Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars26
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.51+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2013
A very surprising but welcome addition to the `Music on Vinyl' releases: the final DP MK2 studio Album from 1993. In the past, I have purchased numerous `Music on Vinyl' releases and I have found their recording and pressing quality to be excellent. In cases where I have an original copy of an album there has been no detectable deterioration in sonic quality with the `Music on Vinyl' pressings.

For this release we get the album covered with their normal re-sealable plastic cover, single heavyweight cardboard cover and lyric sheet insert. To finish off the high quality associated with Music on Vinyl releases, plastic coated paper inner sleeves are used to protect the heavy weight vinyl (182grams weight for this copy).

The quality of the pressing is excellent; record is flat and surface noise straight from the packaging low (even without liquid vacuum cleaning). I do not have an original copy to compare back to back to this release but there does not seem to be any sonic suppression and the recording sounds clean and fresh.

I feel this was a very under-rated album, ok overall it may be not one of their classics but in my opinion it contained threes tracks that would not be out of place on the MK2 Greatest Hits listing: The Battle Rages On (still part of their live set today), Anya and Ramshackle Man. These tracks sound superb on this vinyl release. The drums on The Battle Rages On sound like they have dynamite under them. The guitar solo at the start of Anya has real feeling and the guitar work in Ramshackle Man blows your mind. Absolute magic.

With original copies of this album very rare and when available going on eBay for well above £50 this 2013 release is good value for money. A great release and fully recommended. Sit back, turn up the volume and enjoy a piece of vinyl heaven blasting out of your speakers.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Battle Rages On is the fourteenth studio album from Deep Purple, released in 1993, the final release of the MKII line up and therefor the last ever release with guitarist Ritchie Blackmore.

If you found yourself a fan of the band's 1980's work, but also wished it was a little more guitar centered, then The Battle Rages On will be right up your street.
The album isn't all guitar however, if you enjoy John Lord's key solos, then this album should appeal; Lord has been mixed highly and gets a lot of time to stretch his fingers.

In terms of production and musical direction, things are generally a little more hard rock than the previous three albums, less of the 80s influence. All the same, it doesn't fully return to the classic 1970s sound, which may leave some fans out in the cold. In all honesty, you'll know before you begin whether a 1993 Deep Purple album is something you will give a fair chance to, or instantly dismiss.

Some Deep Purple fans say the band were lacking in original ideas, for example `Ramshackle Man,' may occasionally get some stick for sounding a bit like their classic track `Lazy,' in spirit, but it is fresh and different in execution and `Time To Kill' and has a melody similar to Queen's `Hammer To Fall,' but only in a vague sort of way.

Highlights include the fast and heavy, almost metal-like `A Twist In The Tale,' in addition to the storming opener that is the title track, and fan favourite `Anya.'

Overall, the album isn't on a par with the very best material, but is still worthwhile and its perhaps their best album since their 8 year brake up. Worth buying if you want more from Deep Purple and have exhausted their 70s output, Definitely a must buy if you enjoyed their 80s output.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2001
This is the most guitar led album dp ever recorded with Blackmore and Gillan in the band together, panned unjustly by the critics but produced immaculately and is the source of some of the finest tracks since the reformation - most notably Anya, Time To Kill and the title track, although A Twist in the Tale and the superbly paced Solitaire also shine. This is an album which has (for popular music) the rare quality of treating dynamic range as a part of the music, as a consequence it is at its best at a high volume on a reasonable stereo.
The musicianship is more laid back than was fashionable in heavy rock at the time it was released, but is sharp and not over fussed, technically Anya is the high point of the album, showing the band's true potential.
11 comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2004
This album is in my opinion the best of the later classic line-up efforts. It's better than "Perfect Strangers" and much much better than "The House of Blue Light". It didn't raise much attention when it was released, which is totally unfair and unbelievable. It's electric, dynamic, classic guitar driven rock. Blackmore does some of his all time best on this album, the blistering solo in "Anya" being one of the absolute highlights.
The best songs on the album are the title track (which actually recycles a riff from Rainbows "Fire Dance", with great effect), "Anya", "Lick It Up" and the magnificent "Solitaire", a truly innovative rock song.
Lyrically this isn't a very optimistic album. Maybe the constant tension between Gillan and Blackmore pops up in the lyrics. Anyway, the pessimism and cynicism in Gillan's words become a level deeper when you bear the following final break up of the "Classic Purple" in mind (Blackmore left in the middle of the supporting tour in 1993 and had to be replaced temporarily by Joe Satriani).
11 comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
I put this album one for the first time ever today the 16/02/2012 and I was stunned and the brilliance it was like a whole new shock wave had been blasted through the band the guitar riffs were brilliant the keyboard playing was great, and the vocals and drum and bass Were brilliant too the first song the Battle Rages on has an awesome guitar riff in it its just brilliant.

it not quite the same as the classic albums of the 70's as there is not rediculous brilliant extended solos However, this was released in the 90's and people did not really want that anymore so in stead we get a bunch of Really solidly performed songs like Ramshackle man and anya and Lick it up, big blues influence, and harmonica and its brilliant I love it its atually great
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2000
This album is worth the price just for the title track. Pure Deep Purple genius. Ok, so the rest of the album doesn't maintain the level, but there is an awful lot to marvel at and enjoy.
This is mature rock music made by master musicians and is a showcase of technique and musicality. Perhaps that's the reason this album isn't so popular - the average listner doesn't want all the deft musical touches.
I've been a Purple fan since 1971. Every time I hear this album I know why! Don't listen to the doom sayers. Listen to the music. It's much, much better than Abandon.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2013
Ritchie Blackmore wasn't a happy man. The Blackmore/Gillan feud has become rock & roll folk law. I admit that I have a little bias toward the Blackmore camp with this one, having got into Deep Purple through Rainbow. While I'm very aware of the classic Deep Purple Mk.II line-up and their contribution to British rock music (their influence is immense,) I will say that I've never been the biggest fan of Ian Gillan. His vocal line in certain songs just doesn't seem to be creative and melodic enough for the 80's sound. All of which is a shame, because Blackmore comes up with some truly brilliant riffs and guitar work on this album. The riff on One Man's Meat, for example, is truly exceptional, but Gillan's vocals and song reworking, coupled with the silly title to the song, makes it feel like a missed opportunity.

Some songs, however, do come across brilliantly and seemed to be teasing a bold new direction for Deep Purple. Solitaire and Nasty Piece Of Work have exceptional guitar parts and Gillan captures the mood perfectly with a great accompaniment in his vocals. But the let down for me is the excellent Anya, Blackmore is outstanding, but when Gillan kicks in, he totally misses the brief and doesn't accompany the song's eastern vibe at all.

Talk About Love and Ramshackle Man are quite forgettable. Both, musically at least, work very well. The former opening with a great riff and the latter featuring a great bluesy melody but without the explosive energy as featured in the classic albums and Perfect Strangers, they just don't seem to go anywhere.

It's only been until the recent release of Now What!? that Deep Purple have proved themselves worthy without Blackmore in the mix, that album being one of the finest things the band has ever produced. But this album has amazing highs and disappointing lows. Ritchie is incredible throughout, John Lord goes through the motions, some great stuff but not the definitive sound that he should be.

For years I had this album, unable to get through it in one sitting. Unable to get past Lick It Up, which again starts well, but is ruined by the disjointed vocal line.

For now, this incarnation of Purple is defined by it's guitarist, but they're much happier without each other now and have subsequently both proved that they're better off without each other.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 February 2005
This CD has some very strong DP compositions on it and comes second( since DP reformed in 84 with Blackmore in the band) to Perfect Strangers only because songs 2,8 and ten are in my opinion weak and could be classed as 'filler'the rest are excellent.The Battle Rages On,Anya,Time to Kill,Ramshackle Man and Solitaire are very very good with Solitaire having a fine Jon Lord solo at the end of it.A much underrated CD that should be in every Deep Purple fan's CD collection.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2009
Big ups and downs pepper Deep Purple's studio album releases. This one lands just this side of the average line, with some slick guitar work and well conceived songs. Nothing really notable, no classic tracks included - but pleasing Purple wallpaper.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 October 2003
My appreciation of Deep Purple's music is focused exclusively on their hard rock style developed in the seminal 'In Rock', 'Fireball'(I give 'Anyone's daughter' a miss) and the incomparable 'Machine Head'. The album 'The battle Rages On' is a welcome return to form.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)