he didnt sing these songs more often because they are thrilling in their performance. I will never grow tired of this album !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's the way it is!, 8 Jan 2010
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
What an apt title to an iconic record. For anybody, like myself who just wants one record of Elvis, this is the one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good performances and recordings., 25 Oct 2010
By 
Mr. James Michael "Music Manic" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
These are some of Elvis's best live performances (before they tired him out), and they are very well recorded by the engineers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars VOCAL BRILLIANCE, 27 Nov 2012
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
Originally released in 1970 in conjunction with an on-stage documentary movie of the same title, the Elvis That's The Way It Is has achieved true legendary status. And not without good reasons.

Elvis Presley is strongly renowned for his voice, his on-stage performances, and of course his looks. In this release you get the vocals in lorry loads while the movie glaringly reveals all three attributes. Get both the cd and dvd and remain happy for the rest of your life.

We are so lucky that Elvis recorded the titles in this album. Listening to just the opening bars of the first track, I JUST CAN'T HELP BELIEVIN', you are overcome with a warm feeling that you are about to experience something special - and you do. This song alone is worth the entire set. Then track after beautiful track, amazing demonstrations of Elvis Presley's powerful and multi-range voice reveal themselves.

Halfway through you suddenly realise you are not just marveling at Elvis' voice but also at his massively talented band and backing singers. Elvis handpicked this ensemble in the previous year and they prove to be a colossal bonus!

Though the album shares the same title with the movie That's The Way It Is, it is not strictly a live album. However, most of the tracks are studio recordings of songs that Elvis performs live in the movie, while just four of the tracks were lifted from the August 1970 Las Vegas live recordings, namely: I JUST CAN'T HELP BELIEVIN, PATCH IT UP, YOU'VE LOST THAT LOVIN FEELING, and I'VE LOST YOU.

This is an album that should be included in every music fan's collection. I guarantee you a phenomenal listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE KING'S VEGAS PERIOD COMES OF AGE..., 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Released as a tie-in to the Denis Sanders-directed documentary THAT'S THE WAY IT IS (1970), this superb album represents the maturation of Elvis Presley's Las Vegas stage show. Dispensing with many of the vintage rock and roll classics, Presley was now filling out his set with a broad range of emotive songs tackling the more adult aspects of love and romance.

By today's standards, THAT'S THE WAY IT IS presents something of an odd programme, in that it mixes live tracks inter-mingled with brand new studio cuts, in this case songs which Presley had recorded in Nasville during the summer of 1970. However, the blending of such superlative ballads as 'Twenty Days And Twenty Nights', 'Mary In The Morning' and 'The Next Step Is Love' with in-concert powerhouses like 'You've Lost That Lovin' Feelin'' and 'Bridge Over Troubled Water' - two songs already on their way to becoming standards - manages to gel easily into a convincing and cohesive whole. Along with ELVIS COUNTRY, THAT'S THE WAY IT IS is easily a contender for Presley's finest album of the 1970s.

The first disc of this package is rounded out firstly with mono single mixes of 'I've Lost You' (a comparatively inferior live version is used on the album itself), 'You Don't Have To Say You Love Me' and their respective b-sides, the truly delightful 'The Next Step Is Love' and a studio version of the up-tempo 'Patch It Up'. We then get a series of early takes, most notably a studio rendition of 'Bridge Over Troubled Water' which is particularly impressive.

Disc two contains the entire "Dinner Show" from the 12th August 1970. While it may be true that some of Presley's on-stage banter and in-jokes get a little lost in translation, the bulk of the performances come across well enough, with previously unreleased versions of 'I Just Can't Help Believin'', the vibrant rocker 'Polk Salad Annie' and the de rigeur 'Suspicious Minds' more than making up for what had already become Presley's perfunctory lip-service renditions of the likes of 'Hound Dog' and 'Blue Suede Shoes'. The message was clear: Presley had moved on; he was by now 35 with a wife and young daughter and a song of depth and feeling like 'I Just Can't Help Believin'' seemingly meant more to him now than the rock and roll cornball of yore.

As the beautifully written booklet points out, less than a year after this film and album project, Elvis Presley's Vegas seasons were already losing their lustre. One could blame it all on his growing physical and emotional problems, but maybe it was also to do with Presley and manager Colonel Parker simply staying faithful to a good idea for too long and just taking it all too far.

Never mind, though. During the summer of 1970, Elvis Presley was unquestionably back where he belonged, creating some of his finest music in the studio and clearly in his element as a live performer. THAT'S THE WAY IT IS has it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album, I really love this!!!, 26 April 2008
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
Elvis was so great, he really was, and this is the best of the best. I really can't think of a better album by anybody. Abbey Road by "you know who" is close, but this is magical. In fact, I Just Can't Help Beleivin' how good it is! (The DVD is fabulous too)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars That's the Way It always will be!!!, 26 Jun 2010
This review is from: Elvis - That's The Way It Is (Audio CD)
This has to be the best of the best.Elvis in his heyday,just superb just as I remember.R.C.A.Were the original record company and it has been remastered just as it was then....Singing at his peak.I also have the original album its's a little worn now so this album brings me up to date with my collection.......You can even sing along with the song book inside the cover.great for the Karioke...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elvis - That's The Way It Is
Elvis - That's The Way It Is by Elvis Presley (Audio CD - 2003)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews